We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic location, beautiful building and superb host!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Andalla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Andalla
Ranked #27 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, beautiful building and superb host!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Several things make Riad Andalla so amazing.
Firstly, it is ideally located 5 minutes walk from the Djemma el Fna in the Medina. It's really handy to be so close to the action and there are a lot of things to see and do (including the souks) within a very short walk. There is a little bit of noise in some rooms from the square, so take earplugs if you're a light sleeper. We were also woken at 04.15 every day by the call to prayer from the mosques, though I imagine this would be the case at any place in the Medina. The Riad also felt very safe; you have to knock to enter and the staff will let you in.
Secondly, the building itself is beautiful. The central courtyard (ground floor) is lovely with lots of little areas to sit in. The bedrooms are spacious, very clean and comfy and beautifully decorated. My group had four rooms in total - large group - and all were individually decorated and a bit special! Most importantly, the roof terrace is AMAZING! It looks right out onto the Djemma el Fna and it's fascinating to sit up there at breakfast and dusk to watch the character of the square changing.
Last, but not least, is the personal touch and extraordinary welcome from the owner Christophe and all of his staff. When we arrived (very early, before our rooms were ready), we were given mint tea and biscuits on the roof terrace, and Christophe gave us the lowdown on Marrakech. He recommended restaurants (good ones and ones to avoid), told us about good places to visit, how much taxis should cost, how to barter in the souks, where to get a good hammam, etc etc. He also booked us a restaurant one night and a hammam the next day (Isis - very good). Nothing was too much trouble for him and his staff, and the advice he gave us really gave our trip a special edge.
I'd go back there in a flash and have been recommending Riad Andalla to all of my friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayak_girl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,572
    100
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
271
780
114
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was our first trip to Marrakech but we were made to feel completely at ease in a new culture. Christophe (the owner) organised transfers from the airport to the Riad which helped as we wouldn't have found it without help! We were welcomed with mint tea and cookies on the roof terrace and our luggage taken to our room. Christophe talked us through the places to visit, provided us with maps and told us the best/safest routes so we wouldn't get lost. He also told us rough price guides that we should haggle to so we didn't pay over the odds.

We ordered a meal for the first night so we didn't have to worry about finding a place to eat and it was by far the best meal we had in Marrakech. I would thoroughly recommend eating at least once in the Riad, it is a truly wonderful experience on the rooftop. Christophe also recommends other good places to eat for all price ranges despite them serving food at the Riad and offers to book tables for you.

The room was spotless and we had no problems whatsoever (make sure you put the plug down after showers like they say). We had a little trouble with the wifi at first but once we found the right place to sit it worked fine! Breakfast on the roof terrace each morning was magical and Abdul (the night porter) couldn't have done any more to help - despite the language barrier. The Riad was in a perfect location for visiting ALL of Marrakech and we would absolutely return! I would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: We had zouina (as a double room) which was lovely - not much storage room for clothes though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was such an amazing place to stay on our first visit to Marrakech. Christophe organised a taxi from the airport then a guide (with a barrow for our luggage) to lead us to the riad. We would never have found it on our own! However, it is in a really good position close to Djemaa al-anfa and all the sights of the Medina. The view from the beautifully furnished terrace of the square and the snow capped Atlas mountains to the south is hypnotic. We spent a long time just gazing at it all in amazement. Christophe's advice about how to get around, what to see and what to avoid was invaluable and meant we made the most of our visit. Breakfast on the terrace served by the charming Abdul was delicious and varied a little each day. We also had dinner at the riad on our first night and that was very good too. Our room was prettily decorated but was a tad small for us, and all our stuff, so when I return I would try to book a slightly bigger one. As others have said, all the team were cheery and helpful - we really felt at home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aelfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The location of this riad is excellent. its very close to the main square and has a lovely roof top terrace where they serve a great free breakfast. While you are eating breakfast you can watch the merchants setting up for the day. At night the view of the square is amazing! Its also very close to the beginning of the souks. You must try the fresh orange juice in the square it is amazing! The raid is tucked away from the main road so you have to navigate a few small street/alleys to get there. We arranged transportation with Christophe to pick us up at the airport and they took us all the way to the riad which was excellent because I dont know if i would have found the place on our own. Christophe and the staff are fantastic and welcomed us with amazing mint tea. He answered all our questions and was very helpful. The staff were always smiling and although there are no real locks on the rooms i never felt unsafe. You have to buzz into the riad to be let in which is a nice safety feature. Its very quiet, relaxing and beautiful. There was always pleanty of hot water and our 3 person suite was amazing (90 Euros/night). When we checked out Christophe give each of us a nice thank you metal bookmark which was a nice surprise. I highly recommend the Riad Andalla.

Room Tip: When we first got there we were the only travellers so we were able to peek into a couple of the oth...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank giddygal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I could not find any faults about this Riad. Location wise, it is absolutely just a stone throw away from Djemaa al-afna . And like the other reviews about the staff here, they are truly a very admirable team. Always friendly, and dependable. I must thank Christophe for having such a great staff, as well as being a wonderful host. I enjoyed staying at this Riad. I never felt like a tourist because Christophe made us very comfortable, and the place always inviting and quiet amidst the chaotic daily life outside the Riad. The Riad is beautifully decorated, with a wonderful roof top terrace over looking the square... Magnificent view at night and day time, as the Medina and the square come to life.
I must say the best cup of Mint tea I've ever drank was from Riad Andalla! Thank you for opening your Riad to the world Chritophe... and many thanks for your tips....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Byroenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 km away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 km away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#102 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 km away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#20 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#11 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.9 km away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.2 km away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#25 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Andalla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Andalla

Property: Riad Andalla
Address: 15 Derb Zaari | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,629 - ₹ 6,751
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Andalla 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional House, Riad Andalla, typically charming and full of Moroccan warm and friendly, is ideally situated on the famous, mythical and magical Djemaa el Fna, at the gates of the souks and the center of many historic monuments. Riad Andalla has 6 rooms and 2 suites decorated with passion and originality, and has the most beautiful terrace in Marrakech: Riad Andalla offers a unique view, unique and the Treasures of Marrakech, such as the Djemaa el Fna, the archetype of Islamic monuments, the Koutoubia and the majestic mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Andalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Andalla Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing