We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip - Management reviews mixed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turneffe Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2005

I would have to stay that our trip to Turneffe Island Lodge was pretty great. We went with another couple and well, the four of us don't need much outside stimulation to have a good time which was good because this is a pretty quiet island. There were only about 12 other guests and not everyone is there to be sociable - many people are really there to dive and fish. So if you are looking for a good time it will be hit or miss. Turneffe Island is all about diving, fishing, and relaxing. The worker staff was somewhat engaging. I don't think they are supposed to mingle with the guests much but they were fun and we got a volleyball team together one day.

We mainly chose Turneffe Island Lodge because we wanted to go somewhere relaxing AND dive. And we definitey got what we had hoped for. The diving was phenomenal and as other reviews have mentioned it is great that you are literally 5 minutes away from most dives so you can come back from the first dive of the day and take a nap and eat lunch before you go out again. I agree with previous reviews that the divemasters seemed knowledgeable but quiet.

The food at Turneffe was better than we could have imagined and everything made from scratch. I bought their cookbook from the gift shop before I left!

The rooms were great and you must get the cabana on the beach! The room was clean and spacious. We never used the shower inside - always the one outside. It was GREAT!

The management staff consisted of two couples. The women were extremely friendly with all of the guests but the guys needed some prodding to engage with people and have a good time. One of the gentlemen did not engage much at all and was very stoic. The bartendar was great.

Great resort for a diving couple......

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Krista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Turneffe Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 386 of 404 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Eaton, Colorado
128
Reviewed 1 August 2005

A top shelf resort, Turneffe Island Lodge is a great destination for scuba diving or just a very relaxing holiday. Getting there was as easy as stepping off the plane. We were greeted at the airport by the manager and our bags were whisked away only to be waiting in our rooms shortly after we arrived. The boat ride was comfortable and the staff was waiting on the dock when we arrived promptly 90 minutes after leaving Belize City. Note that Turneffe Island time is 1 hour later than Belize City.

Check-in was smooth, the air-conditioned rooms were neat and clean and cool. We had one of the private cabanas and it had its own screened-in porch with rocking chairs. By all means spring for the private cabana if your budget allows. Meals are served family style, it was excellent and there was always plenty. Coffee and Tea is served to your room at 6:30. Breakfast is at 7:30, Lunch at 12:30 and Evening meals are at 7:30, a little late for some but always proceeded by drinks and appetizers around 6:30.

Our trip was seven nights, Saturday to Saturday. We did a morning dive and two afternoon dives Sunday, two morning dives and an afternoon dive Monday-Thursday and two morning dives on Friday.

Sunday was our first checkout dive. All dives were drift dives except this and the Blue Hole.

Monday night a major lighting storm hit the island and knocked out the internet service and some of the hot water systems. The staff had the hot water re-routed before morning so none of the guests even knew of the problem.

Tuesday was a trip to lighthouse reef and the Blue Hole. The other two dives on Half Moon and The Aquarium, were worth the trip. Between the last two dives we were served a fabulous picnic lunch on the half-moon island “Red Footed Booby” bird sanctuary. Seeing the birds nesting was a added treat.

Wednesday we had a group of porpoises join us on all three dives. What a special treat that was. The dive staff said they see them often.

Thursday is normally reserved for a night dive in place of the afternoon dive but our group requested the afternoon dive instead and was accommodated without a problem.

Friday evening was a wonderful outdoor Bar-B-Q. Except for the mosquitoes it was indeed paradise. Bring bug spray. The screens on the rooms do a great job of letting you sleep without them but they are certainly there in force after the sun goes down.

Boats were fast and comfortable and all of the dive sites were just a few minutes from the dock. The dive master was extremely knowledgeable about the reefs and located a lot of marine life for all of us to see. We were all diving with computers and most of were on 32% Nitrox. There was no fixed time limit on dives and all of us were allowed to dive our own profiles and one hour dives were common. All of our gear was set up for each dive exactly as we set it for the first dive on Sunday. After the last dive on Friday, our gear was rinsed and set out to dry. Certainly first class service all the way.

The hotel staff was also first class, our rooms were always supplied with fresh towels when we returned from diving and our beds were turned down each night when we returned from eating. Check-out was as smooth as check-in. Our flights were confirmed for us when we returned from diving Friday. A pre-invoice was available for review prior to the final bill on Saturday.

The grounds were immaculate. Combed sand beaches, flowers, palm trees, hammocks on the shores and beside the rooms, chairs on the beach, a sailboat and sea kayaks. Some parts needed some repairs after the recent hurricane but repairs were on-going when we were there and we learned that they were closing for two months shortly to undergo a complete renovation.

Not much else to say except that we will certainly plan a return trip. If your looking for a great place in the middle of nowhere to relax and/or go diving, put this place on the top of your list.

28  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2005

Well, let me start by saying that this place could be IDEAL. Management of this place either doesn't know customer service or they don't care. I'm not talking about on Island managers, but, owners and upper management. By the way reservations are taken in Houston, the main offices for Turneffe Island Lodge, not agents. During the time we stayed there they "lost" guests, forgot about them until half their trip was over. Absolute rudeness from managers to some guests, not all but some, they had their favorites. Offensive behavoir to some older guests that travel alone. All suggestions and comlaints were ignored, and any communications with management were met with an attitude of no one cares. In my opinion this is because of the upper Management's total lack of respect for guests AND their employees. Like I said this place could be ideal if they make some changes. ???

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank TFK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2005

Diving - very good diving with competent, friendly dive masters. Most of the dives are genuinely within five minutes of the dock so surface intervals are spent on dry land and not on a (potentially) pitching boat. This is a good dive outfit.

Fishing - the guides undoubtedly know the water but that's about the extent of the guiding. Some are shy and/or quiet and take a little getting used to. Bonefish can be found but are very skittish and fished hard at. Lots of permit and it would definitely be worth bringing tarpon gear in the right months - lots of them in the mangrove lanes.

Food - as good as advertised and better!

Accommodation - We stayed in one of the cabanas on the beach. Very nice, very private. A/c a bit noisy. Outdoor shower lovely.

The management team were out on their feet during our visit and talked of having not had any time off in months. This showed sometimes. They also sometimes reverted to their mother tongue in front of guests - I feel that this is inappropriate. If it weren't for this Turneffe would be a definite recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Flaherty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2004

Wow! This resort was so much more than I expected. We booked a 4 night package, but before we had been on the island an hour we knew we'd be staying the whole week. Our week here was as fun and relaxing as 3-week-long vacations we have taken elsewhere.

The resort is on a tiny caye (only 14 acres) with big white sand beaches, far from any other development. The buildings are painted a quaint yellow and white with rich hardwood interiors. There is a nice lounge area just off the dining room with a full bar. The pool is very pretty, too. The pictures on the resort's website don't do justice to the fantastic cabanas because the screened porches don't look as open and airy as they really are, and the interiors look smaller than they are. The regular rooms are nice, too, and since we didn't spend a lot of awake-time in the cabana, we might be more frugal next time we go.

Socializing is a must because the number of guests is limited, meals are taken as a group, and the dive boats keep the same groups of 10 or so throughout the week. The bar hopped nightly, but only for a short time, as people tended to go to bed early after long activity-filled days. Most people were divers, but there were fishermen, too. Everybody was happy. Most of the 17 dives we did, including the famous Elbow, were less than 5 minutes away, often within view of the resort. We saw healthy reefs and plenty of sea life, including drum fish, toad fish, nurse sharks, eels, tarpon, baracuda, etc. We took a day trip to dive the Blue Hole, Half Moon Caye and Long Caye. Be forewarned: to dive the Blue Hole you will need to be advanced certified or enrolled in the resort's advanced course. Don't complain- it's their job to keep you safe.

The most fabulous thing about the resort, and there are a lot of fabulous things about this resort, was the staff. The divemasters, Brad and Marcel, were uniformly declared to be some of the best anyone had dived with. The same praise went to the fishing guides. Sherman, the bartender, is a fun and delightful person who makes a mean margarita and can show you some excellent bar tricks. The kitchen /dining room staff made great meals served with warmth and grace. The new management, two young couples from Denmark and Israel, were very friendly, but seemed a little exhausted. Their exhaustion was well-earned, however, as everything moved seemlessly. Also, it must be very hard to keep up with 30+ active talkative Americans.

I hate to put any negative in here at all. However, there was an apparantly well-supported rumor that only 1/2 of the gratuities we charged on our credit cards were passed on to the identified staff members. This could be exaggerated, or be due to deductions for credit card fees and income taxes, but next time I will bring $300-$400 cash for gratuities. Also, we were charged sales tax on our charged gratuities, and were unsuccessful in challenging that.

All in all, this was one of the best vacations I have ever taken.

(P.S. Booking for this resort is done through an agent in Houston, so the person who had the bad experience is not complaining about the resort itself.)

34  Thank zxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
18.2 km away
Blackbird Caye Resort
Blackbird Caye Resort
#3 of 3 in Turneffe Island
549 reviews
39.8 km away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
564 reviews
30.0 km away
Yok Ha Resort
Yok Ha Resort
#1 of 1 in Waterfoot Caye
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#1 of 8 in Orange Walk
222 reviews
0.0 km away
Casitas Tres Cocos
Casitas Tres Cocos
#16 of 32 in San Pedro
11 reviews
0.0 km away
Tree Tops Guesthouse
Tree Tops Guesthouse
#9 of 32 in Caye Caulker
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turneffe Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turneffe Island Resort

Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range: ₹ 40,692 - ₹ 70,648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turneffe Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turneffe Island Resort is a secluded 14-acre private island located 35 miles off the coast of Belize. We offer 7 night, 4-night, and 3-night Diving, Fishing and Resort packages. Packages include airport transfers, deluxe lodge accommodations, scheduled activities, all meals and hors d’oeuvres served throughout the day. All accommodations are located on white sandy beaches. All rooms include indoor and outdoor showers and spectacular ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Turneffe Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turneffe Island Hotel Turneffe Islands
Turneffe Island Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing