We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
15
39
10
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
39
10
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews single room ceiling fan the main tourist strip the ground floor per night tour companies shared bath two nights hotel is located doris guatemala communal accommodations border
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

We booked a night at Tropicool Hotel and Doris was a very accommodating host after we had some last minute changes in our plan.

The hotel is perfectly located, central but away enough from the bars not to be noisy.

We will definitely book here again next time we're in San Ignacio!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Be warned! This is a 5 star review not a 5 star hotel. That being said, for what we paid and what we've seen in the past we were pleasantly surprised. This was a last minute booking after some plans changed and it worked out great. From the outside the Tropicool may look a bit rundown (which it is). We met the owner while checking in and she was very friendly. Our online booking really didn't mean much as she takes cash only. We stayed in a private room with shared bathroom. The rooms and facility are very well taken care of and clean - things we like to see when booking inexpensive accommodations. Free WiFi, some limited parking, a bit noisy near the street. This is a great booking for a cheap, clean place to stay for a night or two.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed here because of the free secure parking (locked gates) and was amazed by its great location just behind the main touristy strip. My basic single room had ceiling fan, couple of electrical outlets, standard size single bed, fully tiled and very clean. A lockable door with an additional padlock for good measure. Wifi was good and Doris the manager was very helpful, overall a nice little stay on the way down to Guatemala.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank KurtisBeacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We booked two nights here and extended to a third directly with the owner. We stayed in a double room on the ground floor of the first building to your left on arrival. The room was simple with a double bed, desk and chair, small table and a a ceiling fan (fastest fan is 1 not 5!) The double bed was comfortable and the bed was re-made up and our towels changed for the second night we were there. There were two shared shower rooms in this area but as there was only one other couple staying at the time we were we had one each. The water wasn't always warm or hot but as San Ignacio is the cool was actually quite welcomed.

There's a bench and garden swing outside which can be used by guests and the owners and their grandchildren very friendly.

We paid 40bz per night, a good price and fair for what we got. They keep the place clean, there's a bit of noise from the street but that stops quite early and we felt comfortable leaving are belongings in the room when we went out all day. The rooms were very hot even with a ceiling fan but the owner kindly let us use a stand alone fan too which made it more bearable. So all in all a good stay for a budget traveller looking to save a bit of money and not expecting luxury.

As a ps we were advised not to go out and about the town after 9pm, however we walked back from dinner or the bar after this on all three nights and were fine but the walk was short as the hotel is so central (another bonus). There are quite a few guys offering drugs around but they're harmless and don't bother you when you decline their offer.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank totravelandinspire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We paid 40BZ a night for a great double room, with a fan and super clean shared bathroom.
The hotel is located in the main (tourist) street, so everything you need is close. Besides tourist offices and bars, there are also 2 large supermarkets, bakeries, 3 ATMs (of which 2 work with western chip cards), local very cheap restaurants, and the bus station is at a 1 minute walk.
The rooms are not facing the busy street, so you won't hear the noise from the bars in your room.
The bathroom was very clean, and comfortable, as the shower didn't made the whole bathroom wet.
To complete this fantastic place, the hotel has a nice garden, where you can chill, read a book, hang your clothes to dry etc.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Esmée W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews