We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Want to return as soon as possible”
other travellers have booked this property
Utila's The Gardens at Jerico
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Utila's The Gardens at Jerico
Upscale Beds and 400ct Egyptian Cotton Sheets Original Artwork
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Utila's The Gardens at Jerico
Upscale Beds and 400ct Egyptian Cotton Sheets
Original Artwork
US Imported Appliances and all amenities
Spacious Great Room
Ceramic Tile and Hot Water Throughout!
Each Unit has a Private Deck with table and chairs
The Gardens Support Local Art
The Cottage at The Gardens is a perfect romantic get-a-way for couples
INTRODUCING OUR NEWEST COTTAGE!!!
The Cottage is compact, but has everything you could possibly need!
The Cottage is perfect for couple wanting privacy, intimacy, and comfort
Comfort, privacy and cool breezes
Private Balcony/Deck with each unit
Outdoor seating/study area complete with WiFi coverage
Grass and banana trees abound
Country side views, The Gardens is not cramped  for space!
The Gardens prizes its flowers
Bananas from our gardens are free to our guests as they ripen!
Let The Gardens be your home-a-way from home on Utila! Come and join us!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Utila, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeff S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Want to return as soon as possible”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Since my girlfriend did most of the planning for our trip, I never read much of the description of the Gardens on the TripAdvisor page. However it doesn't surprise me in the least looking now to write this review and seeing The Gardens as the winner of "the Excellence Award and a Top Rental Award from TripAdvisor and FlipKey."

Tony and Jo, how wonderful you are. I don't consider us very travel inept, but getting to Utila can be somewhat difficult if trying to do it cheaply and efficiently. They basically made our trip possible, with the organizing of both the cheap boat there from Roatan ($50), and the much quicker and enjoyable flight back to Roatan ($75). If you can get the flight, I would highly recommend it. Sure you could take a ferry that has a stopover in La Ceiba, but we were looking to go direct from Roatan to Utila and vice versa.

The property is extremely clean and comfortable. Has all the amenities, and added bonus services too (laundry, etc). Utila is small, so walking around is very easy, and Tuk Tuks are a great resource as well. There is a soccer field/stadium pretty much across the street which has some really fun games on Sundays. Some great restaurants and cafes are very nearby - and Tony and Jo will have plenty of recommendations for you if you want to venture further.

We spent more time in Roatan before arriving, but really wish we could have extended our stay in Utila at The Gardens. The small community feel is excellent, everyone is really friendly, and the price is right. All I can say again is thank you Tony and Jo for all your help, and letting us stay with you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lucky Strike”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We managed to get the apartment thanks to someone cancelling and it was clear our luck was in. Tony and Jo are great, on hand whenever we needed them and the apartment itself was clean and homely. We stayed for six nights and loved it. I'll definitely come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
We were so pleased to have been able to fit you girls in~ Sometimes a last minute cancellation turns out for the best, and you were certainly that! We're pleased that you found the homelike atmosphere to your liking, and we look forward to seeing you again when you're making your way back northward!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie A
Jersey, null, Jersey
1 review
“Second home!”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed the gardens with my mum. Amazing place to stay, clean, comfortable, welcoming.
Fully furnished, well equipped kitchen meant we could enjoy the apartment like it was our own home.
The owners are great, so helpful with everything that we asked, and organising activities for us.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“feels like a second home”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed with another befriended couple for 2 weeks in the gardens in two of the upperfloor appartments. the appartments are pretty nice, clean and comfortable furnished. the well equiped kitchen offers you to cook by yourself, what we did a few times. we spend a lot of time on the veranda, reading, having dinner or playing games. there's always a pleasant breeze up there.
the appartments are away from the hustle and bustle but it's just a 5 minute walk to the city-center or 1 minute with the tuk tuk. perfect, if you want to party one day and relax the other.
the owners jo & tony helped us a lot with organizing the travelling over night from san pedro sula to utila and back. they have taken care of everything and left nothing to be desired.

the only disadvantage are the mosquitoes and sandflys all over the island, except the kays. we recommend to use "off" or something when leaving the appartment. the appartments itselfs are protected with mosquito mesh infront of the windows. also the AC in the bedrooms protect you from the little biests, they don't like it cold.

all in one, a wonderful vacation in a wonderful accommodation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mia L
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It felt like home...”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Tony and Jo don't just rent their property, the make you feel like you home. A couple so hospitable and warm! They picked us up from the ferry and showed us the island of Utila.The next day we had a wonderful trip to the Cayes with them and other tenants from the Gardens,it was like a family getaway, hot dogs on a deserted island is something unforgettable.Tony and Jo also arranged a Kayak trip with Steve through the mangroves and out into Turtle Bay,and helped us with advise about anything we asked!
Oh yeah, the property? :)
Booking our stay we got the quickest response with the most detailed answers and advice,so we knew everything about the Gardens AND Utila island way before we arrived,it was very helpful. The property is very clean and very well maintained( new microwave and stove,nice dishes,furniture,decor,purified water, and a real garden!) compared to other buildings on the island,if you are looking for apartment - long or short term -it's the best choice. It's located off the main street,which is a 10-15 minute walk,or less, - or a dollar taxi drive ( Tony and Jo were so kind to let us use one of their cell phones, we could call a taxi any time and it would arrive to the Gardens in 5 minutes) There are properties right on the main street,where all the action is,sounds attractive, but really, they didn't look nearly as clean and new as the Gardens,with its perfectly maintained territory, with all the appliances you need for cooking or just chilling, and a great price as well,so we were more than happy with our choice.Central America can be a very different experience compared to US but we did feel at home throughout our entire stay in Utila.
Thank you Tony and Jo, we'll see you next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanness,location, customer service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing