We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveller rating
804
23
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
804
23
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond suitetopaz roomcooking class with fatimarooftop terraceperfect hoststhe stained glass windowsthe entire staffcooking lessonbeautiful riadour honeymoonmake you feel at homewinding streetsan oasislovely courtyardlike royaltymint teacentral courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 834 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Just to enter the courtyard from the busy streets and lanes. of Fez is a delightful experience.
When you settle into your room and sit in the courtyard with a cool drink you really appreciatereat s how eas.y the owners and staff have made your visit, as nothing was too much trouble.

Comfortable beds, great bathroom facilities including good strong hot shower.
Breakfast and dinner were perfect with a different option each day under the half board system.

When my partner found herself a little under the weather, everyone at Le Califfe went out of their way to make her feel as comfortable as possible.

Don’t know if I’ll get back to Fez, although I’m sorely tempted, but if I did there would be no question about my accommodation choice. ....Le Calife!

Thanks again to everyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank retiredtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Don’t think about staying anywhere else in Fez! The owners haven’t overlooked a thing in creating this oasis in the busy Medina. Communication before we arrived was thorough, quick, and reassuring. They arranged an airport pickup, and the driver dropped us off at the only auto-allowed street in the Medina, where a member of the Riad staff was waiting for us to help with our luggage and how us through the maze to the Riad. Our room was spectacular! Breakfast was fabulous, and we had drinks and dinner there on our only night. Dining with fabulous food and drink outside, seeing the lights of Fez, and hearing the call to prayer was a memory we’ll never forget. Our afternoon flight was cancelled, and we had to leave at 4:00 am to make the only flight out we could get, but it was no problem. They had a taxi waiting, and even prepared a light breakfast for us while our bags were being brought down. I can’t recommend this highly enough. Our only regret was not arranging a guide through the Riad as we weren’t thrilled with the one we arranged privately - don’t make the same mistake!

Room Tip: We were in the beautiful Emerald Suite, but I think all rooms would be lovely.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

A traditional riad, beautifully furnished, with the most charming and helpful owners and delightful staff. A perfect choice for this beautiful, historic city.

We stayed in Amethyste on the second floor. It is a spacious room with a small annex for luggage, clothes and the safe.

Yasmin kindly helped us organise a number of excursions: airport pickup (highly recommended and inexpensive), a fabulous walking tour of the Medina with Rashid (yes, we visited a few shops but only briefly and with no pressure to purchase); hammam with massage and terrace dinner at her father's beautiful Palais Faraj; a cooking class with the charming Fatima the dishes which were then served to us at dinner (highly recommend you plan to do this during your stay); a day trip to Meknes, Moulay Idriss and Voulubilis; dinner booking at Nur with guide and a car transfer to Tangier. Other than the airport pickup and Medina tour this was all done quickly at check in. Combined with a detailed explanation of the sights, and restaurants of the Medina, Yasmin made us feel informed and in control of our visit. Yes, we did follow her advice just to wander, get a little lost in the winding streets and if there was any issue to use the telephone that they lent us for our stay (another one of the many ways you are taken care of and highly valued by us although we were pleased not to need to use the phone!).

Breakfast to the rooftop terrace was excellent, for us the pancakes were a real highlight. A continental breakfast of fruit, yoghurt, bread, pancakes, dates, almonds, sweets, juice and coffee were served to the table and eggs were offered, topped with views of the medina. Enjoying a Kir Maison (very reasonably priced, as was everything at the riad) was also a delightful way recover from the long walks in the heat, and was served either in the central courtyard or rooftop lounge.

One very noticeable aspect of staying in the riad is how very quiet it is, even on the rooftop. We even did not hear the call to prayer in our room.

Be aware that as with all riads we visited, there are stairs to climb to get to most rooms and, of course, the rooftop terrace, so if mobility is an issue check if the ground floor room suits for you.

We were delighted to receive a farewell and thank you email with some of Fatima's recipes attached when we arrived in Tangier. This was after a farewell in person from Alex and a phone farewell from Yasmin!

Yasmin and Alex are warm, engaging, yet professional hosts and want their guests to get the best of their visit to Fes. This is a very special place and it will stay in our memories. Book (early), it is perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Riad Le Calife is a beautiful riad in a great location in Fes! We stayed in the Rubis room for 2 nights in mid October. It was stunning. From the delicious cookies upon arrival, to the beautiful decor, and impeccable service, there was no detail missing. The roof top terrace offers great views of the city, and a wonderful place to relax after an afternoon in the busy Médina. The dinner, which we had prepared by the riad, was one of the best meals we had in Morocco. The owners and staff were very helpful, and were always around if you had a question. It was a great place to relax at the end of our trip, we will definitely return!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CarolynBul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Alex, Yasmine, and all of the staff at Le Calife seemed genuinely invested providing a great experience during our stay in Fes. The riad is beautiful and gorgeously decorated—no attention to detail was spared. We especially loved all of the stained glass which provided a serene, romantic ambiance. It was an oasis from the hustle and bustle of the medina. Dinner on the terrace is delicious and provides a spectacular view.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Ibeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews