We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Greensboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing hotel.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel is in a convenient location if one flies into Belize City and is just passing through. (Be advised that it is not convenient if one wants to explore the central city.) We upgraded to a deluxe room; even then it was pedestrian. Upon checking in there were numerous problems with our reservation, which were eventually resolved by the front desk. However, it required contact with our travel agent and constant vigilance on our part. The outdoor bar by the pool closed at 6 pm, which was disappointing, and the inside bar was dark and smokey. Service and food in the dining room were subpar. About the only positive things I can say are that the room was clean, it provided a reasonable night's sleep and the grounds were attractive. All in all, I would say this hotel is OK as long as you're not expecting anything beyond a place to put your head at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mframptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I am extreamly sorry that you are not please with the service we provided at the hotel and I want to express our sincere apology. We strive to meet or exceed our customers expectations and I regret that you were unsatisfied. Thanks for your comments and trust that we will improve, once again please accept our sincere apology for the level of services that you received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    197
    137
    69
    39
See reviews for
104
162
51
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
259 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Nice enough hotel but out of the way. Food was good and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAHust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Greetings from the Best Westen Belize Biltmore Plaza Hotel we would like to take this oppertunity to say thank you for the review and tranks for staying with us, we look forward in hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I stayed here for three nights while I had meetings in Belize City. This was the 3rd time I've stayed at this hotel. The hotel staff was friendly and attentive, the hotel wasn't too crowded for two of those nights. The pool is great. I thought the bed was surprisingly comfortable and the wifi was pretty reliable. It's not a luxury hotel or a great place for a resort-type stay, but it's a nice place if you need to be in the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Greetings from Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza Mr Brian!

We would like to express our greatest appreciation for your review of our hotel. It pleases us to know that we have exceeded your expectations so much that you have returned to stay with us for a third time.
We trust that you will plan your stay at our hotel for yet another time. We are always here to accommodate you at your home away from home.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when planning your next stay in our beautiful country Belize.

Thanks again and have an enjoyable day!

Sincerely,

Feliece Zelaya
Ecommerce Executive
Belize Biltmore Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is nice enough considering it's in Belize. It's pretty clean all around. The pool area is pretty clean. You have to put a deposit of 10 bucks US per pool towel. There is a fenced in path/field/walk to do. Which is nice enough, one side is beside the garbage which is pretty ripe. The beds are not the greatest and everything is looking worn already. Our room had no towels and we were there in December and would probably still be waiting for them if we didn't just go down to the desk and pick them up finally. No toilet paper either. TV worked fine. The restraunt was quite pricey but the food was fine. The service in the restraunt was good. So nice enough for the one night we stayed on our way back from San Pedro, wouldn't plan on spending any amount of vacation time there.

Room Tip: all rooms around a courtyard so any seem okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2sweet4umarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Ms Marie,

We appreciate your positive comments about our pool area. It is one of our greatest attractions here that the Biltmore. We are glad you enjoyed.

Please let me clarify that the deposit on pool towels is a procedure set in place by our management to ensure that in the case of damaged, or lost towels we are covered when it comes to replacing these towels.
In other words, it is not necessarily a charge unless the towel is not returned.

With regards to the our rooms, we are proud to inform you that we have been making some upgrades to our facilities so as to create a more modern ambiance to better accommodate our guests’ ever changing desires.

We would also like you to know, Ms Marie, that we have spoken with our Housekeeping manager about there not being any towels or toilet paper in your room and penalties have been set in place for the housekeeper who failed to meet your expectations. This must never have happened. For this we humbly apologize. In any case, you did the right thing in simply requesting for the towels at the front desk. That way we were able to assist you right away to resolve the issue. We are always here to help accommodate you as best as possible.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our freshly prepared food in the Victorian Dining Room. Our Chef, alongside his cooks, try their best to satisfy your taste buds!

Thank you, once again for your comments and for sharing your experience with others. I trust that you will let us have another chance to show you our improvements and to pamper you the way you should be.
Please ask for me the next time you wish to plan your stay with us and I will personally ensure that your stay is a more pleasant one.

Best Regards,

Feliece Zelaya
Ecommerce Executive
Belize Biltmore Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at the Biltmore one night as a stopover from Belize City to Ambergris Caye. We sat at the outdoor bar and shared a plate of wings with cocktails. We also had breakfast the next morning. The food was good, not great, but good enough. The room was very clean and decent sized, but very, very tired. Bath tub was chipped with rust around the drain--that sort of thing. But, again, very clean. The hotel is convenient to either airport--municipal or international, and much closer to municipal. If you're flying Tropic Air or Maya Island (ex. to Caye Caulker or Ambergris), fly out of Municipal airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGandCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager05, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience here with others.

We are happy to hear that you have had a pleasant stay, and had enjoyed our food and drinks. Our Executive Chef and cooks aim to satisfy your taste buds. We do admit that at any accommodation establishment, there is always way for improvement, and comments like yours help us to see where we can make adjustments. We want you to know that as a result, we are currently undergoing some room upgrades and service improvements so that we may better provide you with the service you deserve.

Once again, that you for taking the time out to review our hotel. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Yours Truly,
Feliece Zelaya
Ecommerce Executive
Belize Biltmore Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belize City
5.2 km away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
4.0 km away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
19.3 km away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.9 km away
Best Caribbean Belize Pickwick Hotel
5.2 km away
The Great House
The Great House
#2 of 26 in Belize City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza

Property: Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
Address: Mile 3, Northern Highway, Belize City, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Belize City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Belize City
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,755 - ₹ 11,826
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belize Biltmore Plaza, situated literally minutes from the Caribbean Sea, the choices for incredible adventures are many. A day of fishing, snorkeling or scuba diving is just a short boat ride away; after which, your "home away from home" awaits you. A beautifully appointed room, a wonderful dinner, a stop in our bar for a relaxing nightcap and "swapping stories of the day’s adventures with others" is a wonderful way to end your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belize City
Belize City Best Western
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza Belize City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing