We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The manager is an [--]!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Aurora - Naperville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Aurora - Naperville
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Aurora
Davenport, Iowa, United States
1 review
“The manager is an [--]!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I took my girls to the Chicago area to enjoy the Mag. Mile and visit the Premium Outlet Mall. I had noticed on the outlet website that staying at this hotel would get a $50 gift card to spend at the outlet mall. When I called Candlewood to confirm this "perk," I was told that this was in fact something that they offered, so I booked a room. The online price for a suite was $75. and they confirmed this, so I booked the room. When I arrived that weekend, I was told that they no longer honored that deal. I spoke to the manager, John, who was a complete [--]. He was very arrogant and unaccommodating. He didn't care what I was told on the phone and in fact, called me a liar, telling me that he did not believe I was told anything about receiving a $50 gift card. He told me that he did have $50 gift cards for the outlet malls, and he would be happy to give me one, if I paid $135 a night (2) for my room. I asked him, "So, lets do the math....you are willing to "give" me a $50 gift card, if I spend and additional $60 a night?" he sneered at me and in a very condescending tone answered, "That's right!" My daughters and I checked out of the hotel and spent the $75 we saved by not staying at this hotel at the outlet mall and went home early.

The rooms were ok. Clean, but small and definately not worth more than $75 a night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Aurora - Naperville, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Bobbi W,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service (or quality) which was unacceptable. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    22
    4
    7
    8
See reviews for
28
14
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed here for fours nights while in town to visit family. What a great little find!! Very very clean and staff can not be more accommodating. Room was BIG with everything you could possibly need from dishes to coffee and even a laundry basket for the FREE laundry facility. I would recommend this hotel for everyone going into the aurora area. You cant rent or buy for these rates!!

Room Tip: Onebedroom suites are small apartments!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just got back from Chicago area yesterday and my Mom, myself and my 21 month old stayed here for 3 nights while visiting family. It was wonderful. We did have a 1 bedroom suite, which would only have been better if it was a King, but no complaints otherwise. It was clean, the staff was great, had a full kitchen (with extras like a pot, serving utensils, coffee condiments, etc.) I asked for a pack 'n' play to be provided and it was set up in the room when we arrived. It looked brand new, to my relief. They have one computer with a printer for boarding passes and the like in the lobby as well. I brought a DVD for my son hoping they'd have a player and they sure did. I saw a decent gym and should have used it! They also had laundry on site. There's a walking path around a pond on the backside of the property we did take advantage of (beautiful weather!) Oh, only one thing. . . I don't think we got any maid service the entire time. Obviously we aren't dirty people or this would have been a big issue!

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom is great if traveling with babies or for a little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAtravelgirl_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

They did not have the room we had reserved for our family on the day we arrived, and put us instead in single-bed smaller room with an air mattress (which was also against the fire code), promising us a "better than reserved" room the following day, to "make up" for our trouble.

But the next day, there came Lord Rodney Robinson, their Sales Director, who told us that we could NOT have the room that we were promised, as we were "not paying enough"...and of course, we were free to leave if we chose to do so. If you must stay there, talk to Chris, the GM and NOT to Rodney Robinson, who thinks he owns the hotel, even though he only a meager employee there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rambmohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed here the end of March- early April for a few weeks while relocating to a new home. This is a no frills extended stay - meaning you get housekeeping once a week. If you want/need anything in between then, you do the leg work. Like, I had to go to the front desk to get new towels, paper towels, toilet paper, etc. They do not have free breakfast and do not have any manager reception/light dinners. But, they do have FREE LAUNDRY!!!! There are some great thing and some thing that could be improved on. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. Biggest/best room they have and had an amazing rate since we are staying so long and were loyalty club members.

Pros:
Love the room set-up. I could let me daughter nap and be in the main room eating, watching TV, shower, etc without waking her.
Nice kitchenette (minus an oven - had 2 burner stove top and a top of the line microwave better than you will find in any house)
Had DVD player in the main room. You can check out videos at the front desk.
Comfortable beds and chairs and sofas.
Lots of room
The one light in the bathroom came on really low and then eventually would get brighter.
Fan in the bathroom.
Dishwasher and they provide the detergent.
FREE LAUNDRY! (Must bring your own detergent)
Very clean.
Quiet
Our gym was right next door, so we used that, but there is a very nice gym in the hotel.
Nice amount of storage space.

CONS:
What you get is what you get. We only had 4 spoons, 4 forks and 4 knives. So, I asked for more (since we eat 3 times a day - we would need more). They said there were none left in the hotel - but they gave me some plastic spoons. Uhhh......there are many other vacant rooms, go get a few from those rooms for me. Or, go buy more utensils.

Kind of a strange location for a hotel but it worked for us - right off 88.

Only 2 chairs to use at your table to eat. Had to use the office chair for the third person to eat. I asked for another dining chair - again - they had no more chairs for me. So, if you had 4 people in the room, one person must either sit on the table or stand to eat.

Didn't really have much of any outdoor area to play or sit. You can walk around the pond near the gym right behind it, though, and the church across the street has a nice playground - if they are not having service or pre-school, then you can use the playground (well, at least we did - don't let the church know)

OVERALL:
The people at the front were very nice and made us feel welcome. It's a new place and in very good condition.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jppalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago / Aurora
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aurora - Naperville
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Aurora North- Naperville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Meridian Park Suites Aurora
13.9 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Aurora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
4.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Chicago/Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Aurora - Naperville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Aurora - Naperville

Property: Candlewood Suites Aurora - Naperville
Address: 2625 W Sullivan Rd, Aurora, IL 60506-1483
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Aurora
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Aurora
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,217 - ₹ 8,758
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Aurora - Naperville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Aurora/Naperville, Illinois is the area s newest all suite hotel. Conveniently located adjacent to the high-tech corridor and I-88. If Aurora - Naperville is your destination for business, the hotel is located near Toyota, Hyundai, Dial Corporation and American Electric Power as well as many other Fortune 500 companies. We are also conveniently located only 45 miles from downtown Chicago and the states two major airport hubs Chicago O Hare (ORD) and Chicago Midway ( MDW) Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen and free high-speed Internet access . Check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the comfortable recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD players. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Candlewood Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items.Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, embrace the Midwest and stay with the best, Candlewood Suites, Aurora - Naperville! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Aurora - Naperville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Aurora - Naperville Hotel Aurora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing