We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel website is totally misleading, owner is only interested in making money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hotel website is totally misleading, owner is only interested in making money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

When we booked our reservations for this hotel, and they required a 50% deposit ahead of time, I was a little wary. Rarely do we find that we get what we pay for here regarding hotels in Central America. Well, this place was no exception and I think we've finally learned our lesson this time. We booked two nights (it's the minimum) and two rooms. One room was for my mother who was visiting for the week, and the other for my husband and myself. On arrival, the hotel looked great. Beautiful gardens, nice looking rooms, a nice pool. However, the reality for us was much different. My mother's room was located at the very top of the property, near the busy road, so all night long she heard trucks honking, etc. NOT very restful. But the worst was the room my husband and I were given. Basically, it wasn't even part of the hotel area. It was settled right in between some other, privately owned vacation houses, and I mean these houses were within just a few feet of each other. It was right on the lake, which seemed cool at first, but then we realized that the people in the house right next to us were not going to be enjoyable to be next to. And, since it's "private" and not part of the hotel, the hotel staff were unwilling to help us out by requesting that they quiet down. They had gotten our money from us, and that's all they cared about. Between having to listen to loud music and loud conversations from the dock and house immediately next to us when we were trying to enjoy the "tranquility" of the lake, and then really bad, really loud (amplified with microphones) karaoke coming from the living room of that same house, until 1am the night before we had to drive home (San Salvador), it was a miserable stay. In addition, there was a boat docked right off our little patio area and kept coming and going all night long, with people talking loudly, etc. and the motor, of course, was loud. The room itself was very dingy, with numerous large spiders we had to get rid of before feeling remotely comfortable. The beds were both really old and in terrible condition (big dips in the center), and everything looked like it needed a paint job. We got the impression that the hotel had only recently acquired this property and threw us into it when we called for a reservation. I'd have rather they'd told us they were full and saved us two miserable days there. The restaurant service was also crummy and the food, terrible. We found much better food in town. Overall, in fact, Santiago Atitlan was not really worth going to. It's a grimy little town with some touristy shops, and that's about all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExpatravelerNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    41
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
37
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chattanooga tn
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Bambu is a few hundred dusty yards off a busy, narrow thoroughfare, but it is a world apart. The property is right on the shore of Lago Atitlan. You can watch local citizens fish, wash their clothing, or even go for a swim right outside your rooms.
The rooms are excellant--but not in a Ritz-y sort of way. They are sturdy stucco and tile structures. Clean, sizeable and quiet. Showers are really hot. There are no phones or TVs in the rooms, but when the grounds are as lush with flowering tropical plants, do you really need or want to see what is happening in civilization? There is a (slow) computer and complimentary WiFi in the lobby for guests.
The restaurant serves good food, but the service was sometimes iffy. To be fair, we were in a group of nine and asked to orders to be divided among six checks. It was always a good idea to actually look on the tab to make sure one was only paying for what one ordered.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 have thatched roofs and are chillier at night. Three, 4 and 5 are on a lower level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bafChattanoogaTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

David Yates, the owner of La Casa Colibri Estate in Santa Catarina suggested we do lunch at the Bamboo when we visited Santiago. What a great suggestion.

You can eat inside or out. We ate outside and enjoyed the volcano views, water vistas and parts of the village. Everyone enjoyed their food and had a nice time.

Our boat driver took us right up to the dock. Bamboo is a must do in Santiago.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World2Explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Thank you to the staff at Bambu. We spent 3 enjoyable days in Bungalow 1, what a fantastic position. With perfect weather we explored the surrounding bay in the kayaks. The food was plain but a good selection in a restaurant with an amazing view. Beautiful gardens and a large pool just topped off a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamnothome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerem-maharal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

we stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at the end of the year ,and at the end of our trip to guatemala.as other said-the location is great,and you can use their kayaks to explore the lake.the rooms are big,very clean and very quiet. the big garden is like paradise ,with a lot of birds and squirrels.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evyayosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago Atitlan
12.5 km away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
10.0 km away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
13.1 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
10.9 km away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
9.5 km away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Restaurant Bambu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Restaurant Bambu

Property: Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Address: Tzanchicham 7, Santiago Atitlan 07019, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Santiago Atitlan
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,495 - ₹ 6,164
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel and Restaurant Bambu 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel and Restaurant Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Santiago Atitlan
Bambu Hotel Santiago Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing