We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“depends on where you stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Bloomington, IN
663
Reviewed 16 March 2005

as advertised the hotel has three different types of rooms. They have tower rooms, pool rooms and other rooms which are a bit old. At first the hotel is a jumble to figure out, but we quickly got the hang of it. The staff were super nice and went out of their way to be helpful. For example I needed a few copies and the front desk staff made them with problem or cost. The pool was a really cold, so we spent most of our time in the hot tub instead. Looked like a lot of remodeling going on. Right next to downtown Athens and UGA. We didn't mind our room because we got a great rate, but I can see other people being a little shocked by the differences between the rooms (tower rooms are nicer).

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 344 of 351 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
valdosta
11
Reviewed 5 December 2004

I have nothing but nice things to say for the HI-Athen, Ga. The staff and rooms were excellent, and for several stays, I really felt like I got my money's worth.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2004

I would've given this only two stars had the staff not been so friendly and helpful. Really great front desk staff who accommodated our big group and our requests for some last-minute changes with a smile. This hotel also has the best location in town, right across from downtown and campus. However, the hotel itself has really deteriorated in the last few years -- we were there in June and the air conditioning wasn't working in the halls and it was miserable. The whole building could really use some renovations.

1  Thank Oliviadawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
36
Reviewed 22 July 2004

I stayed here for several weeks for a training class in Athens. When I arrived the door to the room was open and they were trying to air out the room. Apparently, someone 'had too much to drink' the weekend before and had vomited all over the carpet. What a welcome! Local calls were not free, no convenient vending, no breakfast, loud noise from bars and traffic...This is the first time I felt compelled to sleep on top of the sheets because of how disgusting they were. Hair in the tub, toilet, sink, bathroom floor? I would never stay in this hotel again. Never.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 January 2005

In reference to the review of July 22, 2004, as manager of the hotel in question it is difficult for me to believe that this person actually stayed at our property. I do not say this lightly but rather in recognition of three specific items that were pointed out that do not seem to physically match our hotel. First, we have 14 Coke machines and 12 snack machines in our hotel. Secondly, local calls have been free for the past 10 years. Finally, our restaurant serves breakfast every day of the year, as well as room service is availbale. As for the other generic items pointed out by this reviewer, they can not be definitively disputed except in the general sense that our hotel is consistently rated by our guests as among the best in the Holiday Inn system. In conclusion I would invite this reviewer, or anyone else, to come on a room inspection tour. Our property is maintained to the highest standards and we take exceptional pride in our employees and property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Estuvimos dos veces en el hotel, debido al acceso me pareció más cómoda la habitación de la torre 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
3.1 km away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#4 of 23 in Athens
494 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
767 reviews
2.1 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
3.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Athens, GA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Athens-University Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Address: 197 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: ₹ 6,433 - ₹ 10,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Athens-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Athens. Located on the corner of Broad and Lumpkin Streets in downtown Athens hotel, travelers will appreciate the hometown feel of this historic city as well as the more than forty dining and lounge options nearby. We are also in easy walking distance from the University of Georgia and only a four-mile drive from Ben Epps Regional Airport.This Athens hotel has two on-site fitness facilities to help you maintain your exercise regimen. Enjoy a swim year-round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work or browse the web in our complimentary business center. Our Ginkgo Tree Restaurant & Lounge serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, offering tasty Southern cuisine including breakfast and lunch buffets with multiple options. For your convenience, we offer in-room dining, or visit our lounge to unwind and experience our nightly drink specials.Our event space and outstanding services make Holiday Inn Hotel Athens the Preferred Meeting Place. Our superior meeting staff coordinates your successful event down to the last detail, which makes us the favorite wedding, conference, banquet, military, reunion, and convention planners in the area.Businesses near hotel: Carrier, Certainteed, Weyehaeuser, Eaton CorporationAttractions near hotel: The Classic Center, State Botanical Gardens, Sanford Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area Hotel Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing