We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girly break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #105 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Girly break”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My friend and i have just returned, could not find a fault... Staff friendly, rooms spotless, grounds kept well, food was good, bar service great and entertainment was good looking to go back again already... we used the free bus a few times into the square and booked on no problems.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vicki100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,815
    1,917
    587
    157
    82
See reviews for
1,375
2,963
61
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We first went in April 2010 when it hadn't been opened long and it was fab.

This time it was a little different. It was still spotless (apart from the pool had quite a few bits of debris at the bottom) staff great, rooms very comfy and large. Still offer free shuttle bus to the square. Plenty of loungers and areas to sit and relax. Food is buffet and varied. Nobody got ill. We did 3 nights and would have been bored if been there another night. This wasn't helped because you have to book the Moroccan restaurant which I tried on our first morning and there was no room until the day we left. I explained at reception and also with the head waiter that we go home on Monday but they said nothing could be done, it was full. Was a bit fed up as the atmosphere was the best to eat in. Lower lit and a bit less 'canteen' style. If hoing for a week you should be fine to get booked in though.Selection at the bars was fine though we couldn't fine Baileys, amaretto or cranberry juice. Asked for mojito and alothough not on list they did it. Last time we could help ourselves to bottle of wine at lunch but now it's in glasses. Still and smoked salmon on a Sunday morning at breakfast.

However it was a lot busier, still got loungers fine though. The people there were very mixed. Still lots of nationalities but more Brits. Also more kids. Plus more louder people.

Thee is now a full 'activities team' and they come aound and try to get you to join in with things such as dancing, dart games, water volleyball, bingo etc. For some this is a positive, for me its a def negative. Not my cup of tea and but other people were joining in and the staff tried hard.

In summary we wanted a few days away in the sun to relax and have a giggle with pals, with nice food and drinks. It ticked our boxes and we may return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hawkyh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scawby
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just returned from tikida hotel,the food is very good, The service is quite good ,some times the breakfast service was a little slow,I have found that if you tip a dollar to the waiter you do get very good service,we also did the same with the maid ie a dollar a day, and other staff when good service was there,The only problem we had was some where from the cases being locked to arriving home we found that my wifes make up had been stolen, I am not saying that the hotel did this, it could have been at the airport,All i would advise is that any valuables you carry in your hand luggage,the holiday apart from this was great,

Room Tip: we had room 5116 this was quieter away from the pool, It had a balcony,and asked for a no smoking ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivychurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Riu Tikida Palmeraie for 11 nights just after the main Easter Bank Holiday. We were looking for a good value, sunny escape and the holiday fulfilled both these criteria.

We have experience of Riu hotels having stayed at them in several destinations over the years and, as usual, the hotel staff could not be faulted. They were polite, helpful, extremely hardworking and very efficient. This applied to all staff from the welcome upon arrival, reception staff ensuring a quick and easy check-in, cooks, waiters, cleaners, pool staff, gardeners, security and the entertainment team. Hotel management has every reason to be proud of its staff.

The hotel was very crowded. It was a particularly family-orientated hotel with an incredible amount of very young, unsupervised children (aged 3-10) running around. It certainly would not have appealed to us as a venue for a romantic getaway.

Our hotel room was the usual Riu standard – comfortable, clean and well-equipped - with a small patio and private garden. Maid service was excellent.

Food was copious and varied with something for everyone – salads, soups, live pasta stations, pizzas, burgers, freshly grilled meats and fish, a wide variety of Moroccan dishes and lots of vegetables or vegetable-based dishes. Unfortunately we found the main restaurant noisy, busy and not conducive to a relaxed dining experience as has been the case at previous Riu hotels. The cooks and waiters coped very efficiently and faultlessly to cater for the huge number of people and to keep the food areas tidy when faced with so many unsupervised young children attempting to help themselves while dropping much on the floor or surrounding area and running back and forth constantly. The main problems in the restaurant were not the fault of staff but more that parents could not be bothered to supervise or look after their numerous off-spring.

Options for evening meals included bookable Italian and Moroccan restaurants. These were significantly more relaxed and quiet and had good national dishes on a buffet style basis. Again, this was unlike other Riu hotels where the bookable restaurants were usually a buffet starter but a la carte, served meals for the main course which made them more special. We did note that children were more controlled in these restaurants.

An adults only restaurant particularly for the evenings would have been greatly appreciated, we thought it a shame that neither of the speciality restaurants was adults only, even the late sitting in the Moroccan restaurant. Perhaps an adults only separate area in the main dining room for breakfast and lunch could be considered.

There were several bars but unfortunately none served fresh juices or cocktails, they were all made with squashes and synthetic ingredients; a shame especially given the amount of lovely oranges everywhere. The only ‘fresh’ juice (ie, not squash but still from concentrate) was available at breakfast.

Entertainment was fine for the children but not really aimed for adults, even during the evenings. Moreover, as smoking was permitted it was not pleasant spending time in public areas. A non-smoking zone would have been appreciated.

The outdoor pool was almost always empty as it was so cold. There were plenty of sunbeds set up around the pool and surrounding area with helpful pool staff on hand to provide extra beds during busy times. The heated indoor pool was a good size but very crowded. The gym was small but clean with basic equipment. The spa area was very relaxing and offered a wide range of treatments.

The hotel offered a free shuttle bus service into town (approx 20 minutes) which ran five times daily. This needed to be booked in advance at reception but ran to time and was an excellent service.

There was free wifi in the hotel lobby area although it was very temperamental.

Although there were several cats wandering around we were delighted to see the Riu Hotel had adopted a sensible approach to the local cat situation. They were provided with a hut, given cat food and water bowls and looked after so they did not beg at the restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just got back from a week at Riu Palmeraie which we enjoyed enormously. Other hotel chains should send their managers here to learn how a large holiday hotel should be run and how staff should be trained. All the staff were fantastic - cheerful and amazingly efficient. This is a big hotel with most clients on 'all inclusive' so demand for food and drinks is considerable but we never had to wait for a restaurant table or wait to be served at the bar for more than about 20 seconds!
The food quality and choice was well up to the usual Riu high standard. The layout and village design of the hotel is very well done and the gardens around the rooms are stunning - the site is so large you can take a pleasant stroll enjoying the plants and birds. The pool is very large and the staff there are just as efficient and friendly as elsewhere so you can bask in comfort.
The only problem we had was our bedroom was quite chilly in the evening (April) and the warming function of the air conditioning did not work - we reported the 'fault' but nothing was done - we asked other guests and they too had no heat so if going out of high season you should take something warm to wear. Only other thing to note is that the hotel is located remote from anywhere you can walk to of interest so you need to book the hotel shuttle, an excursion or a taxi for a change of scene. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting another Riu soon.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Atlas mountains which would be worth requesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Courtauldbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.0 km away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#114 of 499 in Marrakech
2,779 reviews
1.3 km away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
6.0 km away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#111 of 499 in Marrakech
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.6 km away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#77 of 499 in Marrakech
371 reviews
5.7 km away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,829 - ₹ 61,397
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing