We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
106
228
116
58
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
228
116
58
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canopy tour hot springs cayos cochinos sunwing rep a la cartes city tour volcanic mud beach chairs bug spray sambo creek other countries all inclusive hotel smaller resort the entire resort nice resort relaxing vacation ping pong
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Very sad.
From the entrance the Hotel looked like it needed a make over.
1- room, bathroom cloged up with paint. TV are very small 13". Romote did not work. Staff did not replace remote.
2- Pools were so cloudy you could barely see the bottom.
3- Food: Breakfast okay. LUNCH and Dinner Horrible , notgood at all
4- The Bar: all cocktails were bad. The bartender actually told me that they do not have the time to prepare a proper drink. I actually asked the bartender to let me prepare my own drink. Cheap tequila, cheap rum, not using regular Coca-Cola they used sodas from a soda machine. Piña Colada was from a a cheap instant premix, did not use orange juice for the Tequila Sunrise drink. Just horrible.
4- The Snak bar: horrible.
The hotel only exists because it has a private beach

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
6  Thank 123abcLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Stayed at Palma Real end of February 2017. Overall it was a great trip.
Room:
The room was nice and always cleaned. Definitely try to get a room in the main area, it is closest to the pool, buffet and beach. A water bottle was provided everyday. There is a hammock on the balcony which was nice. Some reviews mentioned the TV not working or no remote. We never turned on the TV, you're on vacation enjoy the outdoors!

Food:
The food at the buffet was tasty and good quality. We had the choice of going to a hotel in Cuba or Palma Real and the food was by far better quality than in Cuba. The food was a bit repetitive, but the repeats were our favorites so we didn't mind. The soups were particularly delicious!

Pool/Beach:
The pool area was nice and clean, could always find chairs. It is a brown sand beach which makes the water a bit murky at the shore line. For most of the trip there were medium size waves, on our last 2 days the sea calmed down to soft waves, like swimming in a bathtub. Read the reviews about mosquitos and sand flies. The first night we arrived we decided to take a quick walk around the resort to check things out. After getting 1 mosquito bite for the rest of the trip we always sprayed ourselves with bug spray in the evening and when on the beach to avoid sand flies (that may have been overkill) but we never got bitten again.

Excursions:
La ceiba city tour was $15US. There is nothing much to see. The guide was really nice and explained the history well. The stops included and old pier site, a big tree that looked like male genitalia, a gift shop for souvenirs and a mall. If you want to get out of the resort go for it, but if it is a nice day and you'll be missing beach time, I would stay at the resort. If you really want to get little souvenirs, this is pretty much the only opportunity to get them.

Pico Bonito National Park ~$75US this was great. You go on a guided hike, through the national park. It is not too strenuous. The guide was excellent and pointed out the different bird species, trees, ecosystems, we even came across a poisonous coral snake along the path (we were safe). We stopped to swim at the bottom of a little water fall. The trip included lunch at the restaurant at the Pico Bonito resort on site. 3 course excellent meal, everyone enjoyed it. No drinks included though. The tour ended at the serpentry and the butterfly farm which was beautiful being surround by so many butterflies.

Roatan: we didn't do the roatan tour with the hotel which was $150US for a day trip including airfair. We booked our own trip, took the ferry which was $60US round trip it is about 1h45min trip. It was nice taking the ferry and being out on the water. Roatan was beautiful we stayed in West End, Half Moon Bay area for 2 nights. You can get a nice hotel room for $60 US a night in this area. Roatan is a completly different vibe, more lively, more touristic, you can walk safely anywhere along the main stip, many great restaurants well priced and a lot of great night life. Roatan is where you will get the white sandy beaches and crystal blue waters.

Wi-Fi: wifi was a bit spotty strongest in the lobby, beach bar and buffet area, but could sometimes get a strong connection in the room.

Overall it was a great trip

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank lalena88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We stayed here one night with a group of 50 plus. The property looked nice and well maintained on our arrival. Check in was a little slow, but we were a large group. Once we found our room at the main property and settled in it was nice. The meals are buffet style and were ok. Nothing special, but met our needs.

Our group returned for 2 more nights at the end of our week (Friday and Saturday) and things got progressively worse. First our group was separate at two different locations. The main campus was nice, but we were shuttled by tracker to an off the main property location. This was a much older facility and not up to the standards of the main buildings. When we finally found our room there were two double beds. The first bed sagged almost to the floor and the 2nd bed was wet from a leaky roof and the sheets looked like mold was on them. Our A/C did not really work very well and there were bugs, lizards and spiders in our room as well as others in our group. No wonder there was bugs when we looked at the front door there was a huge crack down the middle. There is no communications at this property. No phone or Wi-Fi. We also did not have hot water the entire 2 days.

We gave this property an average for the main campus, but the off site facility was terrible.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room on the main campus and not offsite.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank pmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Booked a 2-night stay here as part of a mission trip excursion. Based on experiences elsewhere in Latin America, Palma Real Resort is okay. The staff at front desk were ridiculously unfriendly. The guest rooms are nice, but the bathrooms not as clean as you would expect for "resort" status accommodations. The a/c worked great and stayed on continually, which rarely happens in a developing country. The food is very good but if you've stayed at all-inclusive resorts elsewhere, you may be disappointed in the lack of variety. The grounds and pools are lovely. Unlimited drinks and the snack bar are nice. For the price per person, this resort needs to research resort standards in other countries.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have sliding door with patio poolside in some buildings.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank KarleneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

My wife and stayed here for just one night and had a nice stay. For the price, you can't beat what you get. We paid a little over $100 and breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffet was included. Not sure how they make a profit for that price. The rooms need renovations as everything is pretty old and outdated, but the pools, and grounds were very nice. Mini golf, ping pong, and poll table available. The food was decent all buffet all inclusive. Drinks also.. again, how they make a profit I don't know... the beach was clean, the pools were nice and there really wasn't too many guests. It was a nice relaxing little vacation. I'd go back again for a night or two.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews