We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, friendly staff, great base for exploring” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kenzi Farah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Ranked #271 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff, great base for exploring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

Reception staff very helpful on arrival as we didn't like the first or second room offered. They found a room on the third go that we loved with a lovely balcony over looking the pool. The gardens are well kept and although the pool is cold it is refreshing! The sun loungers are very comfy and pool staff are diligent. The food is good for fresh produce but can be samey. Tablecloths could be changed more frequently but the fresh orange at breakfast is lovely. Ask the head porter to get a taxi for you as he knows and agrees the best price for the journey and knows the taxi drivers will add money on to your journey if you are not savvy.
We went out in the evening as nothing much happened in the hotel. A street away just across from El Saadi hotel is a lovely bar with a roof top terrace that is worth a visit on Avenue El Kadissia. The tip we read on here about the little shop across the main road (Avenue Mohammed VI?) was very useful. Kosy Bar also well worth a visit as is the main square in the evening for experiencing the fun around the food areas. Cafe Arabe was recommended but very hard to find and didn't feel too safe late at night. We saved up for a visit to La Mamounia which was beautiful and had amazing gardens, wonderful in the evening for a drink.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    575
    451
    251
    234
See reviews for
466
669
87
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my mum for a 4 day break for my birthday and was quite disappointed. Upon arrival, there was a mix up with our booking as we should have been on an all inclusive basis but they stated it was only half board. The receptionist was extremely rude and could do with going on a customer service course. Thankfully the manager eventually sorted this out. Our bags were then taken by a porter yet we were given vague instructions on how to actually get to our room but we managed by asking some nice hotel ground staff. The room itself was a big size, however there was a broken lamp and none of the plug sockets seem to fit the travel plugs we had brought with us for morocco? We had experienced loud guests next door running up the corridors late at night also. We had a ground floor room with a balcony, and you have to pay for a safe key (non-refundable) which I have never experienced in a so called 5 star hotel previously. In hindsight this was a necessity as on 2 separate occasions, we found the cleaning staff had left our balcony door open.
The food is as you would expect on a buffet scenario however each day they would have something cooked on sight such as BBQ/stir fry/spaghetti however the portions are very small and they tended to run out quickly with no reserves so basically first come first served. Breakfast was probably the best meal of the day.
There is NO entertainment especially throughout the day and if you were travelling with children, I would not rate this hotel as apart from the pool, I would think they would get bored very quickly. The hotel surroundings are in a nice setting however with birds and pigeons flying freely around the hotel and cleaning themselves in the pool, it is not very inticing to use.
With regards to the staff, I would say it's 50/50. Whilst all could speak good English, it would depend on who served you or who you spoke to on the reception you received as some were quite abrupt and in some cases rude.
To sum up, I would never stay here again or recommend it to my friends. Shop around for alternatives if thinking of visiting Marrakech!
We were not given any details of where or when we could eat

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stopped twice at the Kenzi Farah and found this a welcome place to stay. For English speakers, it is easy to stay here as everyone seems to speak excellent English, in addition to a range of other languages. For our first stay, we had a room next to the street which provided some noise. The second time, we had a courtyard room with no outside noise. We recommend the courtyard side.

The food at the free breakfast buffet is very good, an omelette station, many choices of breads and salads, fresh citrus fruit and yogurt. There's also a blender for making vegetable juices. We had our choice of seating inside or outside in the garden, but note that the table cloths tend to get a bit of wear as the breakfast hours progress. The busy waiters will put down a clean table setting for you on request, but the previously used table coverings remain. Not ideal, but it works and it's very fast.

We also ate here for one dinner, again buffet, and were very pleased with the experience. Caution, there are two sit-down restaurants on the grounds, we ate only at the continental place (not the Moroccan one) and were very dissatisfied as we were almost alone in the room and the waiter appeared only sporadically, the food was not quite warm and the experience a severe letdown.

To get around town, we walked frequently from the hotel to other city sites and always found it a fun and safe excursion. We seldom took a cab and when we did we negotiated ahead of time to make sure the driver would use the meter (this is especially true when getting from the main square back to the hotel). Again, English seemed well understood with taxi drivers.

Tip: Please leave a small tip for everyone. It appears to be standard procedure throughout Morocco but we didn't learn this until several days into our trip. Perhaps as a result, our service only got better and better.

Overall, we loved Marrakesh and would happily stay at the Kenzi Farah again. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnInPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing,West Sussex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Having read the reviews we decided it was a good deal booked through expedia for our 4 night stay-half board with spa credit. We thought we would eat out if we didnt like the food and as long as the place was clean we could tolerate anything else.

Arrived late afternoon on Sunday. Booked in to our room at reception,given key and told to follow the porter and that if we wanted to know anything to ask at reception-so no information given about hotel ,location of everything and restaurant opening times ,also no explanation about room safe (You had to buy a card at reception to make it work)

We got to our room which had two large double beds so nice and spacious- bathroom with separate toilet,overlooking gardens. We were very pleased. ( One problem though the TVs are plugged into the wall by the screen and unfortunately you can hear the next doors telly through the wall-not good if they watch telly when you are trying to get to sleep.)

The meals were as mentioned in other reviews-typical chain hotel food-overcooked stews and most with no flavour. We decided to give them a try the following night to see if we were being fair -unfortunately after that we couldnt leave the hotel at all due to tummy troubles..
We dont know if it was the food or the bath water that made us ill,but it couldnt have been a bug as it went on after we got home and continued for 2 weeks in total.
The first day we arrived at the hotel the water had a very strong Sulphur smell-most unpleasant-but having travelled a lot we assumed, as in some countries, this was normal for here. It wasnt until the tuesday we could smell the chlorine coming through the water and it was completely clear that we realised (too late) there had obviously been a problem.
Both my husband and I were ill the whole time we were there and on our return -so in total 2 weeks. We heard our neighbours being ill through the toilet vents and we also noticed other people asking for boiled rice and talking about being unwell .

We only had 2 hours in the Medina for a general walk round on the monday morning and didnt eat or drink anything there ,so that is all we saw of Marrakech!! It takes approx 20 mins to walk in to the Medina or there are planty of Taxis outside.

When we did get some limited time near the pool the guy was super efficient at clearing away towels and tidying any empty glasses etc and making sure people weren`t saving beds .
However I would never go back because it was such a bad experience-we have travelled through much of Africa and India and never experienced something like this!

Room Tip: On the first floor all rooms appeared to have balconies but the other floors didnt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyEdwards13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Arrived at hotel yesterday earlier than expected. Were greeted and found rooms immediately were not to our liking as had no balcony so we requested another as booked two rooms again was not satisfied but the lady in reception whom spoke fluent English was extremely helpful and found us some rooms that we were happy with staff are very friendly and welcoming if you don't ask you don't get as quite large family also requested info on sightseeing again referred to lady whom spoke very good English and tried to find the best prices for us. Kids are enjoying themselves has a basketball and football area so far so good are staying for ten days so will definitely update also lovely garden and grounds very relaxing.

Room Tip: It's best to ask for a room with balcony so you can sit out and chillax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muslimah4rmEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.3 km away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#104 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
8.2 km away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.3 km away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#150 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#354 of 511 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
9.5 km away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
0.7 km away
Atlas Medina & Spa
Atlas Medina & Spa
#173 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kenzi Farah? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kenzi Farah

Property: Hotel Kenzi Farah
Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#144 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#159 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,426 - ₹ 17,198
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kenzi Farah 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic venue, typical of the Imperial City, a haven of peace set like a gem in a 3 hectors' private splendid park of luxuriant greenery and dappling hues and vivid colors, the mythical, iconic KENZI FARAH HOTEL is located in the very heart of the prime, trendy, cosmopolitan district "L'Hivernage".Completely renovated in 2011 and thanks to its privileged location, the KENZI FARAH HOTEL symbolizes and strikes the perfect balance between business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kenzi Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Farah Hotel Marrakech
Kenzi Farah Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing