We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best option”
Review of BayView Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
BayView Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Utila B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2015

Found this on my second day on the island. I had spent the first day calling in and looking at as many "hotels' as I could find. First night I stayed at hotel Utila on recommendation of a friend then moved to Bay view for the next 3 nights. Everything good you read in reviews is true, great place to stay. The review about " being overcharged " I mentioned to the owners, they explained what occurred - there are always two sides to every story. I paid 45 Dollars a night for air con room, not the cheapest room in Utila but better than others I saw for 35 to 50. In all my reviews I like to give pros and cons. Like I say pros are all the good things you read about in other reviews. Cons are: no TV in room, no hot water in bathroom sink and lack of curtain or blind in bathroom, it didn't bother me but ladies may not feel comfortable about using bathroom when any guests walking past can see in. If I return to Utila for sure I would stay here again. Just a hint about staying in Bay Islands, if travelling by ferry do not buy a return ticket. Twice in one month I got caught out and the return ferry to La Ceiba did not run so I had to fly off Roatan and Utila and ferries do not refund unused tickets.

Room Tip: Room 18 has balcony. Other rooms, check to see if passing guests can see in due to lack of curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank markallanwainwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

The room was clean and comfortable, in a convenient location that was about a block out of the busy part of town so the area stayed quiet. The family that ran the Hotel were very friendly, a pleasure to talk to. The A/C was a little undersized for the room, so it took a long time to cool. Overall, a comfortable place that I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, near the beach and the nightlife. A/C only cooled at night, but it's an island in the carribean, what do you expect? Best part is the deck and clean water, and has a view of the sea. Has shops nearby if you need anything. Went with 20 friends and didn't have a problem. The bathroom can be uncomfortable because of the location of the window.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank juan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The family ownrs there are lovely, so laid back. Rooms have nice, comfy bed/s and some have a fridge which is always a godsend. Shower was obe of the best ive had in ages.

A bit further away from town to avoid the main noise but not more than five mins walk to the centre.

Great outdoor area on the water to chill or jump in and have a swim.

Would recommend trying to ask for the rooms nearest the sea for obvious reasons. The one on the top right is really nice and only $30 a night.

It's just a shame there is no kitchen as we would still be staying there if they had.

Thanks again to dean (Patrick) and his lovely wife. You made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks, the room was clean and we had an Ocean view deck, which made it very special for us. We stayed here with family and friends, it is well located, not too far from the action, yet far enough away from the really noisy bars. Remy &Dean (his wife) are wonderful people, very nice and friendly. We had Remy take us to Water Cay twice for snorkeling. That was an experience not to be missed. We stayed in #18 and everything was great, including our own private geko! A/C was noisy, but I just pushed something against the wall to stop the vibration. The room is basic, but we loved it, the deck and our 2 weeks spent in Utila. Even though we had a tropical storm at the end.

Room Tip: We liked #18 it is the only one with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynG178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utila hotels
0 km away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0 km away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
80 reviews
0 km away
Coral View Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#4 of 8 in Utila
47 reviews
0 km away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
64 reviews
0 km away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 14 in Utila
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayView Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayView Hotel

Address: Waterfront, on the main street | Isla de la Bahia, Utila IB3103, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
BayView Hotel Utila, Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing