We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property, friendly and capable staff, great service, good food - all you need!”
Review of Hotel Molokai

Hotel Molokai
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Molokai
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Description: The only hotel dining room on the island of Molokai. It is under new ownership and uses local, often organic food including fresh local fish and vegetables.
Restaurant details
Description: The only hotel dining room on the island of Molokai. It is under new ownership and uses local, often organic food including fresh local fish and vegetables.
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We found the the condo we rented was not as advertised and had to find a place to stay quickly. Luckily for us, the was one room left - oceanfront with a king bed and air conditioning! We were there 4 nights and enjoyed the time we were at the hotel. The food is great and reasonably priced and the service is good too. There is a gift shop with basic snacks, an activities desk, washer and dryers for hotel guests and a pool that is oceanfront. They provide beach chairs and beach towels and do everything ossicle to make your stay a great one. We highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CatherineL270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Aloha CatherineL270,

It give us great joy to read your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 4 night's stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Mahalo

Michael Drew
General Manager
808.553.5347
mdrew@hotelmolokai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017

This is not a huge fancy expensive resort, you're on the beautiful island of Molokai where life is simple and amazing! This cool little hotel fit us perfectly. The rooms were a little rustic with nice mini kitchens. The staff were AMAZING AND FRIENDLY, hands down!!! They have a van shuttle that was very helpful, we made sure to tip some cash because it was for free!!! You'll even get to talk story with the friendly local driver! The maids were amazing and so kind picking up after my messy dishes left everywhere, sorry and thanks!!! The restaurant is also currently closed, but no big deal, they gave us a nice list of places with details where to eat. We cooked in our room a lot though and it was perfect.

Remember, you're on Molokai, life is slow here, don't be super needy, smile, relax and enjoy this stress free location. We'll for sure stay here again!!!

One more note, the concierge desk said there were no kayak tours/rentals on island and tried to sell us on something else we didn't want to do. Later, 1/4 mile down the street we found "Molokai Outdoors" who does kayak tours/rentals. They are an amazing outfit and without kayaking, our adventures would of been a little slow. The kayaking got us out to where the BEAUTIFUL Molokai reef is. A kayaking trip is highly recommended!!!

Many mahalos to the amazing staff!!! A hui hou!

Thank ExploreKauaiScuba808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Aloha ExploreKauaiScuba808,

It gave me great joy to read your review - thank you! You have said it right- Molokai is truly simple and amazing. We are happy that you experience the wonderful Molokai Aloha our staff shares. We are hopeful to have our restaurant up and running this summer.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to beautiful Molokai.

Mahalo

Michael Drew
General Manager
808.553.5347
mdrew@hotelmolokai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

There are tons of other options that will support the community...choose those! In this way, you also get a truly cultural experience.

Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Aloha Rebecca S,

Thank you for posting a review. Please know that Hotel Molokai have always support the local community.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to be of service to you in the future.

Mahalo

Michael Drew
General Manager
808.553.5347
mdrew@hotelmolokai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This place is just magical. We couldn't wait to come back and enjoyed ourselves so much that we brought our friends with us this time. We really enjoyed our room, the hammocks were right outside our door, the chickens were sweet (yes, chickens, they're everywhere, but don't bother anyone), and it was nice picking up plumeria flowers and using them to accent our room (and hair). Drew, the hotel manager, let us know that the next time we come back, there will be a new pool! There are upgrades in the works, but the pool for sure is going to be upgraded.

Thank Majickl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Aloha Majickl27,

I am please to hear that this was your second visit and you brought friends with you. Thank you for posting a review and for your kind comment about the staff. We look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Mahalo

Michael Drew
General Manager
808.553.5347
mdrew@hotelmolokai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

We are told the hotel's restaurant closed. Check with the hotel on what food is available. Apparently the restaurant was run by a separate group and they decided to move on. The restaurant location remains a gem so hopefully someone will step in and run it.

Thank BobbieMac421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Aloha BobbieMac421,

Thank you for your review. We are hopeful to have the restaurant up and running in the very near future. You are absolutely correct, the location is a gem and the best there is on the island of Molokai.

We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Mahalo

Michael Drew
General Manager
808.553.5347
mdrew@hotelmolokai.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Molokai also viewed

 
Kaunakakai, Molokai
Kaunakakai, Molokai
 

Been to Hotel Molokai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing