We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Club
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We spent 9 nights at this hotel and loved it! The room is spacious. The kitchen is totally adequate. They provide dishwasher soap, dish soap and coffee. There is a large frying pan, toaster and blender. All appliances are top brands. We used the outside grills several times. There are lots of restaurants in the area. We ordered pizzas several times on site and they were good and priced fairly. We had 2 dinners at the poolside resaurant and it was fine. The grocery store across the street was great. Very convenient and had everything.
The bathroom is huge. A family of 4 can fit well for morning lotioning parties to music!
They rent movies on site and our kids enjoyed a movie every night.
Our view was fantastic and to us, the highlight! We enjoyed our morning coffee on the lanaii and were treated to whale watching.
The pool is very large and our kids had a great time swimming.
The grounds are lovely and they do a very nice job keeping everything clean.
We found boogy boards at the abc store in Lahaina for a very reasonable price. Our kids used these every day! Most of the time the boogy boarding in front of the resort was great. Some rocks washed up at the end of our time which made it unusable. You can just walk down the beach a bit and it is fine. Better yet, head to Napili Bay for fantastic boogy boarding!
All the staff we dealt with were very nice!
We travel a lot and have stayed at 5 star resorts. We are looking forward to returning to Kaanapali Beach Club!

Room Tip: Upgrade to partial oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank corkyMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    512
    201
    62
    41
See reviews for
443
572
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here on a timeshare exchange. This was the second of two Diamond Resorts we visited this trip, and its sales pitch was much more low-key than at the first resort. This time, immediately after check-in, we were sent to the Activity Desk. The rep was just as interested in selling tours as an "information" session and backed off immediately when we refused. Again, we were not thrilled at the idea of weary travelers being routed immediately to a sales desk, even if we were given a lei.

The unit (one-bedroom) was on the backside of the facility, facing the mountains. It seemed quieter than those facing the ocean because there was no poolside or entertainment noise. On the other hand, we missed seeing the water (though there were lookout points while walking the hallways/atrium).

The unit was obviously newly renovated--looked nice! Lots of granite, new paint and nice fixtures. Furniture was modern and new, though oddly impractical. For example, the very-comfy-looking couch's back cushions sagged terribly and dining chairs were heavy and unwieldy. There was only one closet, in the bedroom, and it was small considering it was the only place to hang clothes as well as store suitcases (unless you like your luggage in the rooms--and not even under the bed, where the space was too low). Bring your own hangers, because you will need more than those provided. (Of course, this is not unusual and we always bring our own.)

The bed was extremely comfortable. We always appreciate duvet-covered comforters, too, because they imply cleaning between guests.

The kitchenette was not adequate for cooking our meals. Though all utensils, serving ware and dishes were supplied, space to store non-perishable groceries was limited to one narrow cupboard. A large electric frypan was provided in lieu of a stovetop, but trying to make breakfast using it, the coffeepot and toaster was difficult because only one outlet was available. It would have made so much sense to have an outlet on the peninsula, too.

The bathroom was as good-looking as the rest of the unit, with plenty of supplies and a large tub and separate shower. There were two sinks, one in a lower-height vanity and a higher pedestal sink. It would have been nice to have a storage area, such as a mirrored medicine cabinet, over the pedestal sink because most items ended up at the vanity across the room. Again, an oddity--water did not always run hot (or even warm) in the unit; this was true for all faucets in the bathroom and kitchen. We received only cold water in the early mornings (granted we rise very early) and sometimes in the early evenings, no matter how long we ran the water. I wonder if this is an effort at conservation and, if so, why it wasn't mentioned somewhere. (We never did ask.)

Staff was friendly and helpful, both at the reception and food-service areas. Cleaning was excellent.

We only ate pizza and one buffet breakfast at the resort. Both were okay and not terribly expensive. Buffet breakfast, for example, was $15/person/day, reduced to $13/day if three or more days were purchased.

No-charge self-serve laundries were available on every other floor. We were able to use the one on our floor with no wait, both in the early evening and early morning.

A strip mall, with Java Jazz, a good, reasonable restaurant, was behind the resort within walking distance. The mall also contained a grocery store, water sports rental, Fedex shipping, and other restaurants and stores.

A public beach park was next to the resort, within reasonable walking distance. An extremely nice composite-material beach walkway, which led to a variety of beach sites as well as other hotels, was right there. Very nice for a morning walk (or run). On Fridays, a small craft fair is held right along the walkway, in front of the Westin.

We were, overall, pleased with Ka'anapali Beach Club.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FloridaPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington township mi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Kaanapali beach club is beautiful. The rooms are huge. A kitchenette, living area with pull out couch. A bedroom with 2 queens And a huge bathroom with a seperate shower and bath tub. There is plenty of living space in these rooms. The resort property is beautiful as well. Lots of ponds and koi fish. A few small waterfalls around the property As well. The pool is big, it even has a water slide. The hot tub is a little small though. I really enjoyed staying at this property. The staff was great and very friendly. Especialy the valet workers ( valet is complimentary). Overall this place was great. I would come here over and over again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alex5891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san ramon,ca
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Aloha spirit all during our Spring break trip. Wonderful, kind, friendly, helpful staff and super clean rooms, public spaces and pool area. Happy hour daily from 3-6. Great place downstairs for pool snacks including yummy fried Hawaiian chicken, smoothies, shaved ice, ect. Kids loved the pool slide (perfect for 5-11 year olds.) Scuba lessons offered, beach toys for rent/buy. We went cheap and got a mountain view room 231. We enjoyed the Maui Sunsets from many different places during our stay. Perfect for 2 adults and 1 teen on the pullout. Full fridge, dishwasher, nuke, and stocked with nice dishes, glasses (even wine) and BLENDER! The grocery store across street is WAY better than Safeway! We got a package deal (room, car,flight) from Pleasant Holidays at the last minute. DO NOT get sucked into their timeshare shpeal!! Book all your activites B4 you go and use AAA discounts, YELP ect. That way nothing will be sold out when you want to go. Only (-) does not have nice wide sandy beach or protected beach for swimming. Very strong currents. Rocky type sand, so wear beach shoes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelwithkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I enjoyed a week here with family 4.4-11.2011. There were 3 rooms, my folks, my brother, his wife and their 3 kids. It seemed that each room was in some state of update or redesign, mine was 100% completed. The other rooms were 50 - 75% upgraded. were were on the 5th floor, I was in room 516 and the view was very lovely - mostly ocean but a bit of parking lot and adjacent resort. The kitchenette is only missing a stove and oven - the extra large hot plated made great french toast and a vegetable saute. The bathroom was luxurious and I enjoyed several baths in the extra deep tub. the bedding on the king-sized bed was soft and I was tempted to buy a set - yes, they sell the bedding. Large balcony (lanai) with a few chairs and a lounger to enjoy the breezes. Hotel itself was just fine. We stayed by the pool and only ate pizza at the cafe once. The french fries are killer - everything else just meh. The kids played mini-golf. That space needs a desperate spruce but I'm certain it's on the list. I have no complaints other than possibly more frequent service at the pool. They discourage bringing your own cocktail down because, of course, they want to sell them to you... Pool and waterslide were good fun for the kids!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmk171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maui hotels
2.7 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,578 reviews
0.2 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
0.3 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.6 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.3 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Club

Property: Ka'anapali Beach Club
Address: 104 Kaanapali Shores Place, Maui, HI 96761
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Maui
#18 Spa Hotel in Maui
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Maui
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,069 - ₹ 45,820
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ka'anapali Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathtaking panorama awaits you at Ka'anapali Beach Club, a haven of a resort in a land that has perfected beauty. Located on Maui's western shore, Ka'anapali Beach Club promises to be one of the highlights of your chance of a lifetime getaway to Hawaii. If you're going to do Hawaii, you should do it right. By planning your stay at Ka'anapali Beach Club, you are creating the vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Anapali Beach Club Hotel Maui
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Ka Anapali Beach Resort
Embassy Suites Maui Hawaii
Kaanapali Beach Club Maui
Ka'Anapali Beach Club Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing