We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
287
131
27
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
131
27
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in town santa elena perch meal plan dietary restrictions jungle setting dining area double bed atm cave grounds are beautiful belize city home base book tours knowledgeable guides spent nights our honeymoon cave tubing
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights, using it as our base of operations to undertake activities in the region. We stayed in a room which was a bit on small side and it looked a bit shabbier than on the pictures. Bed was fine though and everything functioned (even reasonably stable wifi). Upones coming back from activities we really grew fond of the place. This was largely due to beautiful, quiet nature area surrounding the accomodations and the lovely staff. All staff members were incredibly helpful, friendly and genuinely interested in us and in making our stay as pleasant as possible. We loved the focus on organically grown foods and the thematic dinner evenings (the mestizo food was spectacular). Food was slightly overpriced but the overall quality of the food, lovely staff and pleasant dining setting made us keep coming back. Overall a really nice, relaxing place to stay; a place that we miss already.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

We only stayed for 4 nights to get the “jungle experience”. Maya is the perfect place to base yourself, within walkable distance to the main town and plenty of tours offered onsite. Although we found the tours pricey they were amazing! All staff are friendly and welcoming making our stay there very relaxing and easy. Even so that all guests stop and talk to each other and you easily make new friends from all over the world.

Food wise we opted for the “special” every night which is based on their culture, most nights we enjoyed with the odd night not so much.

We would 100% recommend this to anyone looking to find the culture side of belize.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tatum L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We stayed here on 2 occasions for 2 nights each on our trip around Belize 4 weeks ago.
What a great team of friendly and helpful staff, nothing too much trouble.
The rooms are either in a jungle block or set as bungalows throughout the tropical gardens. We had the Tapir bungalow which was set within the gardens offering seclusion and great birdwatching opportunities and there are Toucans that visit most days.
The room was a bit cramped but very clean and serviced daily.
All that was missing was a kettle in the room but there was 24hour coffee and tea available from the dining area along with 2 fridges for guest use.
Only ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food was excellent but
being only a 5 min drive from San Ignacio town it was easy to go out for dinner and try other places.
Will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Belize.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim_Kathy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a pleasant stay. Our room was fine and fairly comfortably but our toilet wasn't working properly unfortunately our entire stay which we did report, the wifi was also intermittent. We also had a problem with the lock but that was resolved immediately. It was in a beautiful setting, however it's about 10 belize dollars one way into town (30min walk) so you are quite isolated which wouldn't be too much of a problem if the food was a reasonable price. Breakfast is nice but very expensive by Belize standards and you don't have much choice but to eat there as your out of town.
Another reason i haven't marked the lodge as highly is due to the tour prices which are crazy expensive and you don't know unless you go into San Ignacio town - they are almost double the price. We booked our tours with Maximum Adventure Tours in San Ignacio town and the tours were fantastic with excellent, knowledgeable guides!!!! Would definitely recommend this option instead of booking through the hotel.
The staff were very lovely however at this hotel, they looked after us really well so definitely can't complain about them :)
Overall a good option to stay if you don't mind journeying into town for dinner!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LaurenH2676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart1919, Owner at Maya Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

We regret that we have not been able to be a perfect match for this past client. We try on our website to spell out what we are all about so that some people can decide to go elsewhere because we are not sophisticated enough or because we are too sophisticated!

The vast majority of our guests say that we are a moderately priced resort which they really like because they can count on a quality meal and a quality tour every time. They simply can not take a chance on getting the one bad guide with an outside company even though they generally has a good reputation. They also want to be sure that the safest pesticide-free produce is used in the preparation of their foods. They don't want to pay an exorbitant price but are willing to ignore the "bottom of the bucket' priced tours and meals also. We have chosen a standard of quality and a fair price for that standard. We recognize that we can't be all things for all people.

I travel a lot and have visited over 40 countries and still have a lot of traveling in my future plans. At times I enjoy the "bare-bones" travel where the chances taken are simply part of the adventure. At other times, when my time is precious, I want the assurance that the tour operator is filtering guides and fighting that I get only only on of the best guides. We pay our guides and operators a fair wage and operate with a guaranteed departure with only 2 persons. Some other places price to have a minimum of 6 or 8 and simply cancel or compromise quality when they get less people on the tour. We will not do this therefor our standard price is in the mid-range of tours in our area.

In the restaurant we use only organic flour which is fresh ground in our own mill. We make all of our own breads. We buy much of our produce from a pesticide-free source or produce it in our own gardens. We make our own yogurt, sauerkraut, sprouts, granola, dried fruit rolls, and much more from this produce. We pay our farmers a fare price and yet are still considered to be moderate priced at our "Nature's Kitchen" Restaurant. Additional to this we actually provide several free programs such as a dance and drum group of youth who come most Sunday evenings. We believe that we are providing a great product at a fair price. This philosophy has worked for us over 35 years and our reviews show that most people do their homework, come and enjoy our services, and become friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

I am not one to write reviews but I am compelled on this occasion based on an exceptional experience at Maya Mountain Lodge.

My family and I traveled to Belize for a week in early April. We were 10 in total, ages 8 - 72. We decided to spend three nights in the "jungle" and ultimately landed on Maya Mountain Lodge. We are so glad we did as it became one of the highlights of our trip to Belize.

First, the staff is incredible!!! Elmer, Carlos, Luis & the rest of the staff were amazing. From the trip planning process through our departure, they were always there to serve with a smile. When we arrived fresh flowers were placed throughout our room. Meal time was always delightful because of the interaction with staff. The staff also helped arrange all transportation and excursions for our crew of 10.

Accommodations were simple but clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful with indigenous plants & flowers all around. Every morning we woke up to singing of birds. You feel completely immersed in nature.

The restaurant, Nature's Kitchen, was definitely a highlight. The food was spectacular! Each night had a different theme and never disappointed. There were nightly demonstrations on local culture and food preparation. Most of the ingredients are grown on the property or were local. Additionally they were able to accommodate the discriminating palettes of both kids and adults . Note: Nature's Kitchen does not serve alcohol, so you need to BYOB from the town. No worries as they have a refrigerator on the premises for all of your Belikin!

One special call-out... My daughter was recently diagnosed with celiac's disease and we were concerned about traveling outside of the US and having her get unknowingly "gluten-ed". We selected Maya Mountain partially on their claims to be able to accommodate dietary needs. They get 5+ stars here!!! Upon check-in every guest fills out whether they have special dietary needs and from that point forward the staff was totally on top of it. In addition to always having gluten-free options with every meal, Maya Mountain was also able to provide gluten-free box lunches for our excursions, all packaged separately and carefully marked. The first night we arrived we partook in the Mestizo - "Fiesta de Maiz". For the first time in almost a year my daughter was able to have a meal at a restaurant and eat everything on the menu. it meant so much to her that she didn't have to be the exception. As a result we highly, highly recommend Maya Mountain for anyone with special dietary needs.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank h2oman262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews