We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“To Infinity and beyond, with Belize Sailing...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
206 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Belize City, Belize District

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 206 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jeniferb
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“To Infinity and beyond, with Belize Sailing Vacations”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from a great week on the Infinity, one of the four catamarans offered by Belize Sailing Vacations. This is a new boat for the Wilson Family fleet, and it’s a nice addition.

Belize Sailing Vacations is a family owned business, run by Cliff Sr and Cliff Jr. They own one of the four boats, and the other three are owned by others but used for charters with Belize Sailing Vacations. Cliff Jr was our primary contact in the process of choosing a charter company. He was very prompt in answering all of our queries, via emails and phone call, which was no small task given that he is often on charter himself as captain, or occasionally in the US .

We chose Infinity as it was the only boat that offered four guest cabins, plus room for a captain and a chef. It was not the newest boat in the fleet, or the most luxurious, but it was good for this three generation family trip of 7 passengers, ages 77 down to 12. We got a tour of Doris, which was a more luxurious boat, but only had three guest cabins. A few key points about Infinity that might be helpful: of the four cabins for guests, the two at the bow are quieter and more spacious than the two at the stern. The stern berths have a lower ceiling over the bed, so headroom can be an issue. The Port Stern berth is also next to the engine/generator, so if you’re trying to sleep while either is on, you may need some pretty solid ear plugs. The heads are all fairly small, with a hand held spigot/hose that serves as the source of water for the sink as well as the source of water for a shower. Instead of using the showers in our heads, we usually showered outside, after a swim. Easier and far more enjoyable. The toilets are electric, and are prone to blockages from toilet paper. So no flushing the tp. You get used to it…And Infinity had on board WiFi, which was great.

We had a crew of Andy as the captain, and Cori as our chef. Both were excellent. Andy handled the boat with ease, and did a good job of determining our “wish list” at the beginning of the trip. He did a great job managing our schedule based on the various factors such as proximity to dive shops, weather, snorkeling, etc. Cori did a great job managing the various dietary challenges posed by our group without sacrificing the quality of the meals. Both Andy and Cori were pleasant to have on the boat, and fit in well with the family. They put in very long days, and worked very hard to ensure a great vacation for our family. We didn’t have to lift a finger unless we wanted to. Note that since we were using the four guest berths, Andy used the crew quarters (accessible via a hatch at the bow of the boat) and Cori slept on the sofa in the main salon (doesn’t open into a bed).

We chose the northern itinerary, and really enjoyed it. We’ve sailed in other parts of the Caribbean, so we were eager to experience Belize as a new destination. A few observations: unlike other popular sailing destinations, Belize doesn’t have much in the way of beaches, white sand or otherwise. Also, much of the waters we sailed in are pretty shallow, and often have a sea grass bottom, which means you don’t see the amazing turquoise waters that you find elsewhere. The upside of this, though, is that turtles, rays, dolphins, and manatees can be seen chomping on the sea grass. We had a manatee just swim up to our boat while anchored at Caye Caulker, a real treat. In terms of up close interactions with sea life, Belize is by far the best. The snorkeling and diving were also impressive, but the winds and currents were strong most of our week, which impacted visibility and accessibility. Near Ambergis, the reef looked healthier than almost any coral reef I’ve seen. Most of the sailing on this route is on the leeward side of the islands, so the sailing is pretty comfortable and time from island to island was typically in the 1-3 hour range. We had strong winds, in favorable directions, so we rarely had to motor, and we wound up only tacking once in the entire week. While the wind stayed up, we never needed AC or bug spray.

Note that Belize City isn’t much of a destination, so I wouldn’t spend too much time there before or after the sailing. We did enjoy an afternoon at the Belize Zoo before meeting the boat, and I highly recommend it. It has only animals indigenous to Belize, all rescued, in enclosures that are spacious and as much like their natural habitat as possible. For a small donation, you can also hand feed one of the Baird Tapirs, which was well worth doing.

I highly recommend Belize Sailing Vacations if you are looking for a great sailing vacation in Belize. We hope to come back and do the Southern Route next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: close encounters with manatees, dolphins, rays, turtles, and nurse sharks
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenadove
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great alternative vacation!”
Reviewed 7 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This is a fantastic experience. We celebrated a milestone birthday for my husband and Cliff, Cory and Amado made it a great experience. Cliff knows sailing and has the patience to teach it, if you are interested! Amado knew where to find the fish for snorkeling and spearfishing and was patient as we tried to figure it out. Lots of island stops for a quick drink. We scuba dove a couple of days and the dive boat came right up to our sailboat to pick us up - fantastic. Cory's cooking was great and covers the gamut on your tastes. She cooked the fish we caught, lobster, pork and beef. This is a great experience and we plan to bring our whole family back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Staying on a boat offers a completely different experience - can be very relaxing or Cliff will arrange for you to do your activity of choice.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bennlewis
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As good as you hope it will be!”
Reviewed 12 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

My wife and I with our three grown daughters sailed with Captain Dave and chef Cori for four days. The Doris is a perfect little world to call your own. Spacious, comfortable, safe, perfect.

We were ashore in San Pedro having a drink (or two) and thinking about what to do for dinner. We all looked at each other and asked, "Where is the best place to eat in San Pedro?" It was unanimous, "BACK ON THE DORIS!"

Just don't let dive-guide Ally get started on her island bar jokes... Kidding Ally!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food and Comfort
Liked least: Weather was not great, but that is luck
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78704_Tra...
Austin, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sailing Vacation EV-ER!”
Reviewed 10 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We just got back from an amazing 7 day voyage on the Doris with Captain David and Jason. The Doris was awesome...a great boat for families...total luxury! We visited the Drowned Cayes and explored the backwaters of those mangrove islands by kayak, caught some fish, and enjoyed an amazing first meal. We visited the Swallow Caye Manatee Sanctuay with a great personalized tour. We visited St. Georges Caye...my favorite Caye on the trip. Be sure to drop in with Karl-e for a great little tour of an awesome little aquarium, and some nice drinks as the resort on the other side of the island after a good stretch of the legs around the island. Caye Caulker is still the crazy place it was from years ago, a great place...reminds me of the Florida Keys scene in the 90's. David and Jason have a few special spots you will love for fishing, snorkling, and seeing some crazy tarpon. San Pedro is San Pedro, but you really cannot beat the snorkling at Hol Chan. It was so great we did it twice with two great guides that Cliff and team use regularly.

The crew was awesome, the food was great, the boat was beautiful, and Belize is the real deal! Oh yeah, and the painkiller cocktails are pretty awesome.

Last remark and important for families. David and Jason weregreat with our 8 year old daughter. She loved the trip, and they did everything to ensure she was having fun. As a parent, something you really appreciate.

Belize Sailing Vacations - the real deal - You Better Belize It

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful boat, great crew, amazing food, ultimate setting!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kppr
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better!”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We were in Belize on a NCL cruise and were thrilled when Captain Cliff agreed to do a day sail for our group. There were 14 of us and it was a day in paradise. From the beautiful boat to the top notch crew and wonderful meal and free flowing cocktails to the gorgeous turquoise waters of Belize, it was a perfect day. We all agreed we want to return for a full length vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The crew
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing