We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people and a beautiful riad”
Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Aguaviva
Ranked #6 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely people and a beautiful riad”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

To counterbalance the frenetic energy that pulses throughout Marrakech both night and day, one needs a peaceful and sublime shelter. Riad Aguaviva, located a short distance away from the main action, is exactly that sort of place. It is beautifully decorated, well maintained, clean and comfortable. Breakfasts on the rooftop terrace are a delicious start to your day. The rooms are delightfully furnished and perfectly functional. But the finest aspect of the riad is the proprietors, a warm and lovely group of people who are devoted to ensuring that your stay in their home is everything you want it to be, and that your visit to Marrakech is everything it should be. We thoroughly enjoyed conversing with and getting to know a little about David, Manel, and Elisa. David's daily advice on where to go and what to expect ensured that our time in Marrakech was maximized and that we saw as much of the city as possible, not only the tourist destinations, but the "real" Marrakech too. The combination of such interesting, informative and dedicated hosts with such a beautiful setting made Riad Aguaviva the highlight of our trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddesalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
112
391
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Riad Aguaviva for 3 nights in November 2011 and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. I've read reviews in TripAdvisor for years and have never written one, but this riad deserves my first review ever.

The riad is located in the north of the medina, which makes it less touristy and more authentic. It also means a further walk to the center of the Medina, but we didn't mind. We got to experience a part of Marrakech that we wouldn't have if we had stayed in a more touristy area.

We didn't get to meet David, one of the owners, but we met Manel, Cesc and Eli, and they were all the friendliest people you can imagine. They treated us like family and made sure we were having a nice stay, walking with us to places so we wouldn't get lost in the chaotic Medina, and showing us places we would have never thought of going to. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and we would love to go back someday.

Gràcies Eli, Cesc i Manel!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had the most amazing time at Aguaviva ! It is a home away from home with lots of privacy ! The riad is beautiful, part traditional , part modern but never overdone ! The owners are exceptional and people . Excellent service and great breakfast ! The location is perfect - close enough to all the landmarks in the medina and yet in the middle of daily life ! Cecs took the time to "work " with us the Medina - thank you ! David had the best tips ( don't miss them! ) . All the tips and tricks were absolutely helpful ! We will be definitely back ! Thank you for making this a very special experience , Cecs, David , Elisa and Manel !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleW2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We left Aguaviva only a few hours ago and miss it so much already, especially our new friends David, Manel and Elisa, who made us feel so welcome and at home in the exquisite surroundings into which they have poured so much love and care. Come to Aguaviva and judge for yourselves: attention has been paid to every detail, the Riad is gorgeous and secluded, the room (Baraka) was beautifully decorated and spotless, the spacious bathroom a delight, the breakfast delicious and varied... But no words can describe the warmth and generosity that David, Manel and Elisa lavished upon us, the time and care they took to plan each and every day for us, guiding us through the alleys and souks of the Medina, sharing the city's secrets with us, informing us, allowing us to see Marrakech through their eyes and making sure that every second of our stay was magical. Nos faltan palabras para agradecerles todo lo que hicieron por nosotros, el mundo que nos descubrieron, los momentos entranyables que compartimos y los recuerdos que atesoraremos. Molts gracies y molts petons a cada uno. Aguaviva es Marrakesh! Aguaviva is the only place to stay when visiting Marrakesh! THANK YOU! GRACIAS! SHUKRAN!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We guessed this would be excellent, judging the many reviews; but everything about our three day stay was truely exceptional! This riad has been beautifuly restored with great taste and love! and we loved seeing the photographic history of the restoration. This was our third visit to Marrakech and easily the most enjoyable, somehow the position of the Riad in the north of the city gave us a very different and somehow more real snapshot of this amazing city. The breakfasts on the roof were amazing and we enjoyed chatting with the charming hosts and staff so much. It was also a lovely place to chat with the other guests over a glass of wine in the magical surroundings of the comfy sofas and sumptuous furnishings.
The riad is situated in a quiet part of the medina, that hasn't been overrun by tourists, and we really appreciated the kindness of our hosts in showing us the best routes towards the centre, and a personal guided tour of the flea market - truely a highlight. We are already thinking about our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skindoc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.2 km away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
1,213 reviews
0.6 km away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,648 reviews
0.6 km away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#11 of 1,139 in Marrakech
550 reviews
1.2 km away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,139 in Marrakech
637 reviews
1.3 km away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,139 in Marrakech
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Property: Riad Aguaviva
Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,619 - ₹ 7,938
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing