We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Utila Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sea Eye Resort(Utila)(Great Value!)
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Colibri Hill Resort(Utila)(Great Value!)
US$ 89
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 99
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 143
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mar Azul(La Ceiba)
US$ 40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Utopia Village(Utila)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
132
27
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
27
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen anndive masterboat captainfishbuffet stylewhale sharksdive tripdive sitesbay islands college of divingresearch centerdive collegechicken fajitasthe kitchen staffoctopusdeliver coffeebig stormchicken in coconut milk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just got back from a week at Utila Lodge, we had a nice time. The rooms are built right on the dock, so no sand fleas or no-see-um bugs. Rooms are clean and well maintained, with nice warm showers after a day of diving. Rooms have plenty of space for 2 people, or a family of 4. No mini frig, no hair dryer, no iron, but this is not a 5 star hotel. This is a comfortable, friendly, relaxed place for divers.
A little farther down the doc is the main hall and office. Clean large tables with a buffet area connected. 3 meals served each day. Food was fine, do not expect anything fancy, but lots of food for hungry divers. They will cook separated meals for vegetarians and vegans. Water and ice-tea are served with every meal, coffee with breakfast. I was not a fan of the brand of coffee served. (No one in our group liked the coffee). If you want something more to drink the bar is just a few yards away on the dock and you can purchase soda, beer, or alcohol.
A small convenience store is just across the street from the entrance to the lodge. (If you want a certain brand of beer or soda they might just have it). The little store is open until 10pm, if you need any personal items or if you need a little snack like ice-cream before bed.
Swimming, snorkeling, sunbathing, or just relaxing at the end of the dock is wonderful. (We packed blowup floating chairs and relaxed in the water after diving). Some of us actually fell asleep under the dock while floating.
The dive boat was nice and large enough for our group of 15. Captain Albert (a native of Utila) was very friendly and informative gentleman. He was always aware of where we were. Divemasters Chris and Titianna were always trying to find interesting things to show us like seahorses! We did not see whale sharks but we did jump in and swim with a pod of dolphins who hung out with us a few minutes. That was awesome! The diving was good.
We flew in from Roatan which was a bit expensive. We took the ferry back, it was cheep but a bit windy and rough. If you get sea sick easily you might not like the ferry. We walked around the the little town and found the locals to be friendly and diverse. Check out the bar/restaurant Jade Seahorse, its wild.

Room Tip: They have rooms upstairs and on the dock level. If you have a bum knee or something like that request a room on dock level.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divepointcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

During the orientation by the manager we were asked if we would like coffee brought to our room before breakfast in the morning. If so, what time would you like it and how do you take it? That’s a first for me!

Room Tip: I love being able to leave the A/C off, ceiling fan on and double porch doors open for fresh air and the sound of the surf all night.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingUtila, Marketing Coordinator at Utila Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Coffee is a morning essential and that is something we firmly stand by here at Utila Lodge! We are so happy to hear that Marley made you feel welcome and that your needs were addressed!

~Aly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Neat setting, Great to watch the rays come into the dock each night to feed. Great dive boat and dive masters. Good place for family divers.Food was generally good. Reasonable pricing and no NOSEEUMS because the resort was on the water and not the sand.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smy727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingUtila, Marketing Coordinator at Utila Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Our Lodge being set over the water is definitely a highlight as we hardly have any bugs and you get the joy of watching the rays off of the dock each night! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

~Aly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Everything was amazing!! The staff, the food and the rooms were all first rate. Kisty has a really nice set up. The dive boat and staff were good and very accommodating. The diving and visibility were just OK. High winds all week restricted dive sites and affected visibility. The island is delightful! The people, food and hospitality in town put a smile on your face!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertgU3173LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingUtila, Marketing Coordinator at Utila Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey Robert,

We are sorry that the diving conditions didn't line up perfectly with your stay, but it is the ocean and we are thus at the mercy of Neptune. However, we are so glad to hear that our staff and accommodations made you feel so welcome!

~Aly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We stayed here last week Mar 3-10 with a group of 12 divers. The lodge staff was outstanding and went out of their way to take care of our needs- Marley, Sean, Queen Ann, and Maddie (sp) really stood out. Kisty (the owner) was extra helpful and spent lots of time with us.
The Dive crew- Chris, Albert, and Tatiana were exceptional (and Albert had us laughing the whole time) We got to see a whale shark (yay!!) and the diving was interesting and fun- most of us made all 17 dives. Having 2 divemasters with us for all dives was very helpful for leading tours and for problem solving as we had a couple of brand new divers with us.
The food is what your mama would make- it was good and there was plenty of it. There was many washtanks and storage/drying areas for our gear. It never felt crowded and although there were other dive customers at the lodge from the college of diving next door, the lodge guests came first for everything. They deliver coffee to your room every morning and rang the dinner bell for every meal (I was spoiled on that one) The parrot and pool table provided hours of entertainment for us :-). The rooms are comfortable and large- the beds a bit firmer than i'm used to but after a full day of diving i slept hard anyway.
We went into town a couple of times and it felt safe. Most people speak English to some degree so that really wasn't an issue. Most places can be reached on foot within a few minutes so there's really no need to rent a vehicle.

When we arrived at San Pedro Sula, one of our customer's scuba luggage had been misplaced by the airline so when we got to the lodge, they arranged for our diver to use some of their gear and they made some phone calls and got the luggage brought over to the island when it arrived and they picked it up for him- they went way out of their way to ensure that he had minimal interruptions to his vacation. We appreciated that!

We will definitely return here in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diveshop2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingUtila, Marketing Coordinator at Utila Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hey Rebecca,

Thanks for bringing your crew down to Utila Lodge! We had an awesome week with The Dive Shop! We are super glad we got to get you in the water with a Whale Shark so late in the trip, but even without the Whale Shark we know it would have been a trip to remember for you.

Thanks again for diving with us we really hope you decide to bring another group down sometime in the future!

-Sean Mac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews