We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would go again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I would go again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Getting there: We stopped in Honduras and then proceded on to Belize city. From Belize city you travel a 30 minute flight with Maya Air on a 12 seater plane. The view was amazing and it almost felt like taking an excursion. The hotel is a 20 minute drive from Maya Air.
Hotel: Check in was extremely quick and we were welcomed with a rum punch! The accommodations were fabulous. We stayed in Room 158 which was on the third floor. We had a fridge, 32 inch TV, hair dryer, king bed and a balcony. There was a lighted make up mirror in the bathroom with a zoom. The hotel was extremely clean and always well maintained. The beds were firm which is just the way that we like them. All of the rooms were very different. The rooms beneath us on the 2nd floor were larger and had kitchens which no one actually used. The staff were very friendly and helpful and would go out of there way to assist you . The beach is very picturesque, but is loaded with jelly fish. Thankfully the infinity pool makes up for this. The loungers by the pool are very comfortable and plentiful. The sun is extremely hot. I normally tan easily and only use 15 sunblock. I used 30 sunblock and still burned. As the resort is small, you essentially get to meet all of the guests. Thankfully we had fabulous people from Canada the week that we attended and had a great time! There are many guests who also come from Texas!
Food: The main restaurant is at the end of the pier which was perfect as there was always a breeze. You could choose to sit inside or outside. You could always find something that you liked at all meals. For breakfast, they had an omlette station and usually the choice of several other options. Alternate days they had bacon which was fantastic. Always lots of fruit available at each meal. Fish was available at both lunch and dinner along with several other types of meat like pork, chicken and sometimes beef which was excellent. We are not picky eaters and we were happy with the food. The serving staff were always friendly and provided exceptional service. They have food by the pool bar in the middle of the afternoon - we had chicken fingers one day, chicken wings another, nachos etc. Look for the food in the shaded area attached to the pool bar as guaranteed you will be in the pool at this time. The A La Carte restaurant provided a menu. You could choose to sit inside or outside. The food was good, but the pier was much preferred atmoshphere
Bars: The bar staff was amazing. Arnold - creator of the "Bonnie" and "The Belezian Breeze" always could create a drink that met your needs and tasted delicious. Arnold was one of the kindest people we have ever met. Franco & Ferneine had smurf shooters and milky way shots. They were always entertaining and put on a good show! Ferneine could pour 4 shots at the same time! The bars however close at 10pm every night except Karaoke night on the pier on Fridays. This is worth attending as some of the staff have great voices.
Location: The hotel is located about 30 minutes outside of the town of Placencia. Taxi travel is expensive and costs $50US for a round trip. You can take a bus for $1US each way. There is a shuttle that travels to town which is free, but the time is different every day - it never worked out for us, but check at the desk before you head out. The town itself has multiple gift shops, grocery stores and a beach that you could swim at. We visited Barefoot Bar but missed Omar's which is highly recommended for local food.
Excursions: We rented a car from town and travelled on our own to Xanatunich ruins which takes about 2 1/2 hours by car. The highways have huge pedestrian crossings which are essentially speed humps which are much larger than a bump. You could be travelling down at 120km/hr and then have a warning that a hump is 100 yards away! Some of these humps are not even marked as signs have fallen down which makes night time travel dangerous! Xanatunich ruins are well worth seeing. We hired a guide that explained everything in great detail. To enter, you take a very short ferry ride across the river and then travel 1 mile up the hill to begin. The tour takes about 1 1/2 hours and is very hot with very little protection from the sun so wear a hat. Travelling through San Ignacio which is hilly with twin streets is beautiful - Fridays they have a market with local foods, local produce and some crafts. We also did Cave Tubing which wasn't exactly what we expected. April is the dry month and the river was moving very slowly so it was more of a lazy river ride where the majority of the time you were being pulled by your tour guide. However, our operator was great and explained many of the trees and their medicinal uses during our hike to start the tubing. They served a nice lunch of rice and beans with some chicken which was great. We did Monkey River which left from Placencia and travelled 45 minutes by boat to a small village. We did see some Howler Monkeys but they were very high up in the trees. Lots of interesting birds along the river way. We ate at Alice's Restaurant and had Snook fish which was delicious - a must try!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dancinsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia291977, Manager at The Placencia Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
The Management and Staff would like to express their appreciation to you for having taken the time to write about your experience at our hotel. Your comments about everything is so true. I am happy that our lovely pool made up for not being abel to swim in the carribean. The bartenders will appreciate it that they have contributed to your enjoyment here. I would like to thank you for the lovely pictures that you have posted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    81
    42
    35
    28
See reviews for
65
154
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed at the Placencia with Sunwing. Had a wonderful stay with great staff and great food. The pier was a wonderful setting for meals with a lovely breeze and oceanview. We preferred this to the a la carte setting which was indoors and more formal.
Pool was well used due to the heat but not crowded. It is very much a get away resort if you like to just relax. Definitely not meant for a party crowd which suited us just fine.
We loved watching the pelicans fishing but if you enjoy swimming in the ocean this beach is not the best for you. It was still great for sunning and the view.
The staff really made this place. Everyone was helpful, pleasant and went of their way to make our stay a good one. Since the hotel was not very crowded, the small group of Canadians were great to connect with. Recommend taking the mayan ruin tour through the hotel. They were very organized and packed towels, snacks and water for everyone. We just had to show up. Had a lovely lunch in a little town by the ruins. The guide /driver from the hotel was very informative and it was a great day out. It is also easy to rent a car and drive which a number of people did.
The hotel is very willing to provide a shuttle ride into town which is a fair distance. Check to see what time they are heading in. Even when the time was changed unexpectedly, the staff made a great effort to track down everyone who had requested a ride on the shuttle. Make sure that you give them your room number when you want to take the shuttle. Also ask reception about the local chocolate factory. Taking the bus back from the village is very easy. The price is $1 US and the conductor will collect the money after you are seated. There is great music playing and it is very friendly and safe. You are dropped off right in front of the hotel. Make sure you tell the conductor where you are going .
Travelling to the hotel via the small plane was a great experience. Sure it takes longer but it is a great view of the country.
Overall we were very happy with our stay. .

Room Tip: Rooms were lovely and spacious. The best oceanview rooms are on the third floor but they are smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia291977, Manager at The Placencia Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
The Management and Staff would like to express their appreciation to you for having taken time to write about your experience at our property. It has been quite entertaining to look at the pelican doing their dives. We are happy that our staff contributed to your having a good time here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

not terrible but................no 24 hour bar or food................beach is unswimmable................all lights on resort are turned off at 10 pm.......................in the middle of nowhere.......................very quiet and desolate

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia291977, Manager at The Placencia Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
The Management and Staff would like to thank you for your comment. We are sorry we did meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We came back April 9, after a two week stay. This was our second visit to this magnificent resort. Check in was seamless and in fact was already done for us when we arrived on the smaller plane. The rooms are very clean, the food is varied and although it is not your usual buffet, the smaller variety means the food is cooked to perfection and tastes are unique. The alcohol was name brand, I did not pay extra for premium brands. The staff was friendly and helpful. My wife and I just wanted a place to relax, we did a couple of tours, went to see the village, and rented a golf cart. We seldom return to the same resort, we did with this one and I feel that we will go back again. Yes, we tipped, not excessively, but we got great service and paid a gratuity for it. Marco was really helpful in pointing out local places of interest and other sites. A must see resort!

Room Tip: Ask for an sea view or ocean view room. Rooms on ocean are away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DouglasJPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia291977, Manager at The Placencia Hotel and Residences, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
The Management and staff would like to thank you for categorizing us a fabulos resort. We are happy to have made your stay here with us enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

It appears the review we wrote a week or so ago, has disappeared.

My husband and I spent 4 beautiful weeks vacation at this hotel (Feb. 7 to Mar. 8/2012)
The last 3 weeks were fantastic. We had a Master Suite with a king sized bed, a kitchen, a very large washroom with shampoo and creams and lots of towels.
Packets of coffee and bottles of water were left in our room daily.
The employees were exceptional and we enjoyed their company. The food was very good, especially if you like shrimp, clams, and scallops which we had 2 to 3 times a week either at lunch or at dinner.

Twice we had items of clothing returned to us. My husands bathing suit flew off our balcony and was returned and the second time we kept company with an elderly man from Ottawa who left his shirt in his room when he left. This was placed on the lounge we shared daily with this gentleman. The staff were good enought to return these items to us.

We liked the fact that we could go into town to shop or have lunch or send our e-mails, and return by local bus for $1.00. Two hours in town was not enough. The hours should change to allow us 4 hrs. in town. The bus driver always had great music playing regardless of which bus you took. The local people were very friendly to us.

This hotel needs an area where guests can work on a computer. Wifi is available but no computer. Our friends at home were getting ready to send the troops out looking for us because they hadn't heard from us for a couple of weeks.

The hotel property is absolutely beautiful and peaceful. It is a place to have a vacation if you are looking for relaxation. The employees go out of their way to fulfill your wants and needs.
There are many tours you can take and things to do. We enjoyed the town of Placencia, very much. We took at least 4/5 trips into town and a few of the tours.

They have a great organic garden. The elderly gentleman who works very hard maintaining it is a very nice person. We originally became aware of him when we saw a picture of him on the Internet with his "Canada" hat on....we decided to take him the "Canada" shirt to go with his hat. He was elated.

Many resorts have a Masseuse on site and I have used many of them. I can tell you one thing for sure......I have never had a Massage that even came close to the one I had at the Placencia. This lady gives the very best massage I have had in my life and I have at least one massage a month at home done by a professional. Ask her for the Shiatsu massage. She is fantastic. Ask her about her matching unbrella and boots.....ineresting story.

For those of you who are concerned about your valuables....I noticed an article in the "Destinatiion Belize" magazine that made a lot of sense.....(Do not leave cash or valuables in your room while you're out. Use the hotel safe). I thought was very good advice This is a great book to read; very informative.

We would like to thank the staff, Cesear, Lorraine and many others I cannot recall their names. Thank the owner of the property (Marco) for the great bottle of wine that he gave us. Thank you all for making our vacation a good one.
Your country is one of the prettiest we have been to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bill_Car0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
14.0 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
3.1 km away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
13.0 km away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
12.4 km away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
23.4 km away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Placencia Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Placencia Hotel and Residences

Property: The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,963 - ₹ 16,354
Hotel Class:4 star — The Placencia Hotel and Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Placencia Hotel is the fastest growing Hotel in the general area offering the finest amenities and service to an ever discerning clientele visiting Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Placencia Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Placencia
The Resort Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing