We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Accomodations”
Review of Hotel Ciudad Vieja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ciudad Vieja
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
McLean, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Accomodations”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My family and I stayed two nights at this hotel in July 2011. We reserved two adjacent rooms. Each room had two queen-size beds and a private bath. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was most accommodating and kind. We also ate several meals here in addition to the free breakfast. I was a bit disappointed in the breakfast, as most Guatemala breakfasts we have had have been small feasts. This one was very basic and not that well prepared. Even the smallest requests were additional cost - ie. refills on beverages, and additional toast. The hotel is located in "not the best of surroundings," but we felt safe and secure as long as we stayed inside the hotel grounds. The gardens of this hotel are magnificent, and made the stay very pleasurable.

Room Tip: Plan to use taxis for all transportation as the area of the hotel has had some crime in the past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allenwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    29
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
14
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

This is a very nice and clean place to stay. Even better it's quiet. The rooms are built around large trees that shade the courtyard. The breakfast meal is very good. The hotel staff is very accomodating for late check out. I have been to this hotel on 4 different occasions and have received excellent care each time. I plan on staying here every I come to the city. Estancia steakhouse next to the American Embassy is walking distance from the hotel. But would caution walking in the area after 9 pm as in most parts of Guatemala City.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HearDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

The stay in this hotel was ok for 3 days. The location is not the best since it is distant from almost everything. You are going to need taxis to go anywhere, this adds up to the cost. The rooms are small, clean but not very well organized. The tiny desk blocks the doors of the closet. You cannot watch tv while working in the tiny desk. There is not much room on the desk so if you have a laptop, do not plan on having books, etc handy. There is a room (I do not remember the number) that has a dome on the roof and gets most of the sunlight and the heat in. This was VERY uncomfortable because the room is clear very early and during the day the room gets VERY HOT. Avoid this room. The rooms lack a fan and there is no ac. The service is not the best around. The internet service drops often. The front desk staff is not very efficient although they are kind. The room service is not on time and the food, well, it will keep you alive but you will not send postcards talking about it. The room service person was particularly not helpful or interested in my orders or in delivering them on time. The hotel needs a gym.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I spent one night at Hotel Ciudad Vieja, after arriving at the airport and before leaving the next day for Antigua. It was a wonderful place to stay for a solo traveler. The grounds are very pretty, and the room was nice, clean and modern by local Guatemalan standards. I was surprised at how quiet it was, other than a barking dog somewhere nearby.

There was a little mixup with my airport shuttle on arrival, but a worker from another hotel told me to just wait a few minutes, and sure enough, my driver showed up in about 20 minutes. He had picked up two other passengers from my flight, and he thought they were the only ones (because my luggage was the last to get off the plane.) But he had hurried back for me and was very apologetic and friendly.

The included breakfast was indeed very good ... with three choices from the menu offered. The hotel staff were VERY friendly and helpful. Most of them spoke English, but I enjoyed carrying on our conversations in Spanish. I had several hours to kill Sunday morning before I left for my Spanish school in Antigua. The hotel allowed me a late check-out, and then stored my suitcase for me while I set off on foot to explore Guatemala City. They were great about telling me where to wander around and what stores would and wouldn't be open on Sunday.

There is a "party zone" with nice restaurants, bars and some of the more upscale hotels, and Hotel Ciudad Vieja is not in that zone. It's not far away, and I felt comfortable walking the distance alone on a Sunday morning, but I probably would not have felt safe with the walk at night. If you want to be where the big hotels are, and where "the action" is, this is not the hotel for you. But if you are looking for a very nice, clean, comfortable place to stay, Hotel Ciudad Vieja is perfect!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleetampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berthoud, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2006

We have been staying at the Hotel Ciudad Vieja for 5 years (approx 4-6 times each year). It's small enough to be friendly, very clean, large and extremely comfortable rooms. We have stayed in most of their rooms, upstairs and down, they are all equally as nice. Breakfast is included, it's very good. They are always prompt with airport transfers, which is free of charge. It's located in zona 10 and walking distance (several blocks) to most restaurants, but a taxi is always handy as well. The cost is very reasonable (approx $65 for a double, including taxes & breakfast). Wi-fi in the rooms, restaurant serves very good food. Can't say enough about this fine hotel.

  • Liked — rooms, staff, airport shuttle, breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.5 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala City
Howard Johnson Inn Guatemala Cit...
#23 of 49 in Guatemala City
81 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#17 of 49 in Guatemala City
102 reviews
1.0 km away
Santander Plaza Hotel
Santander Plaza Hotel
#27 of 49 in Guatemala City
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
196 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
#18 of 49 in Guatemala City
267 reviews
1.0 km away
La Inmaculada Hotel
La Inmaculada Hotel
#16 of 49 in Guatemala City
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciudad Vieja? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad Vieja

Property: Hotel Ciudad Vieja
Address: Calle 8 3-67, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,583 - ₹ 7,380
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciudad Vieja 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciudad Vieja, its a nice hotel, near from the comercial area in Zone 10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ciudad Vieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ciudad Vieja Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing