We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved Casa Edgell. It is a short golf cart...”
other travellers have booked this property
Serene, private and ready for you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Serene, private and ready for you!
A view of the lagoon from the veranda, with The Moorings Marina in the foreground. Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Serene, private and ready for you!
A view of the lagoon from the veranda, with The Moorings Marina in the foreground.
Kitchen
Living Room. Sofa is a fold-out queen bed for two additional guests!
Kitchen window and open shelving
The dining room also has a bench against the wall that seats 3-4
Master bedroom has its own bathroom. Windows and A/C unit; closet
Master Bath
There are four bunkbeds. Two windows and an A/C unit.
Second bedroom has windows, A/C unit and small closet.
Careful craftsmanship.
Just in case!
Rent a golf cart to zip around!
Domestic airlines are a great, quick way to get to and from Placencia.
Plenty of reading material, including travel info!
Mayflower Bocawina National Park, great hikes and a beautiful waterfall.  Just an hour's drive.
All beaches in Belize are considered public. Find and pick your favorite!
Picture yourself here!
We love Fusion Beach: beach, pool, bar and restaurant in Placencia Village.
Main Street, Placencia!
Local arts and crafts make unique gifts and souvenirs
Recommended: a day trip or overnight in the Cayo District!
A village view of the lagoon
A Monkey River excursion brings you close to nature, jungle style!
Our house is within a day trip of Belize's Maya archaeological sites.
The Robert's Grove Marina.
Another view of the Robert's Grove Marina, which also has a restaurant and deli.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Placencia, Stann Creek

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
elrenatho...
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved Casa Edgell. It is a short golf cart ride to everything on the peninsula. Very nice accomodations.”
Reviewed 15 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

My husband Scott and I are used to staying at resorts when we vacation so we were a little uncertain about staying in a private house. However, in Placencia we found the restaurants, resorts and bars very accommodating as far as utilizing their facilities so we were able to take advantage of pools and all beaches. Casa Edgell was the perfect location for our stay in Placencia.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatswain...
United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“BEST VACATION EVER!!”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Thank you SOOO much Emily for allowing us to use your house as we all had the best vacation we have EVER had! We are already planning to come back next year.

The house is beautiful, well maintained, and in the PERFECT location to explore Belize. Despite this being in tropical Belize, the house had absolutely no maintenance issues. The window/door screens were all in terrific condition, ceiling fans all worked, no sticky doors, etc. The house has tile floors, nice kitchen, two nice bathrooms, large living room, terrific deck, fully gated yard for security and parking, and located in a quiet area, the house was everything we could have asked for!

Seven of us stayed in the house for a week and were never crowded (although we are part of a VERY large family that sometimes have 20 people in a similar sized family vacation home).

A few lessons learned from our stay that may help future guests.

-The location of the house is near Roberts Grove, at the south end of Seine Bight. Up until just a few days before we left I thought the house was located at the southern tip of Placencia peninsula as that is where Google Maps currently shows "The Moorings" to be. Turns out I'm very glad we weren't down there as we much preferred this quiet location instead of inside Placencia proper.

-Seine Bight has terrific little restaurants and a large grocery store just a few minutes away from the house, very convenient.

-Guests can use the facilities (pool, beach) at Roberts Grove and Laru Baya resorts which are just a 2-3 minute walk away. These are nice resorts, but spendy. Only places we saw that charged in USD instead of BZD. The food there is good, but won't eat there again as the best restaurants in BZ are the roadside grills, not the resorts.

-More on the food - eat at the little restaurants at the side of the road, because they are WONDERFUL. Have the "Stew Beans" and Chicken/Fish/Pork/Beef.

-No indication that the water at the house had any issues, but Emily suggested we use bottled water. There is no water cooler in the house, but we just bought 5 gallon jugs from the nearby grocery store and poured it into a pitcher, then into our water bottles. Very glad to report nobody got colitis.

-Do suggest you have a rental car to get back and forth to Placencia, or to explore the rest of Belize because there IS SO MUCH TO DO! In one week we explored the wonderful town of Placencia, ate some of the best food ever, jumped off cliffs at Rio Blanco, explored Punta Gorda, climbed Mayan ruins, Zip-lined, explored Hopkins, went scuba diving and snorkeling, had a terrific day of sailing with DayTrippers, and a million other things.

All 7 of us agree that this was our BEST VACATION EVER! Again, so much thanks to Emily (and Lloydia and Walter) for letting us stay in your beautiful house as we had so much fun.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam67547...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location and very comfortable house”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous time at this property. It is in a prime location, about 10 minute car ride from Placencia Village. The hotels across the street are great, and we didn't have a car for most of the days we stayed there. It was easy to walk to restaurants/pools, and also easy to get taxis or drivers. Also, the car rental place is a 10 minute walk away. The house itself was super clean and very updated. There were all the amenities and space we needed. The house is a bit secluded down a driveway with no neighbors (which we loved but wanted to provide full disclosure). We would definitely stay here again. Love Belize.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita S
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Casa Edgell is fantastic!”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I got home yesterday from an 8 day stay at Casa Edgell. Our daughter and her family (who live in Monkey River) came up, and it was the ideal place for us! Our 2 yr old, 4 yr old and 14 yr old grandchildren were there with mom and dad, and it was the perfect house for them! The yard was a great 'sand bucket' for the children, and the bunkbeds were just what we needed for our family. This house is SO nice and built beautifully. If we were to purchase a home in Belize, I would want it to be the same quality of this home. The owners have a fantastic property manager right there in Placencia, and she responds immediately. That was so helpful. I would also recommend for any taxi service that you contact Walter Alvarado at 501-632-8768. He has a minivan and is prompt and honest. He will also take you touring. Casa Edgell is the perfect place to stay-particularly for a family. It is so well furnished. The kitchen was perfect, except I had to be the dishwasher... We used the pools at Laru Beya and Robert's Grove which were just across the road. It was really nice to have those available. There are also nice restaurants there as well. Habanero's at Robert's Grove was fantastic with a beautiful view of the water. Emily also has 2 bikes at the house which saved the day for us numerous times as it is really too far to walk to a grocery store. The washer and dryer were also lifesavers! Casa Edgell provided for a wonderful vacation for our family, and I would highly recommend it! Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us, Emily!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself. It's beautifully constructed, and it was the perfect place for our young grandchildren.
Liked least: The location was too remote for me.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadians...
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Everything we thought it could be! We loved it”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The people at the resort across the road were very gracious!
We booked a couple tours through Roberts Cove. They were wonderful
The house is quiet and clean and a little remote! Which was exactly what we were looking for!
Tutti-fruit In placencia is a must!
The fresh lobster was super.
Plan to have your transportation in place before you get here!!! It's a long walk to Planencia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of home!
Liked least: The view to the lagoon is nice but we truly wish we could have seen the Caribbean Sea.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing