We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Base to Dive the Reef”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Xaman Ek Resort & Spa
Ranked #47 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Base to Dive the Reef”
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Just returned from 5 days at Xaman Ek on Ambergris Caye. It is 5 units tucked into the quiet beachfront 5 miles north of San Pedro. Spacious, clean, relaxed atmosphere. Mike, the owner, goes out of his way to arrange a getaway matched to your desires. Some may choose a treatment at the spa on the premises. We dove every day. Mike arranged a local dive guide who was outstanding. Great knowledge of the reef at a fair price. While there are restaurants easily accessible by water taxi, Mike runs a kitchen that puts out excellent breakfasts and a variety of local seafood for lunch and dinner. Wireless internet if you just can't leave the world behind. We will definitely be returning to Xaman Ek. Unqualified positive recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedarmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    7
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Xaman Ek is a large home on Ambergris Caye, Belize. If you are looking for relaxation, seclusion from tourists, beautiful blue water, great food at the on site restaurant, massages on site, pool and an owner ready to please, this is the place to visit. We went in January. The owner provided us with a guide who took us out snorkeling, diving, and fishing each day. There are 5 units available and we were one of two occupied, so literally had the place to ourselves. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum201063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

2nd time to come to Xaman Ek.
Loved it the first time travelling with a firend, so brought a girlfriend down to celebrate my birthday.

Loved the staff, love the friends Mike (owner) brought along like Scuba Steve.

I continued my bonefishing (caught 3) right in front of the resort.

Mike and staff stayed up late to serve my GF and I a wonderful birthday meal on the pier.
Loved jumping in the pool afterwards.

We also had a great couples massage.

Xaman Ek is perfect for travelers not looking for "all inclusive", no kids, getting away from rookie travelers, great fresh food.

Great diving, very close to Mexico Rocks which is a free diving area.

Looking for the chance to go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Wow! Where to begin... Xaman Ek was nothing less then a HUGE DISAPOINTMENT!!! If we can sway anyone reading these forums to stay elsewhere then we have helped with the enjoyment of their trip. From arrival it wasn't what we had imagined. The pictures on line are exaggerated and clearly photo shopped. The suite was large but very unpleasant. My first thoughts were LEAVE!!! Because the resort is so far away from town the owner Mike Campbell had told us he would bring us there daily for supplies and/ or entertainement as he shuttled the girls working for him daily. Well... what a misconception. There were many days he outright refused to take us and on the weekend it wasn't even up for discussion. Even though he was going anyway. The most important thing we want to let people know is that Mike Campbell is far from stable. There is no reasoning with him. He quoted us a fee before our stay yet decided to up our rate once we were leaving. Without even letting us speak our side he said he was the business owner and could charge whatever he chose to. We were SHOCKED! He displayed a VERY scary temper forcing us to ask friends to be present while we dealt with him. We were afraid of our safety. During our stay he was rude, very unhospitable and clearly only out for himself.

-The pool was gross on many occasions.
-The food was overpriced (bad cafeteria food at best).
-It's ridden with mosquitoes and cockroaches.
-The so called entertainment room was right out of a horror movie. Very filthy and again ridden with mosquitoes and geckos since the screens on the windows were all ripped and torn. Not to mention you would want to put a blanket down on anything in there before you sat on it.
-You are stranded there without the care of the owner helping you get to town because the water taxis charge visitors $52 .00 US return per couple.
-You never know what kind of mood Mike will be in. He is very unpredictable to put it lightly.

The bottom line is, everyone wants to vacation somewhere where they are treated with respect and dignity as well as know that you aren't going to be charge more then what you originally agreed upon.

The one positive thing we could say about our stay is that the girls working for him were nice. And Steve the scuba instructor was great. If only they were the owners. Maybe change would take place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymooners2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2009

My husband and I satyed at Xaman Ek for 8 days and we found it to be wonderfully relaxing. The our room was very large and clean. The staff at the resort were very friendly and willing to help and accomodate us in every way. It is a vary small place and things are very slow paced. When you wake up and want to eat breakfast, you need to just find one of the girls and they are more than happy to serve you. Mike, the owner was always accomodating as well. He was also very happy to teach us a little about the culture and ways in Belize, as this was our first visit. The food at the restaurant was wonderfully delicious, we ate there at least once or twice day. I also had an amazing massage and pedicure in the spa!! We were very pleased with our stay and would love to go back there someday. As far as resorts go, it is not what you would typically picture in your head, but it was everything we were looking for and we just didn't know it until we got there! There was only one other couple there for the majority of our stay so it was very quiet and we were able to relax and take some awsome see side naps in the hammocks!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubamandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
9.6 km away
Playa Del Sol
Playa Del Sol
#38 of 53 in San Pedro
11 reviews
3.1 km away
La Perla Del Caribe
La Perla Del Caribe
#32 of 53 in San Pedro
160 reviews
2.5 km away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Indigo Beach Homes
Indigo Beach Homes
#11 of 31 in San Pedro
47 reviews
1.8 km away
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas
Cocotal Inn & Cabanas
#3 of 31 in San Pedro
338 reviews
4.1 km away
Twisted Palm Villas
Twisted Palm Villas
#5 of 31 in San Pedro
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xaman Ek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xaman Ek Resort & Spa

Property: Xaman Ek Resort & Spa
Address: 5.5 Miles North of San Pedro | PO Box 227, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Playa Blanca Beach Club)
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#43 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,704
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xamanek is located 5.5 miles north Ambergris Caye, Belize Central America. We are what you can describe as Paradise. Home Away from home. Our New and friendly staff and management awaits you to make your vacation a very reasonable and memorable one. We have a Spa and a Jamaica, Belize Cuisine restaurant {Jambel Jerk Pit} Our Prices are affordable and our Quality is on the high end. Book with us and you will experience what it is to be pampered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xaman Ek Hotel
Xaman Ek Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing