We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Mesa Falls
from US$ 300.00
More Info
from US$ 270.00
More Info
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
339
64
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
339
64
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scenic byway visitor center forest service island park short detour warm rice beautiful drive beautiful waterfall national forest viewing area well worth the visit the river ranger station picnic tables yellowstone rainbow furs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

One of the prettiest falls we have see during our visit to this region. Not too crowded.the trail from the parking lot isn’t bad

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Pgc5837
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

A beautiful peaceful view of the upper and lower falls! We continued down the By Way and hit the Cave Falls as well. Things we found by just getting out.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank betsyo420
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2021

It was about a one and a half hour drive from Idaho Falls. After a short walk down the path and stairs, the falls were quite a sight. Despite being at a low water level/flow, the rushing water made quite a roar and the mist made for a great rainbow. It is a well kept, easy to access area with a nice building filled with interesting examples of and explanations of the area and its wildlife. The lower falls are down stream and farther down in valley. Not sure if you can even hike down to it. But worth a stop to see. Just be aware that the sign for its location is across the highway from the entrance. On the entrance side is a sign identifying the entrance as a camping entry. Unnecessarily confusing. Nevertheless, the trip to both of the falls was certainly worth the time and effort.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2021

Awesome!

We tend to go to waterfalls all over the country. This one was definitely worth the drive from Jackson (about 2 hours).

Well done in terms of facilities and ease to get to. What's amazing on the Upper Falls are the platforms built so the public could get up close and personal with the site. Fantastic view and the power of the falls is amazing.

The whole park is very well done.

The Lower Falls require a very short walk. You can't get close to them, but some good areas to take some distance photos. Take some time to search for videos of people trying to kayak through the dishwasher of water that make up the Lower Falls. Its insantiy.

Definitely worth going back to again and again

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank jmsaathoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2021

Upper Mesa Falls is stunning. I don't know if we were there at the right time of day, but there was a very vibrant rainbow when we were there. We were there early in the day, about 9:30 a.m. There's a $5 fee to park. Make sure you have cash. The visitor center wasn't open during our visit. Perhaps because we were early. The lower falls is nice to see, but it's off in the distance. If you're short on time, skip the stop for the lower falls and head straight for the upper falls. Both overlooks are not far from the parking lot.

Date of experience: June 2021
1  Thank ontheroadagain65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews