We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
175
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to staybest hotel on the islandminute walkthe main streethot watercomfortable bedsneedle fishwater accesswrap around decktuk tuk ridegreat hostsevery aspectspotted eagle rayslaid backthelmamicrowavebay
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2017

The owners; Oneil Thelma treat you like family. The hotel sits on the edge of the water over looking the bay. The property is very well maintained. The rooms surpass Hilton standards for cleanliness.The rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, plates and silverware. This is a very safe place to stay. This place sits back from the road, this is a real benefit. Many of the hotels sit next to the street,which is a real problem with all of the motorcycles and ATV driving by on the main street in town. One of the better restaurants in town is a 2 minute walk from the property.I'm sitting on the porch outside our room enjoying a warm breeze;taking in the incredible view as I write this.

Room Tip: Ask for the water side of the property
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank frequenttravelerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Thelma and O'neill was super friendly and took good care of us. Rooms were clean and quiet. Location was also good and restaurants were close. It is worth of money for sure. If we come back to Utila we know where we are staying.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JaniS485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

The Lighthouse is by far the best hotel on the island of Utila. It gets the 100% Q-S-C-RP factor. Quiet, Safe, Clean, and Reasonably Priced. There is nothing better in this world to lay on a hammock and watch the sunset. The Boddens are wonderful hosts, and have a lot of information to share about the island.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TawasTawas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Having stayed at a couple places in Utila the Light House is right on top with any other hotel in Utila. Nice up to date well kept clean rooms.The owner is very nice and is a fountain of information about anything Utila. Definitely would recommend the Light House. If you are looking for a luxury house to stay in for Twice the cost you can, but who wants to spend your time in a house in paradise! Save your money for Rum and Skid Row T-shirts.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have a water view but the rooms facing the open ocean are best.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank carl_krieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I spent 6 nights at The Lighthouse while in Utila for diving. I can't recommend staying here enough!! Rooms are very clean (and cleaned daily) with great views, great location, hot water, A/C, and hammocks. Can't ask for much more. The location was perfect for me because it's just a few feet from Alton's Dive Center on one side, and a 5 minute walk to Bando Beach on the other side. Thelma was extremely helpful and informative, which I appreciated very much. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kaley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews