We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect a beer on Sunday”
Review of Ruby Tuesday

Ruby Tuesday
Ranked #36 of 49 Restaurants in Americus
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Don't expect a beer on Sunday”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I've never been to a Ruby Tuesday's where you can't get at least a beer -- I hadn't been to Americus, however. Here we are still in the 20th century and there is no alcohol of any sort on Sunday.

Otherwise, it is a typical Ruby's -- the food is standardized; the layout is standardized.

We did notice that at 7pm on Sunday the staff was already cleaning as though they hoped to go home early -- also spending a lot of time at the kitchen window doing not much of anything -- I'm guessing there is no weekend manager.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MikeT100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    19
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Great salad bar but lousy service and food"”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

My fiance and I went to the Ruby Tuesday in Americus, Georgia for a weekend getaway. When we first arrived, we wait about 10 min for a table and there was no other guests there waiting for a table just us. Then, wait 7 min for a waitress to clean a table off for us. The waitress took our drink orders and appetizer , then, we went to the salad bar. The salad bar was was great but need to be restocked. Our appetizer was horrible...we didn't even eat it. We ask our waitress could we switch our appetizer for something else. Our dinner arrived and it was ok.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LundyCLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Food Great, Lousy Service”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Food great as always. Baby back ribs are better than Chili's.
Service was lousy. Had to wait for waitress several minutes, after being seated. Another long wait for drinks we ordered. Waitress unenthusiastic. Had to ask busboy for water, after waitress ignored us for a long while(restaurant was not busy).
And another long wait to get bill, after we told waitress that we weren't interested in dessert.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveadeal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
107 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great salad bar...that's about it!”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Their salad bar is top notch, however on the night I was there, there was a lot of the wait staff goofing off instead of paying attention to the customers (management issue). I ordered a ribeye steak medium and arrived rare. Sent it back & came back well done. The steamed broccoli & mashed cauliflower were not steamed, but boiled in a bag (I had a nice view of my food being plated). Nice decor, but wait staff was mostly college kids so do not expect great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TallTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“baby back ribs and white sangria, YIPPEE”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

ruby tuesday's baby back ribs are fall-off the bone. try the memphis dry rub, which doesn't overwhelm the ribs itself. the white sangria is a new drink and is outstanding. sweet but yet crisp. and of course, you
can't beat ruby tuesday's salad bar. the white chocolate brownie with pecans and ice cream was girlfriends favorite part of meal.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveadeal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ruby Tuesday? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing