We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 130
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 141
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Altoona)(Great Value!)
US$ 110
US$ 105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 165
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 136
US$ 115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prairie Meadows Hotel(Altoona)
US$ 180
US$ 174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 150
US$ 141
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
67
46
21
22
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
46
21
22
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfort innnice staycontinental breakfastdes moinessausage gravynight's sleeprace track and casinobed was comfortablesnow stormwould stay here againhard boiled eggsneeded a place to stayearly checkcasino hotelindoor poolyogurtcookies
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2017

My wife was Ill when I made the reservation. I had to cancel the first reservation. Had a a very hard time with GET-A-ROOM. They finely conceted and said I had a refund coming. The second reservation was not used as my Wife was still very Ill. I tried to cancel, but GET-A-ROOM DENIED IT. They said according to the Terms and Condition, I just bought 2 days in a room I never used. Your folks were very nice. But GET-A-ROOM were very nasty. Will never use Your services and especially GET-A-ROOM. The most rudest people I have ever had to deal with in my 74 Years on this Earth.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbones42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

They are building a new Comfort Inn right next to the old one - Replacement or to augment the size?

We were pleasantly accommodated at check in and the room was comfortable. Many guests are here because of the amusement park and racing track nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneAddictedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great experience. Breakfast was delicious and the woman who checked me in was soooo nice! Beds were comfy, room was clean, and everything worked! Definitely would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

This hotel is clean and comfortable. The rooms have been updated in the past couple of years. The free breakfast is good and includes many hot choices. The room is small where you eat so that can be a challenge. The lobby is nice and big. There is a free shuttle to the casino/racetrack across the street. There are several good restaurants very close by. Downtown Des Moines is 15 min away.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank RRH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We were on our way home and found this an excellent location to lay our head and travel on the next day. the rooms are comfortable and beds very good. The bathroom is a bit small but clean. The service was excellent. the front staff was very friendly. Cookies were set out for customers. the breakfast was good with a good variety of items. The Prairie Meadowlands casino is right across the road. The hotel offers shuttle service to the casino. Construction is going on around and next to the hotel but it was quite. Their are several restaurants close by.

Room Tip: All rooms seam OK
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews