We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
181
38
8
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
38
8
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oak ridge great diving dive master lion fish sea life central america davit cocoa davey dives boat reef resort key cornhole dock paradise
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

A bunch of us went to celebrate a birthday and to dive. The staff was friendly and went beyond the call to make us all happy and comfortable. The diving was incredible and the dive master and boat captain were amazing keeping us happy and safe. The resort staff fed us and the food was very tasty, we definatly didn't go hungry. We all felt as is we were home after only a few hours after we arrived. The resort was clean and the beds firm and comfortable. Hats off to Davey and Keith for making our week such a memorable one. We will definatly be back!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kellyrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefhouseresort, neighbor in cheif at Reef House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Hey Man,

Thanks so for coming and letting us have such a great time with a great group! Hope to see you and the gang back very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

I recently visited Roatan for the first time for 10 days in August and chose to stay at the Reef House because I was looking for a place with pristine diving and a casual atmosphere- I'm happy to report that this resort surpassed my expectations and was a fantastic stay! The diving was FANTASTIC and made the trip-the dive master and captain are exceptional and really cater to the clients. As for the resort, it is located about an hour from the west side of the island which has all the large resorts and cruise ship crowds. The Reef House's accommodations are right on the crystal clear water, with amazing meals provided by the chefs! The owner Davie is awesome and the whole staff really made my trip great! Will definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone looking for a chill dive getaway with great people in a Caribbean paradise!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Tess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefhouseresort, neighbor in cheif at Reef House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thanks so much for coming! We greatly enjoyed meeting you and so happy you had a great time at our lil slice of paradise! Drop us a line anytime and can't wait to see ya again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The diving, the food, the atmosphere and the people... awesome. Fantastic. Beautiful. Great. The best.

See the Milky Way. Walk around the key. Go to the grocery store on a boat. Ask about the Helene Channel. Dive the Crack, the Blue House Garden (at 60 ft where some have seen a donkey drinking tequila with his two girlfriends), visit Port Royal, dive Morat Wall and relax.

Room Tip: The S rooms or No.12
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Compass802759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefhouseresort, neighbor in cheif at Reef House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thanks so much for spending time with your wonderful family here where we can enjoy them, too! and for letting us show you around.... above and below the water line :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

This place has a great vibe, and great value for the diver who wants to get the most time in the water on his trip.

We had the inclusive package, 3 boat dives a day (2 am, 1 pm) with a couple night dive thrown in, and shore dives on request ( I was happy with 3 dives a day anyhow) on a 12 day stay. 3 meals a day cooked by the Reef House staff, included fresh fish, conch, lobster, BBQ steaks a couple times. Good stuff. I know they were tailoring meals to others guests needs when requested, but I was very happy with the fare given.
The rooms are nice, A/C blows cool, serviceable showers, tile floors, we had ocean view and it was great. A bit rustic, but you are in the water all day anyways. Staff nice, and the owner Davey was around quite a bit with a story or to pour you a drink. Nice patio for the afternoon relax.
The dive master Daveed was a hoot, and his boat captain Choco was fun too. Was a relaxed diving experience, with him there to guide you and point out interesting things, but happy to let you cruise at your own pace as well, Boat had clean water buckets for masks, and a separate one for camera's as well. Lot's off dive locations, in 12 days and 30 odd dives I think we only did one or two repeats.
You are not near the west end and the other resorts, so this can be a plus or not depending on your view, there were a couple restaurants accessable by boat the the Ower Davey took us too on different days, but you aren't going to be finding a lot of nightlife beyond the resort Bar an other guests. For us this was great, but could be different for others.
Best for divers, you are going to want to be in the water. The Reef House itself is cozy and fun, but if you aren't diving, you will probably feel a bit cooped up after a few days.
But for a dive adventure this place was the best.

Room Tip: Try to get the ocean view rooms, a bit bigger, and off from the bar area.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefhouseresort, neighbor in cheif at Reef House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thanks so, Craig, and hope we can have you back down soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

This is the only place I will ever stay in Roatan. Let me tell you why. The people who work here and run the Reef House are the best. The rooms are clean and have air conditioning. The ladies that cook will make you gain weight - you just can't help it. The food is so good, fresh, and healthy. All 3 meals for 7 days and not one of them was not good. The diving is the best in Roatan, but if you stay at the Reef House your never far from the reef. The boat Captain's Omar & Choco are awesome and Davit is over the top one of the best dive masters. Davit cares about the reef and wants you to have an awesome dive and time while on the boat. We averaged an hour under water on every dive and there was not one dive that we didn't see something awesome. Unfortunately I am not a photographer so you will just have to visit the Reef House for yourself. If there was a downside to this place it is that you will be forced to disconnect. So don't plan on spending your time on your cell phone, laptop or watching TV. Be prepared to actually relax and enjoy the surroundings. One last thing...if you request Davit will give the Lion Fish he removes from the reef to the ladies that cook and they will make Lion Fish Cerveche. It is out of this world good.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same. The two rooms upstairs have glass windows. The others have screens and shutters.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefhouseresort, neighbor in cheif at Reef House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hey Denise,

Thanks so much! and thank you guys for coming to see us again and being so sweet. Can't wait to have y'all back down again and request the ceviche anytime because I love it, too! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews