We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locale, atmosphere and above average food”
Review of Dar Essalam

Dar Essalam
Ranked #74 of 951 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 50
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: N full heart of the medina where merges tradition and modernity, an authentic restaurant has several years of perfectly preserved history. DAR ESSALAM is the first moroccan restaurant in Marrakech since 1952, it's here that the Hitchcock's movie "the man knew too much " was filmed. Come and taste our refined moroccan cuisine.
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I recommend going for lunch as there are good value options. While our service suffered somewhat from being very late lunch guests (the staff wanted to close), it is a beautiful restaurant and we had a quiet and relaxed meal. Some of the dishes were excellent, while the desserts left us nonplussed. Service was a bit inattentive for requests that were not directly menu-related (adjust a/c, please more bread). Wine list offers good local options.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RobbieJey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar essalam r, Gérant at Dar Essalam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Customer,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal in Restaurant Dar essalam and acknowledge so many positive elements, your kind comments are highly appreciated
Thank your for spreading the word on here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Warm regards
Sincerely yours
mohamed el karnighi
owner manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

This is a must go restaurant in Marraquexe! So many laughing because of the great staff! Good food and service. A very antique restaurant set of American movies scene. Beautiful typical decor!

Thank ClaudiaSofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar essalam r, Gérant at Dar Essalam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! We believe that our interior decoration is our gratest asset, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant your kind comments are highly appreciated
Thank you once again for your comments and for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to dar essalam
Sincerely
mohamed el karnighi,
owner manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Had lunch here as part of a city tour. This place is very large with many dining areas and all of such authenticity to Marrakech and so tastefully decorated. The food was very good yet not our most memorable. Likely the group setting effected that some. Nonetheless, the restaurant itself is a visual delight and well worth the effort.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar essalam r, Gérant at Dar Essalam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! We believe that our interior decoration is our gratest asset, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant your kind comments are highly appreciated
Thank you once again for your comments and for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to dar essalam
Sincerely
mohamed el karnighi,
owner manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We wanted a beautiful restaurant for our last night in Marrakech and were thrilled with the recommendation to go to Dar Essalam. More lovely than I had imagined a restored (17th palace could be. Our waiter kindly gave us a tour through the venue at the end of the evening, so we could marvel at the artistry of the tiles and the ceilings. Simply gorgeous!

The food and Moroccan wine was excellent, with impeccable service. The entertainment was wonderful with top class musicians and a belly dancer.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Dar Essalam Restaurant for a memorable evening in Marrakech.

Karen
Sydney, Australia

Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar essalam r, Gérant at Dar Essalam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Customer,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal in Restaurant Dar essalam and acknowledge so many positive elements, your kind comments are highly appreciated
Thank your for spreading the word on here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Warm regards
Sincerely yours
mohamed el karnighi
owner manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We ate twice at this wonderful restaurant, the second visit being a birthday celebration.
There is limited menu, but the food we ate was delicious on both occassions and the cheapest dinners we had in an eight day stay in Marrakesh.
Some have called this a tourist trap but I completely disagree.
This is more than a restaurant, the ambience is fantastic. Obviously Hitchcock chose it for a good reason to film a scene in his film, 'The man who knew too much'.
The musicians are very accomplished and the dancers are very entertaining. The service is very friendly and professional.
Make sure you eat in the wonderful dining room at the end of the restaurant.
A big thank you to the Manager (sorry forgot his name) all the waiters and muscians for two great evenings, especially the last one.

Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar essalam r, Gérant at Dar Essalam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Customer,
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal in Restaurant Dar essalam and acknowledge so many positive elements, your kind comments are highly appreciated
Thank your for spreading the word on here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Warm regards
Sincerely yours
mohamed el karnighi
owner manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dar Essalam also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Essalam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing