We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best riad in Fez”
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My partner and I stayed in The Riad Le Calife for two nights in March. We have visited Fez a number of times and stayed in some very nice riads in the past but nothing like this riad. I could write an essay not a review that is how much we enjoyed it. I will make it as brief as poss. The riad itself is amazing, soon as you enter you feeled instantly calmed by the beautiful scents and aromas and the tranquil atmosphere of the place. Soumia greeted us at the door and gave us a warm welcome and a mint tea, she gave us a brief outline of the city and how to navigate the medina before showing us around the riad then to our room. The room was a feast for the eyes with beautiful decor, soft lighting, colored glass windows and some really nice little touches such as his and hers bathrobes, complimentary bath wash and shampoo and soap, his and hers sink. Piping hot water for a bath or shower, bowl of fresh fruit. The owners Yasmine and Alex are attentive and caring without being overbearing and the staff are wonderful, in particular Fatima the cook. Some may consider the evening meal to be a bit pricey in comparisson to what you can get in the medina but there is no comparisson to the culinary delights Fatima can muster up. Theres a starter, main and dessert followed by mint tea and pastries, which we never tried because we were so full after the other courses. I am a vegetarian, a very fussy eater and something of a foodie but the food i ate at this riad was some of the best food i have ever ate in my life. My only regret was not being able to bring Fatima home with us. If we go back to Fez we will without a doubt stay here again, this trip will be one of our more memorable because of the Riad Le Calife. So thank you Yasmine Alex and all the staff .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 320 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

Wonderfully located near the medina gate, our first riad experience was everything we hoped for. Our room was small but very tastefully done and The room heating at the perfect temperature for the late December cold. The owners Alex and Yasmin were very helpful with suggestions and sitting in the courtyard and breakfast room always lead to rambling conversations with fellow travellers. Dinner ( if you chose to have it) was a bit expensive but delicious and huge which made up for it.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagabond-eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I been in the riad Le Calife for 3 nights and the experience was absolutely nice. When we arrived they gave us large and interesting information about town, restaurants and things to do in Fes but also around the city.They help us to book restaurants, car and whatever we need at any time.

Also the house itself is like a small arabic palace, with very nice decorated rooms that keeps the arabic essence but modern at the same time, and lots of details everywhere like old books and typical Fes pottery.

I suggest this riad to everybody!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have just returned from four days at Riad Le Calife. There were four of us, my husband, myself, and our two daughters. We stayed in the Topaz Room and the girls stayed in the Amythest Room. We were all totally mezmerized by the beautiful Riad and rooms. The restored Riad was beyond expectations, the attention to detail is very clear. The Riad and the rooms were extremely clean and comfy.
Aside from the beautiful Riad, the staff is the best I have encountered. The owners, Alexandre and Yasmine, were very professional, incredibly friendly and helpful, arranging a spa day, hand henna treatment, and a special menu each day for our vegetarian daughter. Also I should mention the fact our other daughter celebrated her 20th birthday while there and Fatima, the cook, made an incredible strawberry cake for her with little 'Happy Birthday' confetti all over the table! Speaking of Fatima, I 'sat' in while she cooked dinner one night, I learned a lot about Moroccan cooking but also about Moroccan life, she was very welcoming into her kitchen. We ate at the Raid every night as the food was excellent, we actually had to request that they don't cook as much food, there was too much and often we left food on the platter. We really only ate two meals a day, the wonderful breakfast (which is included) and the evening meal.
Riad Le Calife is above and beyond, you have to stay here!!!!

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in the Topaz Room and gave the bigger room, Amythest Room, to our daughters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdnAbroad4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We wanted to say a big thank you to Yasmine and Alexandre for our stay in their wonderful Riad which they have succeeded in making exotically sumptuous yet very personal and homely at the same time. A big thank you also to their excellent and friendly staff

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.8 km away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 km away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
434 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Riad Fes Maya Suite & Spa
0.9 km away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#6 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
0.5 km away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#12 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range: ₹ 7,364 - ₹ 12,375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing