We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveller rating
813
23
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
813
23
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond suite topaz room cooking class with fatima rooftop terrace perfect hosts the stained glass windows the entire staff cooking lesson beautiful riad our honeymoon make you feel at home winding streets an oasis lovely courtyard like royalty mint tea central courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 843 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Don’t look anywhere if you want to have a hassle-free and personalized service in Fez. My first impression of Morocco was great because of this lovely riad. Yasmine and all the staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. They’re very attentive to your needs and they even gave us cellphone for emergency use in case we have a problem or if we got lost. Truly exceptional!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank JeffryG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

It was a great pleasure staying at this ancient, but beautifully restored and decorated traditional riad. 

Owned and operated by a couple (Yasmin and Alex) who know what efficient and professional western customer service and logistical coordination look like, so they offer world-class service in a small personal boutique hotel.
Beatiful old riad is a serene oasis, shielding you from the hustle and bustle of the old Medina.

It’s evident from the many antique decorative and functional objects throughout the riad that the place is a labor of love, not just a business for the owner/operators. It’s more like you’re a new friend whom they’ve invited into their home.

Both the rooms and common areas have a luxurious and exotic look and feel, but with the functionality of modern facilities. Relax with a book and a cold beer in the shady, breezy central courtyard. Hang out on the rooftop dining area, where meals are served, and enjoy a nice cool breeze. Eat, drink, and read up here.

A note about Fes: go there it at all possible. We enjoyed it much more than Marrakech, Tangiers, or Casablanca. It was much more like a working, living city, more authentic, less commercialized. The vibe was more relaxed and vibrant, the citizens much more friendly and less predatory. The merchants wanted to sell their wares, of course, but it wasn’t geared to fleecing tourists like Marrakech and Tangier are. And they were mostly selling non-touristy everyday stuff to locals.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Riad Le Calife. The riad is beautiful and peaceful. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They are open to answering any questions that you may have. The location of the riad was very good with easy access to many of the main attractions in Fes. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Nothing bad can be said about this Riad. We traveled in Spain and Morocco for 3 weeks and this hotel was the highlight of our trip. It wasn't just the amazingly beautiful Riad and the room itself, but the friendship and care we felt from Yasmin and Alex, the owners.

We arrived to the most enthusiastic "orientation" ever, given by Alex who so clearly loves Fes and was anxious to share this with us. His recommendations for activities and restaurants were spot on. We did hire a guide thru the hotel for a whole day for all of the equivalent of $40. We had heard from other travelers that their guides spent most of the time leading them to shops, we did not have that experience at all.

Along with the other reviewers from this time period whose names we recognize, we took the cooking class. It was fun cooking for whomever was eating in the restaurant that' night.mmeven better was going home with all the recipes from the class.

Note: if the owners offer to have one of their lovely staff meet you at the cab stand when you arrive, do not turn this down. You will never find the hotel on your own as it is in a residential part of the Medina, which adds to its charm

Thanks Yasmin and Alex!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank AGMNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

As a confirmed insomniac of twenty years, I slept like a baby the four nights we stayed at this wonderful riad. The atmosphere of harmony and peace pervades the whole place that is paradoxically in the middle of the bustling Medina. The owners are great - just the right blend of friendliness and professionalism. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their charming staff. We had a cooking class with Fatima which was such fun and contained some very useful information. Excellent location for exploring Fes, with or without a guide. We wandered on our own some days and felt perfectly at ease and met many delightful and helpful people.

Room Tip: We stayed in Opaline, a "room". We were shown the "suites" which are enormous and very beautiful.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews