We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,344)
Filter reviews
1,344 results
Traveller rating
1,197
120
17
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,197
120
17
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature walkfull kitchenambergris cayegolf cartlil alphonsegrocery storeour honeymoonhermit crabscinnamon rollsfree bikesfishbedroom suitecave tubingstaff was extremely helpfulswimming areadinner reservationspalm trees
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 1,344 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Xanadu was perfect!! First of all, all of the staff were wonderful!! Melanie at the front desk could not have been more helpful with scheduling our snorkeling trips, cart rentals, and above all being so thoughful and a wonderful resource of info!! She passed us in her cart while we were walking into town and offered us a ride and suggested a wonderful restarant (Blue Water Grill), and dropped us off right there! Alberto was such a friendly bartender, he was always smiling, was fun to talk with, and made great drinks!! Angie, who kept our room in tip-top shape was so sweet and kind. When she found out it was my mother's birthday she made a beautiful decorated cake out of towels!! We were also surprised with a complimentary bottle of wine delivered to our room with a birthday card for my mother. Other than the staff, the resort is beautiful! And in the perfect location. It was about a 20 minute walk by beach into San Pedro, and only $5.00 (Belizan) for a cab ride back. I will be coming back to Xanadu again no question!

Room Tip: We stayed in a loft in one of the monolithic domes. Amazing beach views and you felt like you were in a tree house!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leenie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

My husband and I eloped here last week and everything was amazing. Our wedding was gorgeous and provided conch shells filled with flowers for my isle and a beautiful bouquet. We are vegan and the hotel was able to provide a vegan wedding cake and private chef for the evening. I sent them a cake from pinterest and the company was able to recreate the exact same cake which was the best surprise! The staff is also amazing. Surprisingly friendly and willing to help in anyway. The hotel itself is really nice and clean. We had a full kitchen with all utensils/ pots and pans, coffee/sugar, coffee maker, blender, stovetop/oven, microwave full fridge and freezer... Literally everything you need. The hotel also has a really nice pool and hot tub that is open 24 hours!! They provide complimentary bikes, kayaks, & paddleboards. They have golf carts to rent onsite ($70 usd for 24 hrs) and can even book all your tours. The hotel is a 2 hour boat ride from Belize City and they pay for your car taxi from the water taxi when you arrive and to the water taxi when you leave.
Also, Belize was surprisingly safe! I never felt like I was in an uncomfortable or questionable situation and everyone speaks English. I highly recommend this hotel :)
Also if you have kids or just are a big kid (lol), the hotel next door has a water park with a zipline, slides, water trampoline ect. that you can use for $10 usd per day. It's literally a 2 min walk down the beach.

Room Tip: We had a room right in front of the pool and it was quiet still
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JillA1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduReservations, Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank you Jill for your review of Xanadu. It was an honor for us to be part of your beautiful wedding day and to meet you both. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Just returned from our 7th, 8th? stay at Xanadu. Over all those years and trips the resort has been consistently great. We have stayed in all categories of rooms and they each have their own charms. The grounds, staff, amenities and overall vibe of Xanadu will keep us coming back for years to come, it is our home away from home!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gridguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduReservations, Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

It is a great privilege to welcome returning guests to Xanadu. Thank you for your kind review - we do so look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

The location of Xanadu is perfect...close enough to walk into the heart of town but not right in the middle of things. The vegetation and everything make it seem like you are so secluded, you can't tell that there is a busy street pretty much right behind the resort. Overall the resort itself is pretty quiet too as far as the people there/neighboring units. The landscaping is one part of what makes this place so special! Its gorgeous! The service is amazing too! Melanie and Jamil are so willing to do whatever they can to make your stay perfect. The housekeepers and groundskeepers do a great job and are friendly. Groundskeepers made a point of pointing out wildlife to our group (iguanas, etc). They have a little nature trail that is fun to check out, and this time we saw TONS of hermit crabs all over in the trees. It was soooo cool! The units stay cool. The kitchens are equipped with pretty much anything you would need. We bought some oranges and made our own juice with the citrus juicer. There is not a restaurant on site, but there are so many close along the beach its not a problem. If you don't want to walk a couple miles a day though, its worth just renting a golf cart. We decided after this trip that we will rent one for the whole stay next time, then we have it whenever we need it and don't have to wait for it to arrive each day we rent one. We would recommend carts belize, which is on site there, but also so far in our experience, is the best golf carts! The units are pretty good but could maybe use some updating, and we found the beds to be not as comfortable this time (don't remember a problem last time we stayed though). Thats about the only "bad" thing to say about this place. Basically it is wonderful!!! Oh and they have a hot tub now, which is great if you happen to get a bunch of colder/rainier weather like we did this time.

Room Tip: Even the rooms that aren't beach front/view are great...you are less than a minute walk from the beach; the landscaping is amazing.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kailee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduReservations, Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Your review is so much appreciated and will be shared with our staff who love to welcome returning guests back to the Xanadu family. We are so happy that you enjoyed the natural surroundings as it is important to us to maintain the indigenous vegetation and keep the resort as authentic as possible so our guests can enjoy a little of the true Belize. Thank you for your comments about the suite - we appreciate any feedback which helps us to ensure that we are constantly doing whatever we can to make our guests comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

We had so much fun here as a family-great heated pool, clean rooms, immaculately cared for grounds, and extremely attentive staff. It was relaxed and quiet with WiFi and Dish. We enjoyed having free Paddleboards and kayaks available. Nice kitchen and two full baths are perfect for us and loved how close the beach and pool were; we watched the sunrise everyday.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank miriamoehrlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduReservations, Manager at Xanadu Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review - we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will return to visit us all at Xanadu again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews