We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insomniac Paradise!”
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2017

As a confirmed insomniac of twenty years, I slept like a baby the four nights we stayed at this wonderful riad. The atmosphere of harmony and peace pervades the whole place that is paradoxically in the middle of the bustling Medina. The owners are great - just the right blend of friendliness and professionalism. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their charming staff. We had a cooking class with Fatima which was such fun and contained some very useful information. Excellent location for exploring Fes, with or without a guide. We wandered on our own some days and felt perfectly at ease and met many delightful and helpful people.

Room Tip: We stayed in Opaline, a "room". We were shown the "suites" which are enormous an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

Just to enter the courtyard from the busy streets and lanes. of Fez is a delightful experience.
When you settle into your room and sit in the courtyard with a cool drink you really appreciatereat s how eas.y the owners and staff have made your visit, as nothing was too much trouble.

Comfortable beds, great bathroom facilities including good strong hot shower.
Breakfast and dinner were perfect with a different option each day under the half board system.

When my partner found herself a little under the weather, everyone at Le Califfe went out of their way to make her feel as comfortable as possible.

Don’t know if I’ll get back to Fez, although I’m sorely tempted, but if I did there would be no question about my accommodation choice. ....Le Calife!

Thanks again to everyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank retiredtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Don’t think about staying anywhere else in Fez! The owners haven’t overlooked a thing in creating this oasis in the busy Medina. Communication before we arrived was thorough, quick, and reassuring. They arranged an airport pickup, and the driver dropped us off at the only auto-allowed street in the Medina, where a member of the Riad staff was waiting for us to help with our luggage and how us through the maze to the Riad. Our room was spectacular! Breakfast was fabulous, and we had drinks and dinner there on our only night. Dining with fabulous food and drink outside, seeing the lights of Fez, and hearing the call to prayer was a memory we’ll never forget. Our afternoon flight was cancelled, and we had to leave at 4:00 am to make the only flight out we could get, but it was no problem. They had a taxi waiting, and even prepared a light breakfast for us while our bags were being brought down. I can’t recommend this highly enough. Our only regret was not arranging a guide through the Riad as we weren’t thrilled with the one we arranged privately - don’t make the same mistake!

Room Tip: We were in the beautiful Emerald Suite, but I think all rooms would be lovely.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

A traditional riad, beautifully furnished, with the most charming and helpful owners and delightful staff. A perfect choice for this beautiful, historic city.

We stayed in Amethyste on the second floor. It is a spacious room with a small annex for luggage, clothes and the safe.

Yasmin kindly helped us organise a number of excursions: airport pickup (highly recommended and inexpensive), a fabulous walking tour of the Medina with Rashid (yes, we visited a few shops but only briefly and with no pressure to purchase); hammam with massage and terrace dinner at her father's beautiful Palais Faraj; a cooking class with the charming Fatima the dishes which were then served to us at dinner (highly recommend you plan to do this during your stay); a day trip to Meknes, Moulay Idriss and Voulubilis; dinner booking at Nur with guide and a car transfer to Tangier. Other than the airport pickup and Medina tour this was all done quickly at check in. Combined with a detailed explanation of the sights, and restaurants of the Medina, Yasmin made us feel informed and in control of our visit. Yes, we did follow her advice just to wander, get a little lost in the winding streets and if there was any issue to use the telephone that they lent us for our stay (another one of the many ways you are taken care of and highly valued by us although we were pleased not to need to use the phone!).

Breakfast to the rooftop terrace was excellent, for us the pancakes were a real highlight. A continental breakfast of fruit, yoghurt, bread, pancakes, dates, almonds, sweets, juice and coffee were served to the table and eggs were offered, topped with views of the medina. Enjoying a Kir Maison (very reasonably priced, as was everything at the riad) was also a delightful way recover from the long walks in the heat, and was served either in the central courtyard or rooftop lounge.

One very noticeable aspect of staying in the riad is how very quiet it is, even on the rooftop. We even did not hear the call to prayer in our room.

Be aware that as with all riads we visited, there are stairs to climb to get to most rooms and, of course, the rooftop terrace, so if mobility is an issue check if the ground floor room suits for you.

We were delighted to receive a farewell and thank you email with some of Fatima's recipes attached when we arrived in Tangier. This was after a farewell in person from Alex and a phone farewell from Yasmin!

Yasmin and Alex are warm, engaging, yet professional hosts and want their guests to get the best of their visit to Fes. This is a very special place and it will stay in our memories. Book (early), it is perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Riad Le Calife is a beautiful riad in a great location in Fes! We stayed in the Rubis room for 2 nights in mid October. It was stunning. From the delicious cookies upon arrival, to the beautiful decor, and impeccable service, there was no detail missing. The roof top terrace offers great views of the city, and a wonderful place to relax after an afternoon in the busy Médina. The dinner, which we had prepared by the riad, was one of the best meals we had in Morocco. The owners and staff were very helpful, and were always around if you had a question. It was a great place to relax at the end of our trip, we will definitely return!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CarolynBul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.8 km away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 km away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#4 of 100 in Fes
441 reviews
0.3 km away
Riad Fes Maya Suite & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
1.1 km away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
575 reviews
0.9 km away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#6 of 100 in Fes
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#12 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range: ₹ 7,395 - ₹ 12,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing