We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worst Stay in a Motel Ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Ames

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Ames
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Lees Summit, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Stay in a Motel Ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

This was perhaps the worst stay in a motel i have ever had in my life! We checked in about 8 pm after traveling for 4 hours. Immediately from the outside the motel appeared old and uncared for. Checking in the desk was easy, although the foreign nationality desk worker was hard to understand. We were placed in room 201 next to the stair well.

Upon opening the door one nearly gagged from the smell. This hotel was likely a completely smoking hotel at one time. However due to city ordinances was forced non-smoking. However, they never cleaned the smell from the room just reclassified it. To simply describe the smell, it was a cross between strong musk and the smell of cat pee. The floors were sticky, and for the first time while staying in motels I wouldn't walk in the room without my shoes on. At least somewhat of a saving grace was that you could open the windows which helped the smell some. However we both contemplated sleeping in our car or booking a different room at a different motel.

When checking out the next morning we complained about the smell to the front desk. The worker had nothing to say other than sighing and grunting. Obviously they are aware of the problem but the foreign ownership will not fix the problem.

We will NEVER stay at this motel again. The sad thing is that we've stayed in other Super 8 motels and have great times. This one stay may have soured our opinion of all Super 8 chain motels and could prevent us from staying at others in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duker3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    38
    69
    55
    53
See reviews for
110
31
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mn
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

I read these reviews and recalled staying here a few years back. The rooms were unclean so it is no surprise there were bed bugs recently.

I thought I forgot my credit card at front desk and came back after I checked out and nicely asked the clerk and she stated (with cigarette in mouth)-"WHAT!!?? YOU ACCUSING ME OF BEING A THIEF?"

This is one of the most DISGUSTING hotels--not recommeded at all.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chmww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ames hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

No breakfast bar, no luxury at all. The hotel stands in a lot adjacent to numerous other hotels - a Hampton Inn, and a Country and Suites, for instance. All of them are better. The coffee pot was not replaced ready for my second morning.....and the ants crawling behind the TV unit were the final straw. Avoid.

Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank davidparrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

We stayed at the Super 8 hotel during the Iowa State summer commencement weekend. Although the staff was friendly the rooms were gross. I am not for sure if the property was flooded but the rooms smelled like they were. My husband and I were both bitten by some sort of bugs in the bed. We had them all over our bodies. I even had one on my face which made for disappointing graduation pictures. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Don't stay here unless you like bug bites!!

  • Disliked — The bugs in my bed
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

Pluses:

1. Clean room
2. Comfortable bed
3. Wireless Internet worked
4. TV and room A/C were fine
5. Inexpensive

Minuses:

1. Stairs; no elevator; you carry your luggage upstairs
2. Funky European shower handle with flexible plastic pipe
3. Soft water
4. Minimal continental breakfast

If you hate European shower setups that don't allow you to direct the shower spray without physically holding the showerhead itself in your hand, then stay away from this place. The desk clerk and owner were from a former British colony where those sorts of things are probably the rage, but I hate them and thought it made the shower inconvenient and unenjoyable.

I used to have soft water in a house I owned and liked it. But after years of having hard water, getting soft water in a hotel means that, with using normal amounts of shampoo, conditioner and soap, it takes FOREVER to wash all the residue off one's skin.

And if you love to lug your bags up flights of stairs, you'll love this place as well.

And if you want only coffee, some juice and as many unhealthy, sugar-saturated, processed grain carbohydrates for breakfast, you'll love this place.

If you don't care about any of those things and are simply looking for an inexpensive place to stay, do consider this hotel. It WAS quiet and the bed WAS confortable.

However, they DO need an elevator and they DO need to switch out those European shower handles.

  • Liked — Quiet room; comfortable bed; internet worked
  • Disliked — Shower; stairs;breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank westoverroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 20 in Ames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ames
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ames? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ames

Property: Super 8 Ames
Address: 1418 S Dayton Rd, Ames, IA 50010-9660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,821 - ₹ 7,106
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ames
Ames Super Eight
Ames Super 8
Super 8 Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing