We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent food and service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ko-Ox Han nah

Ko-Ox Han nah
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Alberta
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Our Gap group of 13 went here for supper with our guide. The restaurant was very busy but the waiter was excellent and i think that all of us enjoyed our food. It is a South African owned place i believe but the menu has many options.
Would recommend this place for sure.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna_12Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    341
    67
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Bad...kind of”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

My sister and I went and had dinner there after reading some of the reviews. The food was good. My sister had eggplant and mashed potatos. I had vegetable curry. We both enjoyed our meals. Then we had dessert. I had lemon meringue and she had a chocolate shake. Hers was good, mine not so much. Anyways, not bad...until my sister found out she had food poisoning later that night at the hotel. It was our last night after two weeks of not getting sick. I don't think I would go back.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shelby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Local's Lunch & Dinner Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We ate here during our week long visit to San Ignacio and it had friendly service and good food each time. Dinner was the best, but we were so hot we had dessert first! The shakes and rootbeer float were just what we needed to give us a cold shot of energy to enjoy burritos, quesadillas and a HUGE BACON CHEESE BURGER! with fries of course... needless to say we had to box up some to take back to our house for a late night snack.

What also made dinner special was a gentleman sitting outside a few feet away beautifully playing a recorder. It was dark and the front of the restaurant is open (no glass) so the music just floated right in ever so sweetly. At first we thought it was a CD and were bummed when it stopped for a moment. It reminded us of the street musicians in London or Paris. When we left we thanked him for playing for us during our dinner and contributed to his collection.

Their menu variety is good so if you want something mexican, asian or indian, they have it along with the eats kids love too. Everyone is happy. Dinner was our best meal, we did breakfast too but wasn't as pleased and were the only ones there until a couple came in. The fried jacks were a bit doughy, not as fluffy as we like. Also the street outside was very busy & noisy, and we could smell fumes from the trucks heading off to work. It wasn't like that at night. Overall this is a great, hometown place for dinner or lunch, whether you want fancy or just good eats.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamTravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“LET'S GO EAT in SI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

LP lists it as number one and a visit to this eatery will not disappoint. Food is consistently very good and portions are healthy. Service is fast and efficient, even for larger groups. Great place for lamb dishes... and the mashed potatoes ROCK

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BelizeDenize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We ate here for a lunch and a dinner and were not disappointed. Both meals were served quickly which was surprising due to the number of people in the restaurant. We tried an assortment of food including a hamburger, traditional beans and rice with stewed chicken, a chicken curry and a quesadilla. They were all great with huge portions. I don't think we finished one thing during both meals. Even with all of the people there was no rush to get you out of the restaurant. We definitely would go back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NVtoSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ko-Ox Han nah also viewed

 
San Ignacio, Cayo
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Ko-Ox Han nah? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing