We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast! But some services need to improve...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Ranked #114 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2017

The Sofitel in Marrakech, turned out to be a good choice though it was a challenge to get the front desk to change our room. The deluxe room we had, did not have a comfortable easy chair, which I needed for my backache and so we upgraded to a mini-suite to have the benefit of a sofa chair. This upgrade was a challenge – but it eventually was sorted out by the helpful and dedicated Ibitissam at the front desk. The hotel only had the much more expensive “sophisticated” suites available for the next 2 days after which we could then get the mini-suite we wanted. The suite we moved to, referred to as a sophisticated suite, is simply not worth it. It is a lot of space and mostly wasted space offering minimal benefits. When we were eventually moved to the mini-suite, we had a lovely room with a comfortable easy chair and well proportioned space. The front desk at the Sofitel can be a challenge – it took numerous attempts to sort out the change in our room – but the room we finally ended up with was worth the effort and hassles.

To illustrate the shortcomings of the Sofitel, an urgent international package had been delivered for me at the Sofitel. The package had arrived on Saturday in the hotel, the same day we checked in. No mention was made of a package arriving for me, when I checked in. On Monday, I asked the Front Desk of the Sofitel but they could not find any package for me. I then checked with the courier company and they confirmed that it has definitely been delivered to the Sofitel. Eventually, on Tuesday, when I checked with concierge, he found the package in a cupboard. Amazingly, this hotel has no way of recording received packages for guests and does not keep track to ensure they hand over packages timeously. As a result, it takes the hotel 3 days to pass urgent courier packages to its guests.

However, the kitchen at the Sofitel wins a prize for its amazing service! Breakfast was outstanding. I have never seen so many options in any buffer breakfast – it even had about 5 different cakes, numerous pastries and egg options. The chef, a serious-looking large man eager to please, did his rounds in the morning personally checking the various breakfast offerings. On day 2, I asked him if the kitchen could make a Moroccan flat bread with onions and chilli – and within minutes, he was giving the kitchen orders. A few minutes later, 2 lovely Moroccan flatbreads arrive, exactly as requested. As if that was not impressive enough, the next morning, these special mode-to-order flatbreads arrived on the table shortly after our arrival at breakfast even before we could submit a request! The Sofitel breakfast team are tops!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karims1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Karims,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 2,905 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Large luxury hotel with at least 6 places to eat, 4 pools, of which 2 really large, and one private, have to pay extra, all surrounded by lounge beds rather than chairs, lots of parasols to keep you in the shade, whirlpool, tabletennis table, jeu de boule, chess and other stuff to keep you busy. Only annoying thing, people reserve their lounge beds early morning and then leave for the most part of the day. Good thing, thing, it is so big, you will always find a free spot, though management should find solution for this behaviour.

We had a junior suite that has an immense terrace, room with all you need, unfotunately only a bath with shower inside, separate bathroom, huge bed and tv. Free tea, and 6 free coffee...

Check in a bit interesting as they make you wait and come to you rather than at desk, not sure why. Taxi stand in front of hotel, €5 to get you nearly anywhere in the city, probably less if you really bargain. The main square is about 20 minute walk, but you will only go there once, too touristy.

One of the best breakfasts ever, huge selection of food, not cheap but defo worth it.

Live bands at night in at least 2 places.

Nothing else to wish for if you can afford this hotel.



Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Golfandtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel very nice reception the smell is breathtakiny , the pool is amazing, beautiful design with the touch of red all over the hotel , great special service from zakaria who really take care of us thank you so much

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank jijisebti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear JijiSebti,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

My husband and I visited Morocco for our honeymoon and had such an amazing stay at the hotel! We spent 3 nights at the Sofitel in Marrakech and were treated to a warm welcome by the receptionist, they brought us warm towels, mint tea and French macaroons and Moroccan sweets as we say in the lobby while the receptionist checked us in.

The receptionist Chamime (not sure if that's the correct spelling) was such a delight. She went above and beyond her job description to make sure we had a memorable experience and were forever sold to the Sofitel chain of hotels. We were welcome to our room where we had a tray of fresh fruits and dried snacks and while we were gone for dinner she had our room decorated with the most beautiful arrangements of flowers and candles I could have ever imagined! She always made us feel welcome when she saw us entering and even on the last night had our room decorated with flowers for our last night. The concierge was helpful but a little aloof, but Chamime more than made up for it with tips on the city!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Alia
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

A very large and beautiful hotel with great location near the bazaar of Marrakech.

Stayed for one night and had breakfast the following morning.
Lobby was enormous with very high ceiling.
Staff was very friendly and professional.

Room was luxurious and spacious (also a big balcony with sofa).
Had a brief visit at the bar on the patio as well and didn't have to be disappointed.
Beers were served with great variety of snacks and the service was outstanding.

Breakfast choice was unbelievable and there were foods available that I haven't seen in any other hotels. Coffee was served with special pots brought to each table and omlets were done by request with a large variety of choice.

There was also a great restaurant nearby with local entertainment available.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Almar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jad R, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Almar,

Thank you for taking the time to review and share your experience at Sofitel Marrakech.

We are delighted to hear that your stay was fantastic. Thank you for your positive feedback and for your praises. Our clients’ welfare is the first of our concern and we strive to provide a superior service to each and every one of our guests, thus your comments are invaluable to us. Your satisfaction is the greatest reward for our staff, therefore I will gladly share your kind words with them.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Ahmed BENKIRANE
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 km away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
0.2 km away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
1.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1 km away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.2 km away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#189 of 499 in Marrakech
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#170 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: ₹ 10,929 - ₹ 18,975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a splendid garden and fountains, Sofitel Marrakech is a premier Marrakech Morocco hotel. Its 346 Marrakech hotel rooms offer terraces or balconies with views of the mountains, swimming pool, or gardens. Guests at this luxury hotel in Marrakech, Morocco, will enjoy restaurants serving local and international cuisine, 3 bars, a nearby nightclub, a poolside snack bar, 3 bars, an indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre with a Jacuzzi, and a Turkish steam bath and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge Hotel Marrakech
Marrakech Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing