We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
284
14
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
14
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews berber tent three rooms stone oven fes airport the owner swimming pool an incredible view traditional burger beautiful place small hotel fantastic stay tagine fatima bhalil getaway accommodation remote
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

First of all, there is the view, it takes your breath away on the first look and it captivates you for the rest of your stay. The house and many “chilling spots” are set so that you’re never missing out on the view and are always looking at the mountain or the beautiful sunset.

Then you have the rooms and the equipment: all very cozy and modern despite the rustic ambiance. Yes, the WI-FI is not the best but that’s normal given that you are on a mountain in a secluded rural area!

As for the food, all meals are made with love using fresh local ingredients and herbs from the garden. You will also get to enjoy a lovely olive oil tasting with drinks and freshly baked bread! I was particularly fond of the mint tea with herbs that I must have ordered like 15 times in 3 days.

The staff were always nice and went out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable stay… as in the poor guys ran around chasing a frog to take it back to its cave so we could enjoy a quite dinner!

I think it is a great place for a calm vacation on a location that is both remote and easily accessible !

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Farah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful location. The photos don't do it justice. The luscious gardens with the pool on the patio and the house are stunning, every detail has been thought out perfectly and we couldn't believe how peaceful and luxurious it was. A perfect place to come back to after a busy day out in Fes. The staff were some of the most kind and helpful people we encountered in Morocco. They were so accommodating and hospitable even when we couldn't speak French to them very well and helped us arrange a hammam experience and sorted our late night taxi to the airport. All the meals cooked by Fatima were delicious and probably the best food we had all week.
We would love to come back to stay as a group to book all three rooms but next time we come we will be hiring a car to make exploring easier.
Thank you so much Jaoued, Alae and Fatima for making us feel so welcome. Dar El Mandar is a perfect spot to relax in Morocco!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

This small hotel was for sure one of the top places we ever stayed in.

Just three rooms and sometimes more personell than guests. The service was fantastic and the always fresh food just great.

The view from the area into the plainlands surrounding Fes was stunning. I really don't know if there can be any better place to relax.

We will for sure come back and take our hiking shoes with us us there are several possibilities for some walking around.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jawe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

I spent the day here with a large group of friends – we had elevenses, lunch and then just lounged around by the pool or in the gardens. It is a stunning place and the photos barely do it justice, since they cannot convey how peaceful it is, particularly after a few days in the Medina. We didn't sleep here but I had a sneak peek of the rooms, which were also fabulous. My next trip will be an overnighter…

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JezebelBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

During our tour of northern Morocco, our family of four opted to stay 4 nights at Dar El Mandar as a base to explore the area and towns around Sefrou. We then went on to spend just one night in Fes which was sufficient to see the city. Although this is not the standard tour package, considering the variety of things to do around Sefrou, this was absolutely the best choice to experience this area of Morocco. The Dar itself is located about 20 minutes south of Fes perched high up on a hill with jaw dropping views overlooking the valley below. Currently they have 3 double rooms available, with plans to eventually expand. The rooms are comfortable, impeccably clean, and the service is beyond outstanding. They grow 40% of all the food they require on their farm and the rest is sourced locally. All bread is baked on site. This freshness along with the talent of the kitchen staff makes for some of the best meals we ate during our two weeks in Morocco. All of the staff are warm, polite, professional and go out of their way to cater to their guests needs. Although we had made our own touring arrangements, if you email Jaoued the owner (who is fluent in English, French & Arabic) he will gladly help you plan excursions in the area. During our 3 days, we toured Ifrane, Azrou, Ifrane National Park (cedar forests and Barbary monkeys), Sefrou, the village of Bhalil (cave houses and hike in hills), the valley of the cherries (full bloom in Spring), and hiked the surrounding area. Late afternoons lounging on the Dar's terrace with spectacular views over the valley, swimming in the infinity pool, bread & olive oil tasting in the berber tents and enjoying stunning sunsets. If you are looking to experience the warmth of a true Moroccan experience, a stay at Dar El Mandar is not to be missed. A highlight of our trip without a doubt!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Fang4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews