We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adult Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turneffe Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is the 3rd. time we have been to this resort. We took our immediate famiily. The staff was great. The food couldn't be better. Our snorkel guide Carlos and the fishing guides were excellent. The only disappointment were the managers. There were only 26 people on the island of which we were 8 of their guests. Never once did the managers asked how we were enjoying our vacation. When asked by the resort for a survey, no one bothered to contact us. We have also been to the Turneffe Flats and Blackbird Caye and if we would return to the Turneffe Islands, we would go to one of those resorts instead of the Turneffe Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 219mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Turneffe Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband and I went to TIR for our honeymoon back in May. It was the best trip that either one of us could have imagined. The rooms are beautiful (we didn't even have a cabana), the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly, and the island is even better in person than in the pictures! We had a great time snorkeling, diving, and meeting all of the other guests! We are pretty new to diving, and the dive masters were awesome about making us feel comfortable...oh yeah, and the diving was out of this world! Carlos, the snorkel guide, seemed to know exactly where the different creatures lived on each snorkel, ensuring that we saw all kinds of wildlife. I've been snorkeling all over the world and it was the best snorkeling that I've ever done. My husband and I will definitely be back - it was the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcxchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Just returned from a week at TIR. What an amazing experience. Maya and Allen are doing a fantastic job managing the island. This place runs like a fine tuned machine. From coffee delivered to your door step each morning to the turn down service each night, nothing is overlooked. The food is out of this world and the kitchen staff does an amazing job feeding everyone. George at the bar is a hoot. He always had a magic trick to show us and then would laugh when we couldn't figure it out. Our dive boat crew was great. Brad was our diver and Marcel was our driver and they both are awsome people to spend time with. The dive trips are great the fishing is great. The Friday night BBQ and crab races were a blast! Looking forward to returning to the island.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greenstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

If you can afford it, if you like socializing and meeting new people and if you like diving, snorkeling or fishing you just gotta go! These guys have thought of everything to make this a relaxing vacation.
As far as diving goes, they take care of all your gear on the boat even cleaning it out at the end and giving you a print out for your log book complete with what you saw on the dive!
The service is like clockwork complete with beverage delivery to your front door in the morning and a print put of the weather forecast, tides and lunch menu. Before bed at night they print out a little poem and put it on your pillow and when you first arrive your bed is made with little flowers spaced out across the sheets!
Every cabana has a deck and place to wash your feet outside as well as an outdoor shower so you're not bothered by sand everywhere inside.
Just a wonderful place and it shows with the number of repeat customers it gets.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DocSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I can't believe that I didn't review this resort when we went back in 2009. We upgraded to one of the cabanas and have to it was nice even though all of the rooms are great. The cabanas were very clean and it was nice to have the outdoor shower(never used the one in the cabana). Each morning they deliver your choice of tea, coffee or hot cocoa to your doorstep without ever waking you up. The resort itself is about an hour boat ride from the mainland which goes by quickly since you are meeting new friends and enjoying the views.
Food: I love to eat and this place has some of the best food around. Everything is served family style and there is plenty to go around. There are few cabanas and rooms so you become familiar with the other people staying on the island very quickly and makes for some nice meals. There are always appetizers at the bar before dinner that are perfect to get you ready for a great meal.
Diving: The diving here is great and the staff is even better. It is very nice to have the valet diving. Everything is always set up for you when you get on the boat. We got to see all kinds of fish and the highlight was diving the Elbow and having about 7 hammerheads swing by to check us out.
Fishing: I did the combination package so I would fish some mornings and dive others. I had KP as my guide and he was the best. He always tried to put us on the fish and even took me out to the elbow on my first day to try and catch a permit even though all of the other guides thought he was crazy because the winds were coming from the wrong direction. I haven't fished at many places but I would say this has to be the best value. You leave after breakfast to fish in the morning and come back for lunch then head back out again for the afternoon till dinner time. KP and the other guides have been there for years and know the area extremely well. Plenty of permit and bonefish to be caught and even some tarpon in the channels. We were there before the migration or tapon really came.
This is one of the best places to go and dive, relax or fish. Since the island is so small there really isn't anything else to do. But they do have a nice pool to relax on or a wide open beach to sit on that they pick up and put out the cushions daily.
The only thing is that alcohol isn't included and it can add up quickly and is quite pricey. Other then that the place is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troutbum75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turneffe Island
18.2 km away
Blackbird Caye Resort
Blackbird Caye Resort
#3 of 3 in Turneffe Island
549 reviews
39.8 km away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
565 reviews
30.0 km away
Yok Ha Resort
Yok Ha Resort
#1 of 1 in Waterfoot Caye
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#1 of 8 in Orange Walk
222 reviews
0.0 km away
Casitas Tres Cocos
Casitas Tres Cocos
#16 of 32 in San Pedro
11 reviews
0.0 km away
Tree Tops Guesthouse
Tree Tops Guesthouse
#8 of 32 in Caye Caulker
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turneffe Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turneffe Island Resort

Address: Turneffe Atoll, Turneffe Island, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Turneffe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Turneffe Island
Price Range: ₹ 41,994 - ₹ 70,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turneffe Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turneffe Island Resort is a secluded 14-acre private island located 35 miles off the coast of Belize. We offer 7 night, 4-night, and 3-night Diving, Fishing and Resort packages. Packages include airport transfers, deluxe lodge accommodations, scheduled activities, all meals and hors d’oeuvres served throughout the day. All accommodations are located on white sandy beaches. All rooms include indoor and outdoor showers and spectacular ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Turneffe Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turneffe Island Hotel Turneffe Islands
Turneffe Island Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing