We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
81
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
7
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower hummingbird house beautiful mangrove happy place big family frozen mojito food drinks sand flies sized bed would recommend this place to anyone boat driver our honeymoon tuk tuk making sure take care cbv olga
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2016

A group of 7 of us stayed in the 10 person house and had a great time. The house and service were awesome (Breakfast brought daily). Coral beach Village itself is quiet and relaxing and the staff there are very friendly and helpful. Special shoutout to Josue!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Nice and Quiet, Service is excellent with all staff very friendly and all speak English very well. Anything we needed they set up for us. We loved our week long stay here and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2016

We stayed in the Hummingbird cottage which is basically a brand new one bedroom home. Loved the outdoor shower and screened in porch. It's not right on the ocean but you do have a lovely view from the porch and inside the home - the side of the home faces another house. It's an easy walk to the boat dock and also to Neptune's. We ran a tab and settled up at the end of our stay. Make sure to bring toiletries as they are in the midst of opening a gift shop but it's not completed yet. I asked for something and it was delivered personally by Jen to my house in about an hour. You can't beat service like that! Tino did an excellent job teaching me how to scuba from shore. I was terribly afraid and he made it so easy that I felt like I'd known him forever. Joshua was at our beck and call anytime we needed anything. We ended up having to leave a day early and Brooke even assisted with getting us a charter out. Again - going above and beyond. Great smoothies and drinks. It's island time so remember to relax and don't be in a rush for food. They make everything from scratch and a good cook knows that takes time.

The boat to town leaves several times a day and then you can either walk about a half mile into town on a dirt road or ask Joshua to call ahead and a tuk tuk meets you at the dock. The boat ride is about 10 minutes and very relaxing. In town is a variety of shops and restaurants to choose from. Bush's grocery has everything you could possibly need like sunscreen, toiletries and food. My husband and I used Denny Bush Jr. for a trip around the island by boat. He took us out snorkeling and then over to Pigeon Cay for lunch. My husband used Melvin for a fishing trip and came back with some snapper for dinner. All very reasonable trips. Not many places take credit cards other than Bush's grocery and Neptunes so they really do prefer US dollars or Lempira. You can easily exchange your US Dollars right at the airport. There is a guy in a bright orange safety vest with a wad of cash and he'll do it right when you are on your way out. You could go to the bank in town but the wait in line was about an hour so I was glad I used the guy at the airport. Also - get 100 denominations for Lempira. If you get the 500's and then try to give them to a cab driver they usually don't have change. The restaurants can usually take the 500's.

The house has a full size refrigerator and stove. You can easily make your own food. We had emailed a list to Brooke before we left. When we arrived it was all put away and we were set for the week. That was a huge plus for us! The wifi was pretty quick. We were even able to stream our sons basketball game and watch the Badgers on BTN. There were a few delays but we get that at home in Wisconsin!

The beds and pillows were all very comfortable. They have plenty of beach towels and soap as well as hair conditioner. No lotion though so bring your own.

The bedroom had it's own AC unit as did the living room. We never needed the living room one but did use the AC one at night and closed the bedroom door to keep any no seeums out. They come in through the screens so we assumed that's why there are not any screens in the bedroom windows. It's an island so you will get bugs. We tried OFF, cactus juice and also baby oil. Baby oil did the best job but unless you stay inside the whole time you are going to get bit. We had some aloe with lidocane and that really worked on stopping the itch one you already had a bite. They do fog for mosquitoes but we honestly didn't see any. It was the tiny noseeums that are a pain.

Remember to bring hand sanitizer as you will need it when in town. I would also recommend bringing tissues in case you need to use the restroom. Not every restroom in town has toilet paper. Again - this is a very poor country so keep that in mind when visiting town. It's not super clean but we always felt safe. It was such a melting pot of culture. We heard more languages than we have ever heard on any vacation. It was fun to chat with people from different countries as some restaurants you share a table and also at the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mysharona1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

One of those cases where you are continually impressed. The resort staff was super accommodating and made us feel like we were the only guests. The rooms are clean, fresh and roomy. Neptune's is all you need for food and drink. The food was delicious and a great variety. The drinks well made and reasonable. In the same day, we left Denver and were jumping from the pier into the warm Caribbean sea. Getting from the airport to the resort was a breeze and a great initial view of the island. The resort is very well located to snorkeling. We simply expressed our wishes and the staff helped make it so. A quick boat ride and we were in some of the best snorkeling we had on our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

The Coral Beach village resort on Utila is on the southern coast of the island. To get there from the ferry dock, the hotel sends a tuc-tuc that brings you to another boat dock (be prepared for a bumpy road ;)). There, a boat shuttle from the hotel picks you up and brings you to the resort. If you want to leave the resort to dine/shop/party in the small city of the island you so again need to take the hotels boat shuttle and then walk 15-20 min or pay a tuc-tuc (2$ per person) to get back. There are 4-5 times a day when the boat shuttle leaves for free (last one at 5 pm), to get away/back on other times you have to pay (10$ on day time, 20$ in the "night" after 5:30 what I think is very expensive for the short distance).

So with this transfer situation and the only 4 cabins of the resort, you are more or less isolated once you arrived. But there are many guest that come for a day trip by boat and so hang out at the beach and in the restaurant.

The rooms are very nice - the nicest we have stayed during our 4 week trip - also the staff was very friendly! You also have reefs directly in front of the hotel and snorkeling gear was included in the room (breakfast was not by the way). So these are the positive things to say...

On the other side you have to deal with many many sand-flies at the very thin beach that doesn't have a nice smooth white sand as I expected in at the edge of the Caribic. Also there is much garbage in the water when the current slightly changes (brought in from the coasts of Honduras and other countries) what can make it an awful snorkeling experience and can be found all the way along the water. The food of the restaurant is ok - sandwiches are even good - but it is not the way we expected it to be after the many good reviews. But: it is more or less the only restaurant at the southern coast that allows you to eat at the beach. This is why so many people from Honduras mainland come here on their day trip, I guess.

In our opinion the price of 170$ per night is far too high for what you get. If the people there wouldn't have been so very friendly, I would rather give 3 stars than 4 in the review.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SinaHeider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews