We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Authentic Moroccan Hospitality in a Magical Medina!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Ibn Battouta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Ibn Battouta
Ranked #51 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Moroccan Hospitality in a Magical Medina!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Designed for a romantic getaway but equally welcoming and comfortable for families with kids. Located a few hundred metres away from Medina entrance but that was great because road access was fantastic. Hosts made sure they added a personal touch to service. Anas, Siham, Fatimah and the others were very gracious. Specifically the options they offer for excursions, hammams etc. were excellent because it takes care of "things to do" thinking for the guests. The breakfast is delicious, very fresh and abundant! Riad is very well maintained and beautifully decorated. I read in one of the reviews that glass canopy was not good but I must say it was very useful when it started raining crazy. We would highly recommend to stay here if you visiting Fez.

Room Tip: If you are with kids, better to avoid the Suite Samarquand. It has a beautiful mezzanine floor bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aamir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    25
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
51
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corbeil-Essonnes, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I arrived in Riyadh, or the reception was very warm ... quiet and beautiful place.
My room, luxurious and very clean, super comfortable mattress ... and the bathroom, a luxury ..
If you are lucky enough to go to Fez, enjoy this riad, the food is really neat and refined ...
I will return happy with friends because this place is magical...
I am also delighted by masssages and steam room, too much happiness ..
The management and service, everything is great and nothing to say!
Going back to the Riad, I recommend it highly ..
Thank you again to you ... and I will not be long.
Nicole

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We chose Riad Ibn Battouta based on Trip Advisor reviews and hoped for a classy relaxing stay in a boutique hotel.
How wrong we were!
The first bad experience was the night we arrived. Our bed had used sheets with curly hair and sweat smelling pillows.
When we kindly asked the manager to change the sheets we started a hurricane. All the hotel personnel joined the "party".
We were told that the hair we found was probably because the washing machine was not designed to wash the hair off and the sweat smell of our pillow came from the cleaning detergent they were using.
Nevertheless they finally agreed to change the sheets and this time we were "lucky" -no hair, no sweat smelling pillows.
The second bad experience was at the next day's breakfast. I will not comment on the overall quality of the breakfast, I've had worse.
The thing I will like to comment though was the fact that we were refused a second glass of orange juice. "The oranges bought for the breakfast juice were counted and there si none left".
I must specify that at 20 meters from the Riad there were literally tons of oranges for sale at the market at 4 Dirham/kilo.
We had to change the room that day as the "Sindabur Suite" became available. We were absolutely charmed by this suite when we saw it on the Riad web site.
Here we had the third awfull experience when we entered the bathroom. There were only two light bulbs giving as much light as two small candels.
Our torch light revealed the "cleanliness" of the place. Please see the attached photos and decide for yourselves.
Again, we started a bigger hurricane when we asked the management to send somebody to clean the bathroom.
This time the stains on the toilet were caused by "the black soap used for bathroom floor washing".
We were even told that this kind of attitude (asking for a clean bathroom and fresh-cleaned bed sheets) is not "tollerated" in such a boutique hotel.
At the end of the dispute the manager said he will offer us a free weekend on our choice in the hotel to "forget" about the "small incidents". Of course this didn't meterialise (as we would spend another couple of nights in such a place!!).
Regarding the room temperature I must specify that it hardly rose over 17 degrees centigrade with the air conditioning (set on heating) working all night.
This is far below the comfort zone in my opinion.
We had the final surpirse, the day we left when we were told that our first night dinner (for four persons) was 175 Euros!!
Final word: AVOID this Riad!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mihai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is a place when you leave and it gives you a wonderful, memorable feeling. I arrived quite late in the evening (past dinner time), yet, I was welcomed and was immediately served with dinner (of which food was delicious and presentation of the food was excellent). My room was on the 4th floor, but it was decorated nicely and it had a porch. The one that differentiates this place among the other two riads I stayed was the services. Thanks to Anass and staff, they did a great job in making sure the guests feel at home. The attention to details was amazing (even the breakfast was served in a uniquely Morrocan way - see pictures). Even though there were other guests staying at the riad, we were made sure we had enough privacy too. This is a great example how warm the guests will feel if the owner runs the riad with his heart!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totofore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Couldn't be a more lovely appointed riad in Fes. This place was well decorated down to the pillows on the bedroom couch. The owner, Anass, and his wife were a very helpful person and were available at all times (when do they sleep?). Well situated in the Batha neighborhood, close to the medina, Batha Museum, Mellah, etc. Would recommend to anyone interested in exploring Fes!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roundtripper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
1.1 km away
Riad Zamane
Riad Zamane
#32 of 98 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 km away
Across Hotels & Spa
Across Hotels & Spa
#65 of 98 in Fes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#81 of 98 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#83 of 98 in Fes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 km away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#37 of 98 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
2.7 km away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#36 of 98 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ibn Battouta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ibn Battouta

Property: Riad Ibn Battouta
Address: 9, Derb Lalla Mina | Avenue Allal El Fassi, Batha, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,814 - ₹ 7,181
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Ibn Battouta 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Riad Ibn Battouta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing