We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Ames!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iowa House Hotel - Ames
Ranked #1 of 3 Ames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is one of the finest places we have ever stayed. The place is so warm and inviting that you feel like you are a welcome guest in someone's home not just someone renting a room for the night. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. The location is very near the ISU campus and convenient to most everywhere in town. We loved our first two stays so much we have chosen to send our 42 anniversary there this year. If you are coming to Ames, don't pass over this jewel!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Not quite sure why Trip Advisor has Hotel in the name of the Iowa House Bed and Breakfast in Ames Iowa as far as I know it's still a B&B and quite a good one at that. This was our second time staying here, the first with the new ownership who took over somewhere about 2010. We went up for a long Easter weekend to visit our daughter who is attending ISU. No complaints here. This was as good as the first time we stayed here pre-2010 if not better. The entire setting is very nice and accommodating while remaining unpretentious. Very comfortable rooms (we've stayed in 306 and now 301). Very comfortable beds and very clean. The breakfasts are very good as well. Nothing more to say other than we'll be back, again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

It was our first Family Weekend as ISU parents and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! Close to the campus and wonderful accommodations. The breakfast is wonderful and the owners friendly. We can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The owners are doing a great job. A B&B cannot get much better than this. And it is conveniently located in campustown which means that you can just walk to nearby restaurants/bars. If I ever come back to Ames I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omahuone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Needing a place to stay for two days for our daughter’s college visit to ISU, we found Iowa House. What a blessing! We had never stayed at a B & B before and thought, based on other Trip Advisor reviews, we would give it a try - soooooo glad we did!!!Owners, Tana & Monte are the sweetest people as well as their staff, Vera and Sarah. If your arriving late, call ahead so arrangements can be made for your arrival - outer doors are locked and you will need a passcode to enter. A wonderful aroma greats you as you walk in to the cozy living room and dining area. Also greeting us on the buffet was a delightful chocolate cake and other crumpets as well as coffee, and a variety of tea’s, hot chocolate and even cider waiting to be consumed. All bedrooms are exquisitely decorated and extremely comfortable with a fresh sachet aroma I will never forget. Our two bedrooms were connected to our own bathroom that was very roomy and included a jacuzzi bathtub, which we used with the calming bath salts provided. (All bathrooms have these tubs - can’t get that at your run of the mill hotel). The beds were soft and very comfortable covered with what looked like handmade quilts (please take note of Tana’s mothers quilt hanging near an entrance - truly beautiful with a heartwarming history. The lower level Chapter Room contains a large HD TV, DVD player and places where the supplied family games could be played. No need for menu’s at breakfast. Tana and Monte provide a very filling breakfast and if your lucky to be there on a Sunday morning, a refreshing and tasty mimosa. It was also here at breakfast that we met some of the other guests. It felt like we were chatting with extended family. My husband and I spent a very relaxing afternoon after a very cold and windy ISU tour, just sitting in the living room in front of a fire reading. We overheard Vera helping other patrons with their dinner and evening plans, which I believe Iowa House helped them set up and get tickets. A better concierge you could not find anywhere. I informed my daughter that I really hoped she chose and was accepted at ISU, just so we could come back and stay here! I’m probably making a huge mistake saying all this as it will probably make getting a reservation difficult, but I can’t help it. They deserve it. I wish they would start a chain of these - No, on second thought - that would probably ruin it. Hope see you both soon!

Room Tip: Main level bedrooms are close to the kitchen and dining room, so if you need early morning quiet, ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamicor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
3.6 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
2.3 km away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iowa House Hotel - Ames? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iowa House Hotel - Ames

Address: 405 Hayward Ave, Ames, IA 50014-7300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ames
Price Range: ₹ 7,274 - ₹ 11,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iowa House Hotel - Ames 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the "Campustown" area of Ames, the Iowa House is just three blocks south of the central campus of Iowa State University. Built in 1924 as the Delta Chi Fraternity House, it was transformed by a massive 2008 renovation into a 15-room hotel meeting current health/safety standards and providing state-of-the-art amenities, spacious private baths, whirlpool tub and shower combinations, flat-screen TVs and complimentary high-speed internet. Included Iowa Country breakfast is served daily in the colorful dining room. Iowa House is popular for weekend getaways; ISU Parent visits; wedding groups; sorority, fraternity and family reunions; business meetings and small certification classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iowa House Hotel - Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iowa House Hotel - Ames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing