We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Places in the World to Stay and to Eat”
Review of Maya Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maya Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I've traveled the world and this is one of the very best places to stay. The experience is great, the room was great, the value exceptional. The food and drinks in the restaurant were world-class. The beach was very well-maintained. Expats though they may be, the owners make you feel as though they really want to know you, in the true spirit of Belize.

The very personable, down-to-earth owners of the Maya Beach Hotel take pride in hosting guests and it makes a difference. They treat you with care, honesty and respect and anticipate every need without your having to ask. They're clearly not just in it to squeeze money out of you (a particularly drastic contrast with other places in the area...see below), they just want you to have a great experience. They also seem to have high expectations for their employees, while at the same time treating them with the respect they deserve - and it shows in the service.

I'm used to budget/backpacker-type travel, so I was a bit skeptical about the prices at first, but now I realize the value...you get A LOT and the quality of both the rooms and restaurant are exceptional. Wireless internet, all-day use of kayaks, snorkel gear, and bicycles - all free. (Contrast this with another place just down the street that offers "50% off of the use of kayaks for guests" - which is - after discount - the same price as one of the less expensive rooms at the Maya Beach Hotel where use of kayak is INCLUDED).

Our room was the Joya Upper. Two rooms with beautiful high ceilings, kitchen with mini refrigerator, separate private bath with hot water, air conditioner, private back balcony and very large, private front balcony with chairs and hammock that overlook the beach and sea. AMAZING deal for the price.

We realized Maya Beach Hotel was great, but we didn't appreciate what a deal it was until we stayed at the place down the street. For the SAME price as the Joya Upper, we got a small single room with NO kitchen or mini fridge or separate bathroom or beach/sea view AND the hot water didn't work (which is normally fine, but it was getting a bit chilly with the rainy season starting). On top that, they wanted to charge for use of wireless internet (who charges guests for internet anymore?), US$15 for laundry service (15 articles of clothing), US$60 for use of the kayak, and $25 per night for a portable air conditioner - which said it was included for free with the room (we showed them where it was stated and they still tried to argue, making us feel like jerks)! Their restaurant was very expensive, the food was terrible, and they offered very little actually Belizean food. Even the beach was littered with trash and sand fleas.

Note: we are not normally "complainers". I think the Maya Beach Hotel and Bistro just set the bar way too high! :) I wouldn't recommend trying anywhere else. We tried and tried, but came up disappointed each time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_Anthrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 444 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

Thanks to other Trip Advisor reviews, we chose the Maya Beach Hotel for our May vacation in Belize, which turned out to be the best possible choice! While our primary goal was scuba diving with the Whale Sharks, we were interested in Mayan ruins, local sites and my bottom line was air-conditioning since the days are 90-ish. John and Ellen Lee were amazing hosts and wisely choose excellent, efficient and helpful staff; everyone there does all they can to ensure that the guests have a wonderful stay. We were 2 nights in the Jaguar Room, then 4 in the Dream studio, both of which were clean, comfortable and not fancy. We prefer cozy to fancy and were perfectly comfortable in those rooms. Great showers!! Marlon, the head staff member, was amazing, beginning with prompt email replies to our questions prior to our arrival. He arranged for our flight from Belize City, the pick-up from the Placencia airport and most of the tours we later booked via the hotel.

We missed the Whale Shark dive (due to the lunar cycle), but the Monkey River, the Mayan Ruins, the Mayflower Reserve with the zip-line and hike to the waterfalls were all amazing. We did one 3-tank dive on Glover Reef, which was great fun, but the diving in the British Virgin Islands was, for me, much better. The tours were all scheduled via the MBH and the costs were included on our bill - which we preferred. Our only daily costs were tipping the guides, all of whom deserved an excellent tip. Evarista, Zef and Basilo were all humorous, professional and very knowledgable about the animal, bird and plant life of their country. We thoroughly enjoyed each tour and our guides were a large part of each interesting tour.

Prior to booking, we didn't know that the Bistro in their hotel had been selected as Restaurant of the Year, but after our first dinner, we understood why. John is the primary chef and their menu is creative, healthy and perfectly delicious. Never have we dined for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the same place during our vacations, but since we were already in the best place in town, why go elsewhere? We met others staying in fancier hotels who ended up having dinner at the MBH Bistro after our recommendations. There simply is not a better restaurant anywhere else. Other guests were fun to talk with, and we all shared our various tour experiences and recommendations. That is how we decided on the Mayflower Reserve zip-line and waterfall hike (my favorite above all).

The bottom line is that John and Ellen Lee do a fabulous job of running a first class hotel/restaurant. They, and their staff, will do everything possible to ensure your holiday is the best value for your money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We enjoyed a lovely stay at the Maya Beach Hotel in early February 2012. Our room (Coconut Room) was very comfortable, clean, private, and quiet, with a great view of the ocean from the deck. Staff were all friendly and courteous; Marlon was exceptionally helpful, as was Ellen, our gracious hostess. They were both very accommodating in helping us to arrange outings - we loved our day trip with Basilio to the Mayan ruins of Xunantunich (and the excellent guide we had while there), plus lots of bird-watching along the way - thank you, Basilio! As mentioned by many other visitors to the Maya Beach Hotel, the food was delicious.
The weather was unseasonably wet and windy(!) during much of our visit, so we didn't experience the best of what the snorkeling is normally like, and the water was cooler than usual. We went out for 1 day with an excellent dive/snorkel company, Avedon Divers, from Placencia, as per Ellen's recommendation. Highly recommend to go with this company, if you go out diving/snorkeling.
We borrowed the hotel's bikes a couple of times; they were well maintained and the peninsula is flat with not a lot of vehicle traffic, so it is very pleasant for riding on. We rode into Placencia town, which is a fairly good jaunt there and back.
We would definitely return to Maya Beach Hotel, and look forward to doing so! Belize is beautiful and enchanting.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Spent 12 days in 'jr', an efficiency managed by the MBH. Perfect for 1 person. Not fancy but just right and at a very good price. The staff is friendly and efficient. They make one feel like you, the guest, are important to them.
Whether setting up one of many excellent tours or providing a great meal they were the best!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach have a constant, refreshing breeze and sound of the surf to lull you to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Maya Beach Hotel (Accommodation review)
31st Jan to 7th Feb inclusive
The studio apartment, to be fair to the hotel, is not owned by them, but only managed by them. Compact double room (OK a small double room!), kitchenette and good shower room. Just room for two people to eat in , but the decking outside is not covered – not ideal in inclement weather (plenty of that in Jan and Feb). Strangely provisioned. 6 saucepans (how many couples can use six saucepans for cooking – maybe they are provided as honeymoon weapons?!), but no frying pan, no kettle, no tin opener, no bedside light – so last one to sleep has to crawl out and turn out the main light. Clearly the owners do not expect visitors to do anything except the most basic self-catering. Possibly not surprising when Maya Beach Hotel is well known for the quality of its food.

Despite these wee niggles, the positives far out way them. A small pool immediately outside our door is effectively private. The cabana is right next to the beach and quiet. The hotel are endlessly helpful in fixing little things that are wrong, and providing missing items. They also provide sun beds, bikes and kayaks for free so can't have too many complaints.

(Health and Safety have not -thank God – got a stranglehold on Belize as they have in the US and UK, but one word of warning DON'T dive of the docks/jetties. You will break your neck as the water is only 2 ft deep!)

Maya Beach Hotel (Food Review)
One of the few hotels/restaurants in the Maya Beach area with a constant flow of customers, many of whom return time and time again. It is a particular meeting place for Sunday brunch. Their specials are not cheap, but well worth a try out. We had Snoek (a local fish which I don't think translates) in coconut sauce with sweet potatoes, and (luckily shared) a chocolate layer cake that was closer to the size of a Mayan pyramid than a cake.
Ellen and John the Australian owners have owned this now popular place for 8 years. They could have made an ordinary beach bar, but have given it a smarter ambience, without in any way being pretentious. Staff are unfailing friendly, chatty and polite. A real pleasure to visit, and the best eatery in this part of the peninsula.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilymor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
10.6 km away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
814 reviews
11.6 km away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
10.1 km away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 20 in Placencia
249 reviews
0.6 km away
Belize Ocean Club, a Muy'Ono Resort
3.5 km away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Placencia
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Beach Hotel

Address: Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Placencia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: ₹ 6,497 - ₹ 14,586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a pretty stretch of natural sand beach, the Maya Beach Hotel is a small mid-range beach resort for couples who need comfort, but not luxury. Our hotel rooms are air conditioned with queen beds, our king suites have king beds and kitchenettes and we also offer some beach house rentals in different price ranges. Our Bistro and swimming pool are a gathering place at the end of a day filled with snorkeling, diving, fishing, kayaking, jungle hiking, spelunking, climbing Maya ruins, or just plain relaxing on the beach. The restaurant was also has also been awarded "Restaurant of the Year" twice by the Belize Tourism Board, and it remains a highlight of a stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Maya Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Beach Placencia
Hotel Maya Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing