We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two days in fes”
Review of Dar el Yasmine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar el Yasmine
Ranked #27 of 211 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poitiers, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“two days in fes”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

im student in france and from korea. I went to morocco in the first week of may with my friends. at first, it is hard to find the hostel in medina. fortunately, we met the manager of the hostel in the medina. the hostel is located near the blue gate, which is entrance of medina. we loved this hostel becuz staffs are so friendly, we had many meals together, we could meet new people in the hostel. also the guide in the hostel was satisfactory. Anyway you will need a guide for medina tour, so i think it would be better just follow the guide in the hostel. while we stayed in the hostel, we felt that we are in safe and cozy place like home. i miss the place and people there and hope to go there again.

Room Tip: have free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chsw38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    66
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
94
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Staff, atmosphere, all including the room of the hotel were really good. I traveled alone, but was able to spend very happy time. I was able to spend happy time with the staff and other guests. I will be to visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TsutomuTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ucrania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I would like to share my experience with Dar El Yasmine which wasn’t pleasant at all.

My friend and I arrived to Fes having booked a double room for one night in this Dar because we had seen many good opinions about it. But on the arrival we were accommodated in another hotel nearby and due to the prices there were charged approx. 10 Euros less than we were supposed to be charged in Dar El Yasmine. I didn’t mind being put to another hotel, since we were very content with the service offered there. However, on the next day we received an e-mail notifying of no-show in Dar El Yasmine. As I was afraid I would be fully charged for that, we turned to the management of Dar El Yasmine. They admitted that they had made the mistake notifying the booking.com about the no-show and promised to fix it "postponing" the reservation for the other day.

The most unpleasant moment however resulted to be when we were about to leave the place we were accommodated in - the manager of Dar El Yasmine arrived claiming that we should pay the full amount that was shown on my reservation because that was HIS mistake and WE should be comprehensive though we had already paid our bill in the other hotel. After we said that we had already paid, he claimed that we should be comprehensive and that he had to pay the commissions etc and insisting much almost making us get late to the bus. WTF??? We paid this additional amount, since we were in a hurry to leave on a bus and didn´t feel like getting into a discussion. But in my opinion, the hotel management shouldn’t charge customers for the mistakes made by THEM.

The other thing was that the staff of Dar el Yasmine always offered us city guides, places to eat and buy stuff where they without any doubt would get commission, and if we didn’t accept, they spied us and asked how was the place we had gone to (which wasn’t suggested by them).

All in all, I feel very disappointed with the behaviour and treatment given to us by the management.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irinaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

A lovely place to stay in the heart of the Old Fes Medina, just a 10 minute walk from the Blue Gate. Upon arrival at the Blue Gate, the owner greeted us and walked us to the place. We were served Moroccan mint tea when we arrived and were shown around the B&B. Abdul then arranged for a guide to take us around Fes the next day. In the evening, the owners invited us to cook a traditional Moroccan meal with them, which was a fun experience!

This place is truly value for money and is a good find for budget travelers. Unbelievably hospitable host who treat you like family. Abdul speaks many languages and Mohamad and Mustafa are extremely friendly and kind. A fantastic place with character, for young people to enjoy the city!

Room Tip: People tend to gather in the courtyard so you can request for the higher floors if you want it to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Hotel might be a little dificult to find on your own if you arrive at night, but you can always call to have someone meet you at the blue gate. That’s what we did and got to the hotel without any trouble.
It is located 5 minutes walk from the blue gate, close to a number of restaurants on main street.
Rooms: Were only ok. We got one double and one single room.
Single room was on ground floor, next to the reception and living area so was a bit noisy. Also had the bathroom in some kind of attic, no door to separate it from the rest of the room. First time I saw that, wasn’t really nice. Although being a single room there’s noone else to share the room with you.
First double room we got was kind of a mess. Bathroom really moisty, bad smell (cats?), no sheets on the bed. I asked to change the room and got one right in front (first floor), a bit better. At least there was no smell. Bothroom was still tiny and shower had no courtin, so you can imagine the mess alter two people had their shower.
The good part:
-Friendly staff
-All rooms have cold/heat systems in each room,
-Breakfast was really good, and was prepared for us a bit earlier than they use to because we really needed to get up early.
-Manager got us a really good guide to walk around the medina.
-Free wi-fi
Probably would come back. Probably.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorenciaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 km away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#33 of 211 in Fes
637 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#17 of 211 in Fes
274 reviews
0.2 km away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#2 of 64 in Fes
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#50 of 211 in Fes
110 reviews
0.7 km away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#28 of 211 in Fes
173 reviews
0.2 km away
Dar Tahrya
Dar Tahrya
#59 of 211 in Fes
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Yasmine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Yasmine

Property: Dar el Yasmine
Address: talla sghira derb ahl tadla No34, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,680 - ₹ 2,584
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar el Yasmine 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dar el yasmine is a charming traditional building from the 17th centry located in the heart of the old medina of fes,in the main street talaa sghira near the main entrace Bab boujloud ,dar el yasmine is a small guest house with 6 rooms air conditioner and private bathroom ,in addition to beautiful roof terrasse with tent and view of the medina .dar el yasmine can help you to organize many activitiess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar el Yasmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing