We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
181
38
8
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
38
8
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oak ridge great diving dive master laid back dive sites lion fish sea life spent a week water taxi central america davit cocoa davey boat reef resort creatures
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The Reef House Resort isn't the most "fancy" place in the world; but if you are a scuba diver, don't you expect the BEST thing about your trip to be the diving? The resort is a comfortable and relaxing place that provides all of your needs; good food, a comfortable room, and great views of the water. What makes this resort stand out is the dive locations and the dive-masters, specifically Daviad. This man is a gentle, fun-loving diver with the uncanny ability to spot the most interesting creatures, no matter how big or small. This year was my 4th visit to the resort. Every year, the management has continued to improve the experience by adding optional services like massages, excursions, and live musical entertainment I am a teacher in Connecticut and we have a scuba club at our school. At the end of every school year we plan a week long trip to dive in the tropics. We have been to a number of locations from the Keys to Cozumel; but without a doubt the Reef House Resort is our most favorite and relaxing location (so much so that we ALWAYS return every other year!!).

Room Tip: The suites have windows, not just louvers, so that you can control the temperature better.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank T_Science
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefhouseresort, Neighbor in Cheif at Reef House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Hey!

Thanks so much for coming... again :) and can't wait to see you again soon! Davitt and the Reef and all the rest of us will be waiting for ya! Thanks so for the Review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

So this review is meant to help out folks who have not yet been to Roatan or Reef House Resort and briefly touch on some areas not already mentioned in previous reviews.

My wife and I just returned from a one week vacation at RHR. We arrived on Saturday and left on the following Saturday. As you guessed this was our first visit to Roatan and neither of us knew what to expect. First of all you'll be provided entry forms on the arrival flight that will need to be filled out. Inside the airport were english speaking volunteers that were very helpful in directing us to the right location. They're all wearing similar shirts (local resort shirt with "volunteer" printed on them). Free advertising I suppose. At Immigration you'll submit yourself for finger prints and photos as well as standard questions. Nothing difficult. Roatan's $40pp exit tax should be included in your airfare cost (noted as D1 and D2 tax).

The resort had a cab driver waiting with a Reef House sign. Since it was just us two the cab was a car but for larger groups they can arrange a van. Francisco was our driver both to and from RHR...very friendly but knew very little english. Didn't matter to us since his cheery attitude and friendliness put us at ease. The drive to Oak Ridge is about 30min long down a winding mountain road. If you're prone to car sickness bring whatever helps you (for my wife it was gum). Once in Oak Ridge you'll transfer to a small boat for the final 3 minute leg to RHR.

RHR is a fairly small resort but that's a good thing. Less divers! The staff was extremely friendly and Keith (manager) made sure we didn't need anything and answered any questions we had. Secci (chef) and her staff made really good meals. Nothing too fancy but you will not go away hungry after eating. I'm a very finicky eater and was always pleasantly surprised. I can't say enough about all the friendly resort staff. Even Jimmy (grounds keeper) took time to chat a bit with us.

As the pictures previously posted show the resort is right on the ocean. We were expecting brutal hot temps in July but the ocean breeze kept the temps very very tolerable. Cooler than home! We spent our non-diving time just relaxing and listening to the ocean.

Now to the important part...THE DIVING! There wasn't one dive that we were disappointed with. Everywhere you look something is growing or moving. Most of our dives were wall dives with some overhangs and swim-thrus. During our 17 dives we saw turtle, eagle ray, southern stingray, green and spotted moray, cleaner shrimp, banded shrimp, cow fish, puffer, barracuda, snapper, french angelfish, flounder, trumpet fish, parrot fish, damsel fish, cow fish, goby, jawfish, trigger fish, tons of blue tang, scorpion fish, lion fish, squirrel fish, spotted drum, lobster, and multiple seahorse and nudibranch. But I digress. You will definitely have plenty to point your camera at. Choco is a great captain and Davit is an expert DM and still a legend! You will not be disappointed! And after watching another resort dive boat drop 20+ divers off like they were carpet bombing the reef I was glad we were with RHR.

In the end we were sad to have to leave RHR and Roatan. We definitely recommend trying out the east end of the island if you like smaller dive groups and a less hectic pace. RHR is not a posh 4-star resort but it meets the needs of folks who aren't necessarily high maintenance and want to experience some truly spectacular dive sites. We're definitely going back in the future!

Hope this review helps out some newbies like us.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefhouseresort, Neighbor in Cheif at Reef House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Hey Terry,

Glad you guys made it back to GA safe and sound and so happy to meet ya! Can't wait to have you back soon and thanks so much for the Review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

A wonderful throwback to the early days of diving, this place must be like how diving was in the 80-90s. 12 'cabin' -like accomodations that were just a step or two above basic. It's simple, but the 'resort' has satellite TV in every room and wifi worked pretty much all the time, except when the storms came in and interrupted the signal. The food was good and at times sublime! Good variety though you don't get a choice, they do their best to accommodate your wishes, just let them know beforehand! I did not get the dreaded cabin fever and actually extended my stay by a day before heading over to the other side. The hosts, Davey & Dulcia and Keith are great and Daisy, Jimmy and the rest of the staff are thouroughly helpful. It says something when i remember their names a week after the trip.
The Dive op - by divemaster Davit and captain Choco is top notch. The boat is steady easy to get around in, and getting out of the water is simple when Choco grabs your BCD and tank for you before climbing back on board, no ladder needed! The reefs on this side of the island, especially the places they go to - are in much better shape than the east side. Flora and Corals were especially healthy, on par with Bonaire. Visibility was mostly good, but sometimes clouded by rains. Fauna was great, but few large fish. (But i did see bigger fish including sizeable groupers and sharks during a Shark dive at Cara e Cara.)
When i return to Roatan, this is where I will stay and dive.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank feetsinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefhouseresort, Neighbor in Cheif at Reef House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Heya T,

So glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for the review and can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

This is a great place to stay if you want to dive the east end of Roatan. This side has very low traffic, therefore the reef is pristine. The owners go out of there way to make you feel welcome. They have been updating the bathrooms and they are looking great. The dive team is awesome as well.

Room Tip: number 12 is on the end just over the water.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Teri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reefhouseresort, Neighbor in Cheif at Reef House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Hey Teri

Thanks so much... heard about saturday, hope you can make it back this way soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

If you love beautiful, pristine reefs with plenty of marine life, and no other dive boats around, this is your place.
Clean, comfortable accommodations, friendly, helpful staff, good food, and amazing diving!
Year after year, we keep going back.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank sk6skh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews