We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price, Price, Price is great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Price, Price, Price is great”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The rooms a large. A separate bedroom, living area with fold out couch and a nice kitchenette. They have a nice self serve breakfast and there is an indoor swimming pool. Restaurants are across the parking lot. Easy access to the University and the downtown area.


We compared prices and the GrandStay gave us the most for our money.

Room Tip: Get a room above and away from the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandHolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAmes, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We greatly appreciate your feedback and we are happy to hear our hotel exceeded your expectations. We take pride in our hotel and the ammenities we offer to our guests. Our hotel is in a great location to many restaurants and one of the closest hotels to Iowa State University. We look forward to your stay with us again in the near futue.
Thank you again!
Sincerely,
Michele Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    71
    27
    5
    9
See reviews for
130
20
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The rooms are great, the hotel is great, but the staff really takes the cake at this hotel. Actually, they deserve a cake for how much they care about the guests, and making sure the hotel is perfect for everyone. Hats off to the best hotel in Ames!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAmes, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
I just want to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your kind words and happy to hear our staff made your stay enjoyable.
We look forward to your stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michele Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I prepaid, booked my regular room months in advance only to be told when I checked in that the only room available was a handicap room. Unless you are handicapped this is not the ideal configuration. I was told if I did not like it I could go elsewhere. I stayed due the fact I had prepaid the room. The next day I spoke to a gal at the front desk who said yes there were other rooms available but if I wanted to change I had to move out by 10AM and could not move back into a room until 3PM. REMEMBER I HAD PREPAID my stay. I was supposed to pack up all my things put them back in my rental car and come back at 3PM. UNACCEPTABLE! First the man lied about other rooms not being available, then I was supposed to fully move out of my current room and be in "limbo" until check in time at 3PM. I will never be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rreese4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAmes, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
I'm concerned about the lack of service and mix up of rooms you experienced at our hotel a year ago. The degree of service you experienced is unacceptable, and please be assured that many things have changed in the hotel the last year including staff and management . It's unfortunate you had a bad experience. Please accept my sincere apology.

We would like to demonstrate the true quality of our service by extending to you a one-night complimentary stay, subject to availability. At your convenience, please contact me directly to arrange your reservation; and simply present this letter to the front desk staff upon check-in.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. There's no excuse for anything less than complete guest satisfaction. That's our goal.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alicia Roufs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Excellent, if your in Ames, stay in this hotel! Staff makes you feel like your at home! Will stay here again as soon as I can!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommayhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAmes, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. I am very glad that your stay was a positive one. It's guests like you that make our jobs worthwhile. I hope you will be back soon to the Grandstay Ames. Enjoy the rest of your day!
Alicia Roufs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This property is in a Great location. Walking distance to everything - Kmart, movies, and restaurants ( Red lobster, Applebees, Old Chicago,and Japanese steakhouse.)
The staff is like family.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamfromjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAmes, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you! I really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We strive to make every guest feel welcomed and at home and I am very happy we were able to do so. We hope you will be able to make a trip back to Ames very soon. Thank you and enjoy the rest of your day!
Alicia Roufs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.4 km away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
5.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
2.6 km away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Address: 1606 S Kellogg Ave, Ames, IA 50010-8000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ames
#6 Family Hotel in Ames
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,088 - ₹ 13,930
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXTENDED-STAY, FAMILY & EXECUTIVE SUITES HOTELGRANDSTAY AMES, IOWA. GrandStay(R) Residential Suites Hotel in Ames, Iowa offers spacious family and executive suites. Conveniently located off Interstate 35 at the corner of Duff Ave and Hwy 30, our Iowa hotel offers all the comforts of home with complimentary Grand Start Breakfast™, high-speed Internet, and fully equipped kitchens in every suite. In the heart of the Midwest and Iowa, Ames is the source for tradition, discovery, diversity and of course the Cyclones. Enjoy 33 woodland parks, hop on our 55 miles of bike and pedestrian trails or do what we do best and cheer for the best college teams in the nation! With a variety of Studio, One & Two Bedroom suites, with nightly, weekly and monthly extended-stay suites and accommodations available, our Ames, Iowa hotel is perfect no matter your needs. Enjoy the best of Ames and the all comforts of home when you stay in our luxurious business and family hotel. Reserve your hotel suite today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Ames
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing