We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for our family - beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Front porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front porch
Comfortable living room with fireplace Downstairs bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Front porch
Comfortable living room with fireplace
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom, with shower
Enjoy sunset from the house
The dock
Walkways up to the house
Santiago is famous for textiles
A local friend
One species of the many orchids
Front yard view
The house on San Pedro volcano
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Santiago Atitlan, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mbj_7
small town, PA
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our family - beautiful”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival in Santiago, met by a boat to take us across the lake to the house we rented for five nights. One hundred stone steps from the dock led to the home. Each step is anticipation of the extraordinary view. The owner, Cynthia, has gardens lining the walk and around her home. It was a paradise for the eyes. The steps had landings and switch backs inviting you to rest which I did that time with my bag and each time without baggage.

The house has a perfect view of the lake, volcano, city of Santiago. Absolutely perfect with a deck on the lower and upper level for enjoying the view. Iron ornamental bars on the windows reminded us we are completely safe. Cynthia has a dog, Shadow who kept the grounds safe as well. The rule is after 5p.m. you stay at the house (no boats to cross the lake.) Perfect family vacation for visiting. We played games or watched a movie each night. New Years Eve was a highlight as we watched the amazing firework display from the second story deck.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cynthia had the right balance of being helpful and giving us privacy. Gardener helped with the bags on arrival!
Liked least: Felt out of my comfort zone in Guatemala but the house increased my feeling of comfort/safety being across the lake and more private.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fayerace
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfecto!”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house was so great. My sister and I (mid-50's) had my 6 year old here for a week and we all enjoyed it very much. Cynthia is great to deal with as are those she recommends such as the boat or taxi transportation people. The town directly across the lake, Santiago, is a great place to shop and eat. It seems to be the most traditional on the lake so note to dress properly. I made the mistake of showing a bit too much leg a few times and got "the look" of judgment. The prices in Santiago were much cheaper than Antigua so do as much shopping here as you can. The pictures really don't do it justice. It is a perfectly designed home that has everything needed for a lovely stay. An evening with a roaring fire and a good DVD could not be topped in this house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thescreec...
Appledore, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing retreat with breathtaking volcano views”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Casa de Cynthia with 4 other 30-somethings and we had an absolutely amazing trip and would highly recommend it.

The property is beautiful; lush hillside gardens with avocado trees and breathtaking views of two (dormant) volcanoes. It can only be reached by boat and it is extremely peaceful and serene. Watching the sunrise on the porch whilst drinking fresh Guatemalan coffee was enjoyed by all of us.

There are two large bedrooms upstairs with a shared bathroom with a lovely hot shower. There's also another bathroom with a shower downstairs with a fantastic view! The living room has a comfy couch, futon and armchair and a great fireplace, which we lit every night (Cynthia's gardener makes sure there is plenty of fire wood always available). There is a tv and DVD player and a fantastic selection of movies. The kitchen has pretty much everything you could need and also spices, oil, tea etc. Cynthia makes sure there is always plenty of drinking water. The faucet water is safe for washing but not drinking. There are no laundry facilities but they're easily available in Santiago.

Cynthia has two very friendly dogs (Lindy Lou and Shadow) who liked to hang out sometimes and Misha the cat, which made us miss our own pets less. They sleep with Cynthia in the casita, which is also on the property but tucked out of the way.

Cynthia had a cell phone for us to borrow so we could call Diego to arrange water taxis or make any other reservations as needed. We topped it up with 50Q and it lasted our week's stay. There was also a SIM card or chip which could be used to access the internet but we didn't need it. Many bars and restaurants had wifi so we just reconnected with the world on our day trips. Our Spanish was pretty basic and Cynthia was always so helpful making calls for us when we were out of our depth. She also said to call her if we had any problems or couldn't understand someone and she would translate.

We really enjoyed taking water taxis to different towns around the lake each day and Cynthia always had helpful recommendations and tips. She told us all the prices we should be paying for things, which is definitely needed to avoid being overcharged.

Case de Cynthia is not the place for you if you can't navigate steps or if you like being in close proximity to restaurants, bars etc. but is was perfect for us. We all agreed it was lovely to come home and chill out after busy days bartering and exploring the hustle and bustle on the Lake and decided it was much much nicer than staying in a town.

Cynthia was always quick to reply to any emails I sent and answered my many questions with her vast knowledge. She also kindly arranged for Aclash to pick us up from Guat City airport in his minivan for $100 each way (approx 3 hours in good weather), which made vacation planning very easy. Make sure you have food etc before you get dropped off at the dock as there isn't too much available down there.

Cynthia was the perfect hostess and we felt it was like staying with a friend. She made herself always available to help but was never intrusive. She is a really nice lady and she made our trip extra special. It was an incredible vacation for us and cannot say enough positive things about our experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg Canada
Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2014
Thanks Jo, You are welcome back anytime. Cynthia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing