We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Algonquin
Key Largo, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Most certainly the worst hotel stay of my life. Reserved a 2 room suite, presumably room being defined by wall and door so that my children could sleep quietly. Not so.

Dirty would be a strong word, but certainly not up to a major brand standard. Nasty crud in the ice bucket, and the furniture had never been moved for cleaning...if you have a 2 year old, you know how I found this out.

The pool was unsanitary. My local health department would have closed immediately as the floor drain was not visible. Instant violation.

We had an unbearable amount of noise from upstairs and all around late into the night. After calls to the front desk yielded no relief, I asked for the Manager On Duty. I was put on hold for 10 minutes and the same girl returned and informed me there was no Manager on Duty. Why it took her 10 minutes to figure that out, I am unsure. I asked when I would be able to speak with a manager, and she indicated Monday. It was Friday.

Unfortunately, it was Thanksgiving and there are not many other hotels close by, or I absolutely would have relocated. This is franchising at its worst.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyLargoKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    31
    16
    4
    11
See reviews for
48
8
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Customer service was absolutely horrible and extremely unaccomodating. Our room had wet stains on the sheets, hair and used soap in the bathtub. We were told there no managers on duty Friday through Monday and the attitude from the front desk was less than pleasant. Checked out of this hotel immediately and got a room elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwatts1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Algonquin hotels

Des Plaines, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We needed to stay in the Algonquin area overnight and this hotel was perfectly placed. Nothing fancy, it had all of the basis and a good staff. Nice, hot free breakfast and initial problems with phone in room were resolved quickly. Be warned, because of area sights and shopping places, many families with kids seem to stay here. We heard them running the halls but for the most part, the room was quiet. Overall, a fine small hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceeceerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

I don't have anything negative to say about this hotel - I was really happy with my stay here and didn't run into any of the problems previous reviewers have mentioned. This was one of the most friendly hotels I stayed at during my two-week business trip. The front desk clerk was so friendly and helpful, and greeted me with personality and humor that picked me up after day 8 of 10 on the road.

The room was clean and comfortable (your typical HIE set up). I didn't stay long enough for breakfast the next morning - I had an early morning meeting - so I can't comment on the availability of typical HIE products. But I slept well and was ready to go the next morning with no problems.

The hotel is located near a lot of good eateries. I kicked myself for not going to Giordanos which I passed by on the way in from the highway. There's a Borders nearby if you are a bookworm like me, and all sorts of chain resturants nearby (the closest was a Ruby Tuesday).

I'm very sensitive to cigarette smoke, and I didn't run into any issues with smoke at this hotel. I didn't even see people smoking in the front of the hotel. I also had no issues connecting to the internet, and was able to get quite a bit of work done online with no glitches or connection losses.

Maybe in the last few months since the last few negative reviews this place has gotten its act together, because like I said, I was quite comfortable here and would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraLovesZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2009

When we arrived the elevator was broken; when we went out for church at noon the elevator was broken. My eighty year old mother-in-law was made to wait at the desk for 15 min. to inquire as to whether or not her purse had been turned in while the desk clerk checked hotel guests out. What would it have taken to look under the desk for a purse? The air conditioner was so noisy you couldn't hear the tv; but you could hear a person snoring in the next room. We stayed two days - that will be the last two days we ever stay at a Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank IllinoisSue926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin
7.4 km away
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
#1 of 4 in Crystal Lake
273 reviews
7.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
7.5 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Crystal Lake
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
8.5 km away
Comfort Suites Elgin
16.2 km away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
Address: 2595 Bunker Hill Dr, Algonquin, IL 60102-9742 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Chicago Algonquin)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Algonquin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Algonquin
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,059 - ₹ 13,730
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago-Algonquin has re-launched with all new trademarks and amenities. As a recipient of InterContinental Hotels Group Renovation Award and J.D. Power and Associates Award for “Highest in Guest Satisfaction among midscale Hotel Chains” we are committed to excellence! You’ll find comfort and impeccable service at one of the most convenient locations in McHenry County. Contemporary furnishings and a friendly staff are eagerly awaiting your visit. Within walking distance are many great shops and restaurants including Colonial Café, Burnt Toast Restaurant, Buffalo Wild Wings, Algonquin Commons Shopping and more!The property features 86 rooms including Executive and Specialty Suites. Also featured is an indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. In the morning you’ll enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast full of hot and cold items making breakfast at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Algonquin the perfect way to start your day. Breakfast includes eggs, meat items, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices, made- to-order pancakes and our savory hot cinnamon rolls. For business or pleasure, we are the preferred place to stay when in McHenry County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago Algonquin Hotel Algonquin
Holiday Inn Algonquin
Algonquin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing