We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully relaxing oasis in the heart of a busy town”
Review of Hostal Casa Vieja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Casa Vieja
Ranked #1 of 6 Chiquimula B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2018

I stayed at the Hostal Casa Vieja in Chiquimula for three nights in January 2018, paying the equivalent of 30 pounds sterling per night, inclusive of breakfast and all taxes.
I consider this to represent excellent value for money. The breakfast, though simple, was very tasty.

I had a large room on the first floor with a common veranda outside. There were two comfortable double beds, a desk and chair and two bedside lamps, with plenty of space for hanging clothes and storing items. Both the air conditioning and wi-fi connectivity in my room were excellent. Everything was in good working order in the en suite bathroom. I loved the beautiful lush garden with the biggest mango trees I've ever seen. The hostess and her staff were charming, warm and helpful; my room was cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis. Security is very tight, with two separate gates - not that I found the town to be a dangerous place. It takes less than ten minutes to walk to the main ‘bus station.

There was nothing I disliked about this property and I have no suggestions for improvements. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and to recommend it enthusiastically to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 5 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2016

After our great stay in Rio Dulce we arrived late in the Hostal. Easy to drive in and plenty of car park. Surrounded by beautiful gardens and sitting area,s
The big mango tree full of fruit, but be careful with sitting under it they come down fast. But fresher then that you can,t have. The room we had was not big but clean comfortable with seperate shower. Breakfast in the morning was outside on the terrace very nice. Unusual we got beschuit with our eggs. It reminded us of Holland. It is an old place and can also be used for parties,weddings.etc.
The owners are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank ClassicStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

A hotel with family atmosphere
with a group of employees very friendly, professional and ready
to help with any questions, or provide what you need
owners are a wonderful couple
with good recommendations
where to eat, where to shop
and lots of information about
City history
they make you feel at home
it's a clean place where you can relax and feel secure
any time
Rooms are comfortable and clean
reasonable price
large parking lot
my family and I enjoyed This little treasure of the east
"Christian is the best" good guy
We recommend with confidence

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Edna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Green environment, clean, excellent food. Competitive prices, perhaps what we enjoyed the most is the privacy and tranquility. Menu very healthy, always includes seasonal fruit, during our visit was Mango, delicious; prepared in many different ways, including salads and creams.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, the nuptial suite on the second floor is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albaro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones en la planta baja son más frescas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AriasIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiquimula
4.8 km away
Grand Caporal Hotel
Grand Caporal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chiquimula
33 reviews
26 km away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#2 of 2 in Rio Hondo
10 reviews
26.1 km away
Hotel Pasabien
Hotel Pasabien
#1 of 2 in Rio Hondo
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 km away
Resort y Parque Acuatico Valle Dorado
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Vieja? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Vieja

Address: 8 Av. 1-60 Zona 2, Chiquimula 2001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Chiquimula Department > Chiquimula
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chiquimula
Price Range: ₹ 4,351 - ₹ 5,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air-conditioning, private bathroom, cable TV, Wi Fi, private parking, service breakfast an dinner feedin. The price is per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Casa Vieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing