We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
24
29
10
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
29
10
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive shopblue bayoufourth floorhotel restaurantmeet your needsbreakfast was includedsecond storyferry dockshore divethe air conditioningceiling fangolf carthot watertukhanslockrepellent
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great! Very nice people! The diving was magnificent! Very qualified instructors, very knowledgeable about the reef and safe and fun diving!!!
The food was pretty good. I love that there is a bar and a sun dock right on the water front!

Room Tip: It's about a 15-20 min walk into town, which is once for the exercise and not to be too close to the madness. Great snorkelling right off the dock!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 13CarlaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I were in Livingstone, Guatemala and found we could get to Utilia in a day: half hour by launch to Puerto Barrios, eight hours by shuttle bus to pier at La Cieba and an hour by catamaran to Utila. We read the reviews of Coral View and signed up for five days. Miss Tonya met us at the dock and took us to her hotel. We enjoyed it so much that we spent 11 days there. The cook was always ready for our orders and the fish was magnificent every night. We arranged for three snorkeling trips and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves the entire time. Miss Tonya made us feel as part of her family and was always delighted to join us in conversation. Birding in non-migration times is not terribly profitable on Utila but there was almost always a Canivet's Emerald hanging about the hummingbird feeder. The folks doing the scuba course got a great view of a 25' Whale Shark while we were there and got within 10' of it. It was a most valuable and delightful time and we might return some day.
Reed and Elaine Cundiff

Room Tip: We were on second floor overlooking the "street". Since Coral View is at the end of the main island, there was very little traffic other than tuk-tuks during the day and it was extremely quiet. The maid service was excellent
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at the Coral View Beach resort in january 2014. Rainy season was late and weather was not all that good. I am a scuba dive, so I did a dozen of dives. My girlfriend is not, she had a hard time, she was hoping for sun and sand. She didn't get much of each. There is nothing that feels like a beach, only stairs at the end of the dock to go snorkeling on the reef, which is great.
The room......our room was the one called the PENTHOUSE, I figured it was going to be the best room in the place. That room need an urgent refresh, the mattress is good for the garbagge, the linnens are so worn out the you can see through them, the bug screens are thorn off, when there is one on a window. The closing mecanism on the windows are not functional, the window in the bathroom doesn't close. My girlfriend was eaten by sand flies inside the room, and one night a big cockroach invited itself in.
The people there are very nice, very good service all around, from the cleaning lady, the cook, the hostess (miss Tonya) That is why this review is hard to write.
We had a problem going back. The resort had arranged for a transport that never showed up so we missed the ferry. Tonya arranged for a private plane to pick us up and take us to LaCeiba so we could catch our flight back.
In conclusion, the people are great, the hotel is not so hot. GUYS.....don't take princess there, you ll hear about it for a while.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugues D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I spent 8 days at the Coral View Beach Resort in March of 2013 along with a few other friends of ours. We enjoyed it so much that we're going back in 2015, despite the fact that neither one of us speak a word of Spanish! (Just about everyone on the island speaks English though, so it's not an issue.)

The rooms are a bit spartan, to be sure, but anyone expecting "Club-Med" accommodations in Honduras is out of their mind. (Especially at the incredibly affordable prices that this resort offers!) That being said, the rooms are usually finished with lots of solid wood paneling and flooring, and we thought that they were quite nice, if only a little bit rustic.

The pictures posted here on Trip Advisor are very accurate to what we saw during our stay, so have a look at those and you'll see what everyone is talking about. (Note that the dive-training pool near the beach was recently re-done with new decking, and a new beach area was added west of the dock, so these features may not be apparent in pictures taken prior to the summer of 2013 when the work was completed.)

The views from the rooms are great, whether you are on the ocean side or the lagoon side. Both offer a great view of the water, and you can always head out to the dock for an even closer look. (The dock out front is also a great place to watch the sunset, preferably with a drink in hand!)

The staff is amazingly friendly. After just a day or two, I felt as if I had re-connected with some long-lost relatives. Miss Tonya (the resort manager) is very sweet, and she went out of her way to cook special food for my wife and I, who are both diabetic, at no extra charge. When it was time to leave, it felt like we were losing a sister. Sounds hokey right? But really - I'm serious. They're just the sort of people you warm up to right away.

As for the people claiming bed bugs, this is absolutely not true. The problem is the sand flies (or sand gnats, as they are also known) and anyone who has spent any time at all in the Caribbean should be more than familiar with these little devils, since they are everywhere. (We even have them in South Carolina near the beaches in the hottest summer months.) They come out in the early dusk hours, but once the sun is down for good they aren't a problem.

That being said, if you aren't prepared for them, they will bite you, and they do leave red bumps that some inexperienced people might mistake for bed bugs. But no, it's just your typical sand flies that you'll find on any island in the Caribbean. Commercial bug repellent works somewhat, but the best defense seems to be just slathering on some skin lotion (like the famous Avon "Skin-so-soft") so that when they alight on your skin they basically drown in the lotion before they can bite you. Sounds strange, but it's what the locals do, and they weren't covered in bites like some of the tourists were.

For those of you who enjoy snorkeling or SCUBA-diving, this is quite possibly the best resort in the Caribbean to stay at. You can leave right from the dock, and within 50 feet you are on the reef surrounded by all kinds of fish and coral. You can actually see the reef from the observation deck at the end of the dock (above the bar). That reef encircles the entire island, and there are over 140 dive sites that are within a 15 minute boat ride from the resort. Diving is incredibly affordable at Coral View too.

Rich, Sara, and the rest of the cool folks at the dive shop are just as easy to get along with as the family that runs the resort. Whether you are an experienced diver or someone who has never been in the ocean before, they will make you feel relaxed and at ease. They are very professional, but they are also quite personable. They're the sort of people you'd want to meet up with after a day of diving over a beer and a good meal to chat about the days events. (Something which we did quite regularly!)

We had one guy in our group who had never even snorkeled before, and by the time he left he had his open water certification. (Despite the fact that he had no intention of doing so when he booked his trip.) They run the classes at your pace, so you don't feel pressured. As for my buddy, he's completely hooked now, and he also plans to return with us in 2015 to get some more diving in (and probably to get his advanced certification while he's there).

The diving is absolutely amazing in Utila. Whether you want wall-reefs, shallow drift-reefs, wrecks, night dives, or even cave, deep dive, and other advanced sites, the folks in the dive shop have you covered. (Rich has been a dive master for over a decade, and he really knows the area well.) One of the wrecks we dove was near the entrance to the harbor, and even though the keel sat at 92 feet, we could see the entire wreck from the surface. (How's that for water clarity?)

You will see an amazing variety of fish and coral. Spotted Eagle rays, Moray Eels, Sea Turtles, plus all varieties of Parrot Fish, Tangs, Wrasses, Trumpet Fish, Angel Fish, and too many others that I've already forgotten the names of are all in abundance on just about any reef you dive on, including the one right off the dock! And even in March, the water was warm enough that we probably didn't need the 3 mil shorty wetsuit we wore. (None of us wore anything more than a bathing suit when we snorkeled, and we never got cold.) Also, all of our gear was supplied by Rich at the dive shop, and we didn't have any equipment issues at all.

If you plan to do any diving or snorkeling, be sure to bring an underwater camera! A GoPro works great, but there are other options too. You'll want to have something to record your experiences though, because you'll never see diving like this anywhere else.

In conclusion, the Coral View Beach Resort is a wonderful little gem that's tucked away on the west end of Utila. Their prices are very affordable, their staff is friendly and helpful, the views of the ocean are breathtaking, and the dive shop is staffed with first-rate people who will make sure you enjoy every minute in the water. And if by some strange coincidence you happen to be interested in laser light shows, mention this fact to Rich at the dive shop and maybe he'll show you one of his cool laser projectors! Quite the amazing fellow, Rich is!

As for me, I can't wait to go back... 14 months and counting!

Room Tip: Upper-deck rooms are quieter and have better views, but even the ground floor rooms are very quiet. Only sound you might hear is a passing tuk-tuk once in a great while. (Resort is at the far west end of the road, past the beach, so there isn't much traffic at all.)
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Coral View during NYE 2013-2014 week and we really enjoyed our time there, from the service to the location and the food... everything was excellent! So I'll break it down for you:

THE GOOD
- The service was really nice, Miss Tonya (hope to spell it right) and the girls (I remember Karen) were at the counter and they were very happy and helpful and always made us feel like home.
- The location was perfect, right by the side of the coral reef; far enough from town to avoid the noise but also close enough to get there on a bike in less than 15 minutes. Is also very close to Chepes Beach (about 10 minutes walk).
- The rooms are very clean and have AC, the beds are nice and you have a bathroom with plenty of hot water. We had a view of the lagoon but there are other rooms with a sea view.
- The Bar is beautiful and very relaxing, located at the end of the dock is perfect for tanning and chilling with a nice cold beer at very reasonable prices. (Hellen, the bar tender, is a sweetheart and can help you with advice of what to do and how to get around the island)
- The diving was amazing! even with only a snorkel you can see every kind of colorful fish and coral right by the side of the docks...tons of fun! and for those more experienced divers there is also a 120ft drop right ahead... simply marvelous!

THE NOT SO GOOD:
- The bar closes too early (about 19:00) and you have to go to Chepe's Beach for a beer.
- The swimming pool is nice but is salty so is kind of pointless if you have such a beautiful sea to swim right beside.
- Even with the clean rooms and the mosquito net in every window you can have a little problem with the sand fleas, repellent can come in handy. (is not that bad... they really don't disturb your sleep).

So that's about it... The place is ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL, you'll enjoy going there no matter what you're looking for! :)

Room Tip: Miss Tonya can exchange you'd Dollars to Lemps with a very fair exchange rate.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NetinBoesche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews