We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
270
122
40
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
122
40
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool no elevator archaeological site hotel is located central american standards buffet breakfast tour group hedman alas two nights air conditioning la ceiba colonial style hot water enjoyed my stay ruins town maya
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Checked into the hotel after a LOOOOONG bus ride from La Ceiba on hedman alas. (Read My Review On Them)
The front desk was supremely helpful and my room was cleaned and ready upon my arrival.
After a quick rinse, I took a walk around the property and found it to be beautiful with plenty of picture opportunities of the surrounding landscape and tastefully maintained artwork.
Along with the room being clean, the grounds were in great condition. The grass neatly chopped, the pool clean, and the floors/walkways swept and mopped. I was very impressed to even see a fresh coat of paint being applied to the entire exterior surface. In the tropical climate it is a constant battle to keep things looking fresh and clean.
The restaurant is superb and breakfast is included with your stay. Not a continental breakfast like in the states, with a sorry looking ego waffle, and a piece of fruit from the Reagan administration years, but a real breakfast with a menu and everything.
The bar is also a great place to hang out and enjoy conversation. The bar tender was an amazing fellow that answered all my questions and provided great local insight and advice on what to see and do while in copan. He can also make an outstanding Old Fashioned with BlackBerry.
So overall... friendly and helpful staff members, clean room with COLD air conditioning, great food and drink, AND a pool.
Great stay and highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank mikeseger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion C, Gerente at Clarion Copan Ruinas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Good night Mr/Mrs.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are more than pleasure to continue serving you every time you visit Copan.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

My room was very, very tired. However, it did have a hairdryer and ironing board, which is more than a lot of hotels in Central America. The bathroom was well lit, which is helpful for putting on your makeup. The swimming pool was also a nice treat after a hot tropical day. The restaurant? Not so much. Dried out chicken. Breakfast was better. However, the star of the place is the bar. The mixed drinks with name brands were $3.00! Wine was $6.00 for a glass, and not very good, so I'd stick with the hard stuff. An excellent bartender...what a surprise.

The second night, a busload of high school kids checked in and I was a bit worried, but they weren't rowdy at all. The hotel is located in a quiet setting that was quite pleasant.

Room tip: I think every location is quiet unless you happen to have a noisy neighbor.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion C, Gerente at Clarion Copan Ruinas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the time taken in letting us know your opinion. We regret what happened, we hope to serve you in the best way your next visit and make your stay pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

The surroundings of this hotel very near the Copan Mayan temple site are excellent. Well maintained grades and lawns with stunning views and a hammock. The room was comfortable but the hot water was poor and the shower dreadful. The main meal was cold and unappetizing although the buffet breakfast was very good.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank djne11026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Stayed here with a tour group and it was their second choice after the Marina so I did not have high hopes. It is actually quite nice, two levels around a pool courtyard. We had two dinners at the restaurant and they were very good. Huge portions especially the desserts. The restaurant service was friendly but slow even by Central American standards. The bathroom was somewhat dated, but everything worked. Check in and out for the group was smooth.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PaulKapsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel was a surprise since it says Clarion. Not like any Clarion in the US! It was a real treat and close to the Copan ruins and McCaw Mountain. Just a delightful stay. Wasn't too thrilled with food choices, but the hotel ambience was delightful.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jann1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews