We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Holiday Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #102 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Holiday Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have just come back from a 2 week holiday and already we are missing the place. We landed late at night so thankfuly it was only a 25 min transfer to the hotel, with a sight of the local people on route. we were met with a welcoming cocktail which was much needed as it was well in the 30c still, once booked in we were directed to the main dining room for something to eat, it was then a small walk to our room to wait for our luggage ( people moaning about how far they were from reception, these people are obviously used to going on holiday in a high rised block of flats not a complex). Eveything about this holiday was amazing, the trips were great ( except the history one, it was interesting but the fella taking us was quite boring), we did the souks, atlas mountains 4x4 and the quad bikes which was great fun. All the staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful, the animation team were amazing all day,they were always chatty and as we found out from them they worked 15hr days with one day off a week and all for £250 a month ( so before people start moaning about them and their shows, they did as best they can for what is available to them), we spoke about the morrocon culture night we had with local dances and muscians which is what people like to see, but we were told they dont put it on that ofton because the hotel dont like spending money to get them in, shame :-(. We ventured into the main market square on a few occasions and at least once at night which is an experience and a must for all visitors. seems one of the only issues a lot of people had when we were out there was their air conditioning, but as soon as you reported it someone was out to sort it out straight away, it was blamed by the hotel managment on what they said was an unsual sand storm they had just before we had arrived. Everything we had asked for when we were booked our holiday with Thomson was catered for even down to the room with a pool view we could not have asked for a better location and also a bottle of champagne was in our room on arrival. We do not normaly go to the same country or place twice for our holidays but we will definetly be coming back here again :-). Just down the road and about a 10 minute walk is a large metro shop which is their equivalent to Makro, they are more than happy to serve you in their for any essentials you might require whislt on holiday
Also i would like to say that if you need any medical supplies the hotel reception staff are always more than happy to get medcicines picked up for you from the local pharmacists without any hassle, 1st class service.So i would like to thanks all the staff and friends we have met on this holiday for making it such a memorable holiday for us and we will be back :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1961Andrew51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,628
    1,733
    517
    125
    63
See reviews for
1,251
2,704
46
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous hotel very friendly staff excellent food we travelled around the area and this hotel is the best by far if you want a quiet off peak holiday this place is the one for you
Lovely in the evening listening to the birds and wildlife
Very clean rooms and the hotel was spotless a very romantic setting
I would deffinetly stay here again without hesistation

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed at the hotel with my sister for 1 week from the 5th July 2012. The transfer to the hotel was great and staff were extremely helpful at bringing the luggage to our room. We were lucky with a pool view room meaning we were only 2 minutes walk from the pool, however the complex is quite large with some rooms taking at least 5-10 minutes to reach.
The rooms are comfortable with a separate shower to toilet, however there is no sink in the toilet room which is a bit awkward. There is a tv with UK channels including BBC1, ITV1, Sky news and a couple of others. Rooms also include a fridge which is topped up daily with new bottles of water for you to enjoy.
The pool is large, however because the complex is in the middle of nowhere, it can become competitive for sunbeds. Some people we learnt were out by 6am to reserve beds which is utterly ridiculous!!Furthermore, people who leave in the morning for trips etc reserve sunbeds for the whole morning meaning others aren't able to get them! Although I hate reserving sunbeds, unless you do it in the morning you may not be able to get a spot with both sun and shade! However going between 8am and 9am before breakfast is a good time to go.
The food at the hotel was good but can become a tad repetitive if eating in the main restaurant every night. I highly recommend the Moroccan and Italian restaurants! They are smaller, more intimate and you do not feel as rushed.With the Italian you can get fresh pasta and personally customized pizzas, whilst the Moroccan offers amazing tagines, meat and fish skewers as well as a range of traditional food! You have to book these in the main restaurant but it is extremely worth while.
The one problem I have with the hotel is its tendency to feel like a gated community. It is located 15 minutes out of Marrakech city centre and there is nowhere for you to explore around the area unless you go into the city centre. I highly recommend using the hotel bus to the city centre as it lets you really experience Morocco. As we were two girls in our twenties, we were warned that we would be harassed and stared at. This was not the case!! The Moroccan people are extremely friendly and if you dress respectively i.e cover legs, chest and arms then there is no problem! When going through the Souks of course you are going to be harassed to buy things but saying 'no' and walking away usually does the trick! Marrakesh is an amazing place full of smells and sounds, something you have to experience! The one thing you need to learn is just to say 'no', and be stern. Furthermore stick to your guns when haggling!You can get great prices for some amazing items but you have to haggle with the traders.
Overall this was a great holiday with the perfect combination of relaxation and experiencing a different culture. The staff can't do enough to help and both my sister and I loved our week.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side, 1st floor room- a lot closer than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brit2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Second Visit to this Hotel and again it could not be faulted. Ignore any negative comments this Hotel is fantastic. Great for young and old alike. Rooms are large with a seperate WC and Bathroom which is useful. The rooms are cleaned every day and even the beds are pulled out and cleaned underneath. The food is varied and very good in all three of the on site Restaurants and the Staff could not do enough to make your stay perfect. Visited this Hotel in September 2010 and nothing has changed. We cannot thank all the Staff for making our stay very special once again

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Tikida Palmeraie. We were two girls travelling alone and not once did we feel unsafe.

Hotel: Huge, beautifully decorated with opulent Arabic decor. Multiple bars to choose from in the evenings, as well as a very plush lobby lounge area to sit in.

Pool: Stunning, and provided a very welcome way to cool down in the heat.

Sunbed situation: Yes, we did have to set our alarms for 7am on occasions, but only because we wanted to 'shotgun' one of the actual beds, rather than sunloungers. But apart from that, it got to about 11am and there were still sunbeds available around the pool.

Food: We tried the Moroccan restaurant, and the Italian one, as well as the usual buffet one. Food was fine, nothing exceptional, but I suppose that is to be expected at such a large resort. Breakfast was probably the best meal. Obviously being an Arabic country, they didn't have sausages or bacon, but they had Turkey alternatives which were equally as good!

Drinks: We tried all of the cocktails on the menu, but as other people have also mentioned, they came out of pre-mixed bottles and probably had all of 1% alcohol in them. Instead, try asking for the Fruit Punch from the non-alcoholic menu, and ask the waiters to add vodka - that fast became our addiction! On that note, the waiters seemed to appreciate it enormously if you make an effort in French. We made sure to tip a number of them at the end for being so lovely to us.

Excursions: We did the Marrakech Discovery tour, and the Camel Trekking tour, both offered by Thomson. I'd recommend both of them - brilliant value for money. As we were only there for a week, we thought the Marrakech tour was excellent because, although it was a long and VERY hot and sweaty day, they crammed so much into one day that we actually got a feel for the city. The camel trek was good fun too, and only took up a morning, which meant we had plenty of time for the pool! Had we been there for longer, we would have done the Atlas mountains tour too, as other people we befriended said it was excellent.

Animation: We loved it. The mini club looked really nice, and all the entertainers were fantastic. Their English isn't great, but they are hilarious and work so hard and are always smiling, which is impressive considering the hours they work and the fact they only get one day off a week! The shows in the evening were pretty entertaining, and they seem to do club dances about 20 times a day. Tarik and Ibra were wonderful, as were Mohammed, Cindy, Khalid and the rest of the team. Big love for them!

Rooms: Our room was large and cleaned immaculately every day. As the resort is so big it was quite a trek to get to the room, but the grounds are so pretty, so that was fine for us! Just don't put your room key by your phone, because it's pretty annoying when you make it back to your room only to find your key has dis-activated itself and you need to hike back to reception!

Security: One thing, as some other people have mentioned in their reviews too, do be careful with your belongings. There is a safe in the room, which you don't even have to pay a deposit on, which was good in my opinion. But on our last day, we both had our credit cards and a few dirhams stolen from our purses in the late afternoon when we were by the pool. Although a special thank-you goes out to the person who did that, for kindly opting to leave my passport, iPhone and BlackBerry ;-) Credit cards are easy to cancel, but losing our passports would have been a nightmare!

So despite this tiny blip at the end of our holiday, we had a fantastic time, and we're missing it loads!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahlucy268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.0 km away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#116 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
1.3 km away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
6.0 km away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#107 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
9.2 km away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#104 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,338 reviews
19.2 km away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,673 - ₹ 15,771
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing